We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit even better than 1st Visit”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Return visit even better than 1st Visit”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Wow the location is outstanding, really enjoyed our stay very family friendly, good service and great views close to the beaches, the hotel seems to have been renovated we loved it.
we took our little girl, who loved the indoor and outdoor pools, and are looking forward to our next holiday booked for next summer.

Room Tip: Gannel suite is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArabellaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    189
    127
    96
    123
See reviews for
151
309
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The second time I have stayed here and again, very pleasant. The rooms are very clean, the staff really helpful and pleasant. The views from the back of the hotel are really good. I look forward to staying here again. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TheMoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Our second stay in this great hotel....got a lovely double room overlooking the Gannel estuary with views down to the beach. Clean, nice staff and an excellent breakfast, absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Redmic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at the Hotel California from 18.5.13 to 22.5.13 choosing to stay in the Gannel Suite following reading the reviews on this page.
First impressions of the hotel are very grand although on closer inspection you can tell that some serious cash needs to be spent to make this into the 3 star hotel it claims to be. Chairs are threadbare and the exterior at the back of the hotel really needs some serious love and attention.
Our room was very large with a beautiful view, although the balcony was a bit ropey. Getting to the suite was another matter, the hotel has only one lift and this does not work if the previous occupants of the lift do not close the interior gate which means the lift stays on whatever level it was last vacated on-pretty annoying when you are carrying cases up huge flights of stairs.
The bed in the room was very large and comfortable and it was cleaned to a high standard daily, would definitely recommend this room-although some of the pictures are a bit creepy and formal!!!
We ate in the restaurant on the first night-£41 for a 3 course meal for 2 and although it was very nice the portions were very small and for the remainder of our break we ate in Newquay town.
Breakfast was cereal and toast and a cooked breakfast brought to the table-this again was very small (my husband ate mine daily as well as his own)
The staff however were wonderfully friendly, right down to Paul in the bowling alley to the restaurant manager, receptionists and cleaners-always willing to chat and make your stay good. Does seem the staff do many tasks as one day they are managing bowling alleys and the next day up trees cutting them down!!!!!!!
On leaving today I did ask the receptionist about the CD that had been played with the same 3 songs on a loop for the duration of our stay-it was tragic, she did say this was the owners choice and she was desperately trying to introduce a change, I wish her luck. Another annoying thing was there was never anyone behind the bar so you had to ask the receptionist to arrange for someone to serve drinks, however on our last night a coach trip arrived from Germany and a bar man was in situ.
We used the inside pool which was nice enough but very strong chlorine, the hotel also has an outside pool which I can imagine is packed in the warmer weather
On the whole not a bad place but could be massively improved with an injection of cash and some TLC, lovely location though!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Gannel suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is separate from the hotel so we rate this as excellent. Our son recently had his birthday party there and the man was so helpful to us, that we shall go again. He does everything !! We shall be back. He often takes his respite carer along.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Went to stay on the 6 of may. Was married on the fourth and the 7th was my new wife's birthday! I called and booked this hotel because it had a pool! The young woman on the phone was lovely. On arrival the place looked ok. Went to our room. It was tired very very tired! On the 7th my wife's birthday we returned to the hotel at 18:00 so that we could have a swim at 19:00, we went to the reception desk to get a few towels the receptionist had to "try to find some" After about ten to fifteen minutes she let us know that she could not find any, but to use the ones from our room and that she would make sure there would be fresh ones in the morning. We finally get down to the pool only to find out its out of service!! The receptionist apologised and at this point we are both quite dissatisfied ! She says she will call the duty manager to see if there is anything they can Do. Free bowling.. Not really what we wanted so declined the offer. In the morning, has we were getting ready to go out the " duty manager" decided it was time to discuss out disappointment about the pool. But instead of listening she just over talked us, not one sorry! When I informed her that I have been working in hotels/ restaurants for 25 plus years! And that if we had the same problem we would see if we could fine our guests a gym with a pool or another hotel who would be happy to allow us to swim. She replayed she has before but because the hotel is understaffed and it was a member of staff birthday they could not to that! Further more she then said since we did not pay that much what would I expect! £270.00 for 3 days is not cheap and the fact I called the hotel it would have been nice to know that we were booking a cheap room and that's why the phone in the room did not work, room not vacuumed well, pillows had no protectors on them, sheets not changed everyday! Not good enough! That duty manager Sally something. Made life so much worse, we left for the day fuming mad, great management skills.. Not!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bertomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Very nice hotel, lovely position overlooking an estuary and farmland. We did pay extra for a nice balcony room with view though. Staff we met very friendly and helpful, from the recepionists to the restaurant staff and barman. Food good, although breakfasts a bit disppointing and not well cooked. We even had entertainment one night when one of the waiters played guitar and sang (well done Simon)
Only critiscisms we had were superficial, really. Furniture in public areas - especially outside - could do with updating and more care should be taken with housekeeping, Cobwebs in our bathroom, bed not made up properly during our stay, laundered linen should be inspected better as stains left on our towels and bed sheets, surfaces in dining room dusty. However, did not spoil our enjoyment of our "romantic" break.

Room Tip: Consider paying a bit more for a beter room if staying more than 1 or 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
929 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing