We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice- Amazing views”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time with my boyfriend at the Hotel California. Our room was very good with a fantastic view. Also the staff was very friendly. The only bad thing was that the restaurant wasn't open for the lunch time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank aninhavieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Not knowing anything about this hotel and booking it for three nights is always a gamble, but we needn't have worried, it was just great from the moment we arrived and just what we were looking for.
A friendly welcome, access to our very spacious and wonderfully situated room,slightly earlier to check-in time was reassuring. Our room had the most impressive views, we couldn't have asked for anything nicer. A leisurely drink on the terrace before unpacking was delightful in the sunshine as the hotel is set in a very peaceful location just outside of Newquay overlooking the Gannel estuary,the whole experience just couldn't have been better for us to spend our few days off. Thank you to all staff for making it a very welcoming and friendly stay, we'll be back !

Room Tip: Suites have own sunroom and verander
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

In a very quiet position away from the noisy and smelly centre of Newquay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room had one of the most beautiful views down the river estuary to the beach and a balcony to sit out on and admire the view. The breakfast was cooked to order and had lots of choice as well as the buffet. The fixed price evening menu was good. Service was quick and efficient. The room was spacious and the beds comfortable. Weather not good enough to use the pool but the balcony outside the was delightful and had wonderful views. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the side of the hotel where the outside pool is situated to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have just recently came back from staying at this hotel and when I looked at their website it looked absolutely lovely, the rooms looked nice and fresh so I booked it...
Little did I know when I arrived and checked in and got to my room well that was a different story!!

The room smelt of damp, the t.v didn't work, everything was out of fashion. The room was nothing like it was on there website.
The breakfast was completely rubbish...the staff who was doing the breakfast didn't know what they were doing.
They say help yourself to the buffet well what buffet?? Some cereal, toast and juice...

Will not be going back!! Highly disappointed!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
2  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were in Newquay already and decided to extend our stay, we visited the hotel and found a lovely welcoming area and an equally welcoming receptionist in Sue.
She allowed us to view a room which was just perfect so we booked.
On our arrival we were greeted like long lost friends and given our keys, we actually had a bigger room than the one seen, it was clean, fresh and the bathroom was spotless, it had a small balcony which our dog made himself at home on straight away and a view across the gannel and down to Crantock beach, we asked where the dog was allowed and were told no restrictions he is as welcome as you, dining room excepted which we accepted of course.
The breakfast was more than adequate and was served to table by friendly and helpful staff. They even made charlie,our dog some scrambled eggs of his breakfast.
The indoor pool was warm and clean.
After booking I saw some detrimental reviews, I am not sure what these people were expecting but certainly we have no bad things to report and anyone who knows my reports know I am not easily pleased and tell it as it is.
Lovely clean and friendly hotel with equally friendly staff, we didn't want to leave and we will be back.

Room Tip: We had a room one flight down from the main reception, this gave us excellent views and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stayed here for one night in May (May bank holiday). The hotel was clean, tidy and well kept. The beds were comfortable. The rooms are slightly tired and could do with an update, especially the bathroom.
It is nice having a balcony, especially if you are a smoker like us.
There is a bowling alley in the hotel which was fun to kill an hour or so.
Varied drinks from the bar.
There is a small indoor pool which is available to all guests, we didn't use it but it looked nice.
We only had breakfast in the hotel which was lovely. the snacks / bar menu didn't appeal so we drove to the local Burger king for a quick tea.
All in all, it was a good value night away.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Hotel is very well situated on the Pentire Headland, ideal for both Newquay and Crantock. Views from the Hotel are stupendous of the Gannel estuary. Lounge bar very comfortable with many easy chairs and sofas. Good parking. Food supplied was reasonable. Think you would stay here for the situation as easy to get into the centre of Newquay or Crantock.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.1 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.8 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#20 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £38 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing