We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congratulations on your excellent hotel!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Portsmouth
1 review
“Congratulations on your excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We've just spent a long weekend at the Hotel California Newquay. It was fantastic! We booked at the last minute so the price was very reasonable. The room was clean and warm, the beds very comforable and the view superb. The staff were so helpful and courteous. The meals excellent. The indoor swimming pool was a bonus and we used it every day. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. We looked for dates for a return visit, but unfortunately it's full on our dates. However we will be back. Many thanks Hotel California.
Joan and Brian Fairclough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandBPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    187
    125
    93
    111
See reviews for
146
297
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Hi I recently stayed here for a wedding anniversary party. Hotel is lovely, wonderful views and a lovely setting with good walks to the beach. The rooms are nice, good value for money and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Food and wine is of a good quality. I would stay here if you want a well located hotel for the beach that is not too expensive. It is also a great venue for a family party.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leebirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We booked a last minute 3 night break for the four of us. The service was second to none. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to help us. Providing recommendations for the best places to visit and best family activities in easy reach of the hotel. Within easy reach of the beach. With two swimming pools. Although it was not warm enough to use the outside pool we won't hesitate in booking to go again in the summer to make the most of that facility. The added bonus of a bowling alley in the hotel meant that when it poured with rain there was an easy activity to do with the kids on site. We can not recommend the hotel enough. Great value for a short family break. Thank you hotel California. We left feeling fully revitalised and like we had enjoyed a proper holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We went on a Groupon voucher so it was a great price for a night away.
When you arive you go through the large revolving doors which is fab! The carpets are all plush, its a lovely hotel. Staff are all friendly and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Our room was lovely and warm, a bottle of wine in the room, tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer & tv. Also free Wifi.
We didnt use the pool but I did hear it was cold. There is a solarium too and the bowling alley next door.
The restaurant was nice as the table had plenty of space between them , not like many places you go to. The service of the staff is great, they cant help you enough. It has a real family feel to the place.
If I have to be crytical it would be that the evening meal wasn't great, but it was alright and we did have a bargain price. We also had a free glass of Rum Punch which was nice.
The place is tired. I expect in its prime (prob late 70s) it was a top notch place. The furniture needs replacing, the grand piano seriously needs a repaint and the patiod area needs attention.
If this place could be fantastic if briought up to date, its just a shame. Overall though, dont think anyone woudl be disaponyted. In my opinion if its clean your over halfway there!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Well the hotel is in a great location not to far from the town or the beach and all the places you need in Newquay.

The reception is beautiful when we walked in we really liked the hotel the open fire on and the big open space, The reception staff were really friendly the lady who I didn't catch her name had only just started working there, and was very helpful and did a great job!

The room wasn't to bad everything you need and like most have said yes it's very dated! Few stains on the floor which they had tried cleaning as the carpet was fresh smelling. The main issue we had was we paid for a room with a view and yes ok there was a view to a certian extent. Our balcony had a view of about 10m of flat roof then trees and a bit of river through those and in the distance we saw the sea, if you stand on the table then you get a better view!

The bed was comfy and the room a good size, so no complents there.

All moring and up until at least 11-12 we could hear blaring music from either the bowling or the dinning room it was echoing through the room.

Breakfast, well it was adaquate full english 1 of everything wasn't the worst I've ever had but didn't set the house on fire!

The hotel has so much potential and in it's hey day we can imagine the grand dinning room was brilliant.

Hotel in great location sadly not the best in the world.

Room Tip: We had room 210 if you want a good view ask to be moved if you get this room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Well David, What else can we say - you and your staff delivered more than we could have hoped for!! From the early booking and negotiations, plans and ideas, right down to the final presentation, service and quality.... we couldnt have asked for more. We dont get to celebrate a diamond wedding very often and you and your staff made it a day we will all remember for a very long time. Mum and Dad were delighted with the whole day and the honeymoon suite topped it off for them. Special mentions for Matthew who is so very professional, courteous and a great dancer - he solved any concerns we had..... Kirsty on reception - unflappable, very helpful - nothing was too much trouble and Jem - the barman - what a gem... great sense of humour and so laid back. You can't say the hotel is the Ritz - I have been there and its all very stuffy and formal - but i can happily call Hotel California the Ritz of Cornwall - great value for money, excellent atmosphere, views, food and most of all the customer is 'King'.
We will definitely be back for more family celebrations as we know that whatever we want will be safe in your hands and we trust you implicitly in giving us the best service ever.
Thanks so much David, you can be proud of your and your staffs efforts - we certainly are and recommend you very highly.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view it's beautiful - rain or shine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84MarieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice now on a Groupon deals,The staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble espcially Matthew in the dining room as when he saw us at reception he remembered us from last year when we stayed.Even though we were there on a deal we was treated first class, good food, lovely views cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing