We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to scratch”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute. The reviews we saw at the time weren't that bad. On arriving at the hotel we walked into the reception area, which looked lovely. Small tables and chairs scattered before an open stone fireplace. The receptionist was really friendly, and gave us a map of the area plus her own advice on where to go and eat etc..
We went to our room. On first inspection it looked ok. The linen on the bed was clean etc. However, the bathroom was dated and had a toilet roll holder that should have been in a public loo...when we used the shower though, it was really nice in that the temperature stayed even and had a good flow of water. The drinking glasses that were provided were not clean though. We had to wash them before use. The furniture was really dated. All window frames needed replacing. Our window pane in the bathroom was literally falling out of the frame itself. The view from the hotel was lovely though and the location was really good too. Not far really to walk into town or down to the sea. Breakfast was ok, but not great. They need more choice. There were 3 jugs of orange coloured juice. We're they all orange juice or were they mango...don't know, not labelled. 3 jugs of milk. Nothing to say whether they were full fat, semi skimmed, skimmed or soya. The sugar bowl on our table looked as though other people had used their wet spoon, then placed it in the sugar bowl, so that it was lumpy and brown. I asked the waitress if it could be replaced. She was very nice, apologised but switched our bowl of sugar with the bowl of sugar from the next table. Not good. The coffee came without teaspoons. So, there's the problem. They need to provide each cup with a teaspoon plus a spoon in the sugar bowl. The table cloth was not clean and the following day it was exactly the same. How often do they change the linen? No napkins either. All of this was disappointing but having said that we actually enjoyed our stay due to the scenery etc. we would go back but, don't know if we would go to this particular hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank myhotSole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked this via a Bid For It site as a "Champagne Candlelit |Dinner for Two"......so please consider that when you read this review.

When we called to book, we spoke to Kirsty, who was very nice. She advised us that a better room was 302, so we paid a small supplement to up-grade (and was not disappointed)

The hotel is located in the midst of houses but once inside the gates, you would not know it. It also has quite a large car park.

Reception - we were kept waiting for about 5 mins and a man (who I now know was the barman) tried to help but could not book us in? When when the lady arrived, she apologised for being away but mentioned she had been working since 0800 with no break and clearly they were understaffed. However check in was then quick and efficient. Reception is quite grand, open and bright. Maybe as an idea staff should be crossed trained to assist each other in each department...and then the barman could have helped!!

The room was in fact a suite and although old, it was clean,tidy and roomy. The decor was not to my personal taste but the views were amazing, and with a balcony. A few cobwebs again showed the room was not fully cleaned. One small thing....if the balcony was fitted with frosted glass, it would make it more private. In the morning when we opened the blinds, there were people on the area below and they could look straight into our room (as could anyone on the next balcony)

Drinks - these I felt were slightly pricey!! One pint & a gin and ginger ale came to almost £9.00. It was cheaper on a recent cruise!! If I was a local I would not be using the hotel to drink in as it is too expensive. Also, although the bar man was friendly when he occasionally spoke, tables were not cleared or cleaned so you sat with several empty glasses on the table and considering it was pretty quiet, unsure what else he did other than stand behind the bar? If its advirtised as a hotel, you expect hotel standards. However the bar area, tables, chairs etc....were plentiful. Plenty of space to sit.

The achilles heal for this hotel was the meal. Remember this was advertised as a Champagne Candlelit Dinner For 2. The table was set for 4 people and at no time were the additional place settings removed.There was no candle!! The champagne was in ice (nice) but the food....well, maybe the chef had a night off. A choice of stew (braising steak), breaded fish or pasta dish....which we went for!! It was in a red hot bowl and was just pasta in a sauce from a jar with an occasional piece of veg. Garlic Bread that crunchy!! Very uninspiring!! We asked if the cheesecake was home-made and was assured it was....however the top layer peeled off and the middle part was tasteless and powdery. It may have been home-made but was from a packet and no doubt frozen. The service was not quick but this was due to under staffing.For this reason we would not recommend the hotel at this time (albeit the breakfast (full English) was good as was the gentleman in the suit who served us...eye contact, smiling and fast.

If anyone from the hotel ever reads this, then maybe consider this. Most top hotels survive due to excellent food. It brings in custom, which when this is shared, brings in more custom. I cannot recommend the food at the hotel as it is.

The hotel has a small lift....very small and only for two people. I doubt a wheelchair would fit?
The stairs were quite steep.

With improvements in food, staff cross-training, hotel information and producing what they advertise (champagne dinner) this has potential to be a good hotel and one ideal for weddings, parties..., Christmas staff evenings etc. Views are wonderful from many windows and the patio/rooftop area and access to local beach is good as it is only a short stroll away. Maybe having some info in the rooms might be good such as local attractions, meal times and maybe the history of the building as this does have quite a history.

Good Luck and would I recommend this hotel at this time....?

Room Tip: Room 302 has good views but in the morning is noisy. I think the main water tank is close by so whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenners-2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Check the price before you negatively comment about this hotel... Try getting the smiling service and the views and the beach proximity and the facilities and the parking and the breakfast for less!!!!!

That rant over, I feel it only fair to leave a review based on fact, not emotion.
Yes, it's a 3 star hotel, yes it looks like it's straight out of 1980's Mallorca, yes there are a few nicks and dinks and marks in places. But, you know what? It is trying hard.
The hardest thing to get right is service, and this hotel has it in spades. Our children were treated like Princes. The hotel is pet friendly, so our dog was fussed over galore.

The rooms have tv's, coffee/tea, hairdryers, etc, the water is hot, the sheets are clean. There are two swimming pools, ten pin bowling, a drinks veranda with views to die for with a reasonably priced bar. There's a snooker room, sauna, jacuzzi, pool table and a toddler's play room.

Fistral beach is a 7 min walk away. Fistral beach, you know, the world class surfing venue... 7 mins!!
Behind the hotel is the Gannel Estuary which empties daily for glorious walks with a path right next door to the hotel.
The breakfast restaurant does a basic but good choice buffet breakfast. Coco pops, cornflakes, weetabix, muesli, rice krispies, 2 juices, toast and jams and a cooked breakfast of your choice! Tea and coffee constantly refilled too.

So, if you want to complain about this hotel, you are either too posh for yourself, or you really didn't notice the low bill!

Some decorating caulk and Dulux is all this place needs. If you can handle that, you'll appreciate all it offers... and you'll love the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VRSCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hotel short walking distance to Fistral Beach. Good views over river Ganel. Nice lounge and spacious reception. Plenty of family facilities such as pool and bowling. Restaurant good although set menu a bit limited. Beakfast ok but needed more choice. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Parking ok providing no coaches staying. My room below ground level with no views-also cold and damp-clean enough.Expensive for the quality of its location. Choose room carefully!! Other rooms seemed much better. Hotel looks dated and needs upgrading. Check out too early at 10am. Quite happy overall.

Room Tip: Some rooms are below ground with no views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onemoretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

we stayed in room 214. 5th / 9th august 2013.staff were friendly. fantastic views.breakfast was great with good service.even the boss took time to talk.decoration a bit dated in rooms but the staff building and location made up for that.even was allowed to keep car in car park after we checked out.would go again.nice stay.stephen & stephanie.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steviehew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

From the moment we went through the door we were greeted by friendly reception staff,The views of the River Gannel estuary,from the lounge,terrace and dinning room were stunning,our room with a balcony had the same views.We found the public rooms and our room to be very clean.The breakfast was very good,and the evening meals were fantastic (I understand they have a new chef and they are very good) The fact that the owners dinned in the hotel during our stay speaks for itself.It is nice to stay in a family run hotel where people count and our experience was that nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff or management,This a dog friendly hotel,with lovely walks,I would recommend Fern Pit Cafe,which is on the side of the headland,if you want a sandwich or a cream tea,the tea garden has views over Crantock Beach and the estuary
WE LOOK FOWARD TO OUR NEXT STAY

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Spent 5 nights here in early July 2013 bed and breakfast. The view alone was worth the price not to mention the lovely cooked to order breakfast every morning. Staff were wonderful and Kelly was as helpful at the desk for all my directions and "secret" beach adventure. Having travelled a lot in the last 10 years, it is mindboggling to think I spent £50 a night and never saw a cloud the whole 5 days. Cornwall and Hotel California<>MAGIC

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £46 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing