We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely break”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 1 November 2009

arrived on the 28th oct till the 1 nov 09
3 adults 1 child 1dog
all staff more than happy to help . food with loads of variety
a good quality allround value for money hotel
GOING BACK NEXT YEAR WITHOUT HESITATION

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATJANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2009

I have stayed at this hotel with friends and also my girlfriend over the last 2 years, the rooms are in need of attention but the staff made the difference as they were really nice and went out of their way to help but that is not the case anymore!!!! The new Manager Debbie is the worst Front of House person i have ever met, she is rude and she thinks she is GOD!!! Come on David, what happend to the good staff that made the difference when the rooms were in need of attention!!?? I will not be returning to this hotel with my friends or girlfriend. We were not the only guests to complain about this woman and unless you want to continue to lose business i suggest you do something about her!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babygirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This Hotel Was off average standard, the loctaion was not in centre of Newquay but it was only about 10 mintue walk to it.

The rooms are standard for the rating of Hotel. the views are quite nice from our balcony.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

yes would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittykat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I stayed at the california with a mixed group of 20 aging from 20 to 35, male and female in late July 09, In my opinion some of thesre other reviews are very harsh.

I can see what some of the other reviews refer to, the hotel is a little tired and a little worn in places, furniture is a little old and dated, the decor is also pretty dated but I actually found this added to the experience, it had a kind of overlook hotel quirkyness about it. The reception opens in to the bar and there is good space, plenty of places to sit, talk. The outside seating was ok if not a little old and worn, nothing problematic and good views of the river thing.

most of ther group were upgraded to balcony rooms free on arrival which was good.

Rooms were clean but basic, not one of the 20x person group complained of anything being unclean, beds were fine and perfectly comfortable, , showers were ok, water was warm, rooms are small and like a lot of the hotel a little dated but nothing of any concern.

The views from some of the balcony rooms are pretty good and the hotel is around a 15 minute walk from fistral beach and another beach we didnt visit.

Bar prices are reasonable, the staff were always helpful and pleasant if not a little absent or short times but it was no issue.

The barman did appear to like a drink and potentially once he had had a drink said one or two things that might not be deemed appropriate but for grown adults there should be no issue. Bar was open pretty late and there was a decent selection.

there are plenty of facilities, snooker room, swimming pools indoor and outdoor which looked ok, the bowling alley was also pretty decent. did see a childrens room as well which looked ok but basic

all in all a good value stay, if you are looking for perfection this isnt it but if you are a fairly easy going type who isnt staying here all day every day then this does offer decent value for money and a good location and a kind of nice quirkyness.

would I recommended it? yes, for short stays on a budget definately fine for that but keep your expectations in check and i cant see you being to disapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddiePee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Located in a great position for Fistral Beach but a 20 minute walk into Newquay. I couldn't wait to get out of the place. My partner and I basically just slept there and spent all of the time away from this hotel. It looks great in the receptiion area but there is a catch, the rooms are so tatty and dated. The lift is similar to the old cotton mills type lifts and really hurt ourselves trying to open and close it. In fact we saw an old lady trying her best to handle it. Maintenance is not their priority here. Our tv didnt work all week despite numerous calls to reception. It's a shame as the views are stunning and whoever owns it is kidding themselves that people won't see the bad stuff, we have, and won't be back. I guess 30 years ago this was a great place but something is missing. Atmosphere. It was a most depressing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manc_lass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Hotel location not bad about a 10 minute taxi ride into Newquay.
Reception rooms were good, however this was badly let down by the rest of the hotel especially the rooms themselves, these were very dated, dirty, with ripped carpets and duvet covers, limescale around taps and shower heads, normally i would have checked out straight away, but this was booked by a friend whose stag weekend it was, and as part of a large group it would have been a nightmare to find rooms for all of us, and as it was only for one night i put up with it, the room iwas in was for 3 persons which to be fair it was quite a good size, the price paid for this room was around £130, it was never worth it, i have stayed in first class hotels for far less money.
If you were paying around £50 a night for a room at this hotel, then you could not argue to much.
Other problems are group experienced was out of date milk cartons in room(the pots to make cups of tea) and dirty cups, trays etc.
I didnt bother to go for breakfast even though it was paid for, as i thought if the rooms are this bad the breakfast cant be much better, however i was told by those that went down to have breakfast, was that it was quite nice.
The best thing the hotel had going for it was the reception staff ( and whilst i was walking through all you could hear were people complaining, not that i can blame them) and the staff in the bar and bowling alley.
As a person who has stayed in hotels around the world i would suggest not to bother with this one, there are probaly much better hotels in Newquay for the same price but much better.
I reckon once this was a great hotel, and with the views the hotel has, this could still be one of the best that Newquay could offer, but sadly it has been left to ruin for far too long and to bring it back up to standard would cost Millions of pounds, shame it was left to go this way.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The worst hotel receptionist I have ever came across she had mentioned that check out was at 12 in the morning, When I had finally arrived home and checked my bank account the cheek of the manager put in a charge for £15.00 over stay and a charge for extra towels at £1.50. this is totally day light robbery. Especially after paying £90.00 for 1 star rated hotel when they advertise as a 3star. I decided to give her a ring straight away she was aggressive and rude on the phone. I explained to her that their was no terms and conditions stating this charge her response was they was in the hotel rooms draw''come on who's going to looking in the rooms draw for terms and conditions why was this not explained? basically they must do this a lot to guests. The worst service the worst hotel the room stank and I was robbed of £16.50...I would not recommend this hotel to anyone please avoid....also they have no sauna and no heated outdoor pool the hotel runs on lies

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojitoevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
509 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £50 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing