We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel, Brilliant Staff - Can't Wait To Return!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel, Brilliant Staff - Can't Wait To Return!”
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at the California and we absolutely loved it!

There was 14 of us altogether including young children and toddlers.

Luckily i never read these reviews before i go as i think people are quick enough to complain when they have had a bad time but don't compliment when they've had a good one! This hotel is a small family run hotel that offers great deals - if people want hilton quality then they should pay for it and go to a hilton!

I agree that the rooms could do with being modernised slightly BUT they are spotlessly clean, the cleaner was in every day - even folding our childrens pyjamas and laying them nicely with their teddies on their pillows! We also had fresh towels whenever we wanted them.

The public areas are lovely, so relaxing. There were candles lit on all the tables in the evenings and fresh flowers out. It was the perfect place to sit and have a drink after dinner.

The restaurant and the food was fantastic. The waiters, waitresses and bar staff couldnt do enough for us, they even made up small versions of the meals for our toddlers and children rather than just offering the standard 'fish fingers and chips' like most places. They were chatting to us alot and giving us recommendations on where to visit. The menus had lots of choice and catered for everyone, the food was hot and came out very quickly. They were constantly asking us if we wanted more of anything, nothing was too much trouble.

All the staff were great and the hotel really had that family run feel to it which i would have over a large chain anyday!

The swimming pool was quite cold but i don't think the children noticed that!!!!!!

The location is brilliant, overlooking a gorgeous river and just around the corner from Pentire beach.

Overall we loved this hotel and are looking to go back with even more of us soon!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themackenzies59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    187
    125
    92
    111
See reviews for
146
297
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We have just returned from a trip to the Hotel California - an incredible deal but as usual you get what you pay for - what I cannot understand is why these places offer these deals when you are only going to go home and tell people how awful it was. Why not give people the best so that they will tell the rest of the world.

The food was fantastic and the restaurant and public areas really nice but the room was disgraceful, a very small bathroom with only enough room to turn around, the bedroom wasn't much better, rotting wood, peeling paintwork and no floor space. Don't even try your balcony as you cannot sit on the chairs they are so disgusting. Desperately in need of renovation.

The staff in the restaurant were lovely and couldn't do enough but the unfriendly receptionist should surely find another job - we were so sorry to have bothered her with our problems as to her we were obviously too much trouble.

The situation of the hotel was perfect but the whole break was spoilt by the room and the lack of interest of the reception to our problems - don't bother to even give this hotel a thought unfortunately, but with a little TLC it could be really nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Worcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We have stayed at the hotel eight times (including seven successive new year breaks at highly marked up prices), and therefore feel well placed to provide a representative and balanced report.

The hotel is situated in a quiet riverside suburb of Newquay. It was originally a manor house, built in 1900, and by design located in an elevated position directly opposite Penpol Creek, offering residents stunning river views, which are probably unrivalled anywhere in the UK.

It was converted probably during the 1960s, and extended to provide good modern day facilities, including roof terraces, indoor and outdoor pools, jacuzzi, sauna, squash court and bowling alley, as well as the lounge, restaurant, entertainment area, and additional rooms. The manor house is now unrecognisable from the outside, though inside the hall, stairway and drawing room have been well preserved as a reminder of past grandeur.

The lounge and restaurant areas are well maintained with a traditional appearance. The leisure facilities appear respectable (apart from the changing rooms which are cold and grubby), however the older parts of the building are distinctly tatty, and in need of refurbishment. The rooms are small, and the en-suites somewhat cramped, but probably not untypical for this type of conversion.

The heating and hot water systems seem unreliable. On one visit, we were repeatedly troubled by lack of hot water, and have since overheard other residents discussing similar problems. We have also found the indoor pool and jacuzzi too cold to enjoy, and on our last visit the jacuzzi did not function.

The food has been of good quality, but frequently served (along with the coffee) below desirable temperature, and always on cold plates (a fundamental blunder in catering!).

The new year break entertainment has been progressively scaled down, and on our last visit the same singer appeared twice in four days, performing the same songs in reverse order on the second occasion.

Externally there are now very visible signs of long term decay, including disintegrating tiles on the terraces, unchecked vegetation, blocked gutters and rotting window sills.

We discussed our concerns during our penultimate stay with the manager (and owners’ son) David Jones, who appeared sympathetic, claiming that £250K had recently been spent on software for the bowling alley. But he subsequently failed to address any of the issues raised.

We also have to report that many of the older hotels in Newquay are now being sold very lucratively for redevelopment as luxury flats. This has been the fate of the hotel’s four nearest neighbours, and we now have to wonder about the true intentions of Mr and Mrs Jones with regard to Hotel California.

In summary, the hotel is set in an idyllic location, and has potentially excellent facilities, but it is badly let down by lack of maintenance and poor services, and there seems little will on the part of the owners to address the problems. Needless to say, despite our sentiments, we will not be residents at the California for a ninth time!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandMWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2010

My wife and I booked a four-day Xmas stay from Dec 23rd 2009 at an extremely cheap offer rate, which two friends then decided to copy. It turned out to be probably the finest value break that we've experienced and our friends were equally happy with the deal, agreeing that we would still have been satisfied if paying the full rate.
We had a comfortable, private-balcony room, fuly equipped even to having a trouser-press, and with a beautiful view of the estuary. In summer, no doubt the outdoor pool will be as enjoyable as we found the indoor pool - we didn't get around to the Sauna or Tenpin Bowling.
We were charmed by the hotel décor, at this time enhanced by extremely tasteful Christmas decorations.
Having experienced scores of hotels worldwide, we can honestly say that for all-round style, comfort, food, facilities and staff service, the California beats even some that have 5 stars. Especially where the staff are concerned - charming, friendly and appearing actually to enjoy their work. Possibly this is due to the fact that it is a family-run establishment.
A relative later told us that he had also enjoyed a stay here last year and we feel that there is no better recommendation than to say that we are hoping for a return visit at some future date,

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VISITORDevon_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I had the displeasure of staying at this hotel on the deal that they were offering over Christmas. My experience has proved the old saying 'If it seems too good to be true, it probably is'
To call themselves a '3 star hotel' is a joke. It may have been 3 stars at some point in its history, but I would imagine that was way back in the early 1970's. About the same time that the place was last decorated and repaired! The leak (and the bucket catching the water) in the bowling alley, along with the horribly dated condition of the fixtures and fittings in the bedroom, are testament to my comments.
The food is, I am sure, locally sourced as the hotel states on their website. However, they seem to actually be sourcing it from the local supermarket! Don't get me wrong, supermarket food can be great but it needs to be cooked correctly and served while it is still hot! The food fell short on both these counts. We did not bother going for our last two breakfasts or final evening meal, as the novelty of the first few shocking meals had well and truly worn off!
The one good thing about this hotel is that the staff were wonderful. Very polite and if they could help they would.
You may have already guessed, we will not be returning!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolhandluke1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2010

we had read quite bad reveiws about this hotel but our fears were unfounded from the time we walked in to the reception it was christmas we stayed from the 23rd to 27th of december the staff were great really worked hard to make everyones stay nice and festive the food was wonderful and the staff were great I also met the owners MR and MRS JONES I found mrs jones very approachable and had a few conversations with her you did not have to set foot outside the hotel if you did not want to as there was an indoor pool squash court pool room or you could sit in the lounge enjoying the veiw and just relaxing with complimentry coffee our room was clean and we also had tea and coffee making facilities the bathroom was clean except the grout on the floor tiles could have been cleaner we had a balcony room as we like to nip out for a cigaret but the guttering needed cleaning so it dripped down on us all the time also the the patio furniture needs a good jet wash and the paint work needed attention also it would have been good if the patio area had been swept then we would have also been able to sit out as the weather for that time of the year was great and the debris from the balcony kept being troden into our room also the cleaner did not hover our room and I found a missing remote under our bed so for sure the beds were not moved for cleaning anyway you can see that a lot of money has been spent on the place andROME was not built in a day sowith a bit ofTLC and a lot of money things will get better and I think that Mrs Jones and her husband run the place more for love not profit I did see a couple of family rooms which had already been refurbished and they were lovely so eventualy they will get there anyway THANKS TO EVERYONE WHO MADE CHRISTMAS WONDERFUL FOR BOTH OF US and yes we will be returning soon to taste the lovely food and to see the progress of the refurbishment and see the great staff again excelent value

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed at the Hotel California over the New Year and there is little I can say but to endorse the last review for the Christmas period 100%.
I feel it is very unfair to give poor reviews when people are working so hard to make a living from their business and at the same time giving such good value and good service to their guests. You would be lucky to get bed and brakfast in a guest house for what the Hotel California charges with a choice of well cooked evening meals as well.
To those who have left poor reviews come into the real world and to those thinking of a stay at the Hotel California, book it you will never regret it

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kilbirnie Hotel
Kilbirnie Hotel
#30 of 38 in Newquay
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing