We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a peaceful garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Japanese Garden

The Japanese Garden
Ranked #13 of 57 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: EAST MEETS WEST The Japanese Garden in Cornwall combines the beauty of nature with an artistic refinement using shaping & styling of plants & natural elements. It is a place of tranquillity with a variety of plants and water features, where visitors can enjoy the wonder of nature in a peaceful, relaxing space. The garden was built as a meditative garden, where one can calm the mind & let go of unwanted stress through contemplation & reflection. We are open from 10am – 6pm, 7 days a week. Last entrance to the Japanese Garden 5pm. NEW SEASONAL OPENING TIMES We are open from the 1st March to the 31st October Admission Prices Adults: £4.50 Children: £2.00 Babies/in buggies free Shop & plant areas are admission free. This year we will be offering Season Tickets for £9 – which will enable one person to visit the Japanese Garden as often as they like during our opening dates & times. Useful Information Garden size: 1 acre approx Wheelchair friendly: Yes, 90% + (gravel paths) Refreshments: Yes, small selection of hot & cold drinks & outdoor seating area Toilets: None on site. Public toilet facilities approximately 20 meters from car park entrance Dogs: We love dogs & have one of our own (Rupert), but cannot allow dogs, except guide dogs, in the Japanese Garden. There is ample shade in our car park & we can provide water for a four legged friend if requested The Japanese Garden is just over an acre in size & is located in the picturesque village of St. Mawgan. There is a variety of trees & plants growing in the garden; some planted 20-30 years ago when the garden was first created & others that have been growing for easily a hundred years. Plants that are classically recognised as Japanese (Japanese Acers for example) are located in abundance throughout the garden & these are blended with some beautiful, local Cornish plants (such as a huge english oak tree among others). Depending on when you visit you might see the spectacular Asaleas flowering in the spring, or the Japanese Acers turning from green to vivid red in the autumn. We now offer a small selection of refreshments (some hot & cold drinks) & a seating area near to our shop. We are hoping to develop a cafe in the future, so we are always keen to hear suggestions about what you might like. If you would like to bring your own food, you are more than welcome, we just ask that you do not leave any litter in the garden. We do not have toilets on site but the village public toilets are accessible & are just around the corner from our car park entrance (less than a 2 minute walk).
coventry
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a peaceful garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I came across this attraction by accident, and we are glad we did. In all my years I have never been to a more relaxing garden, it was a wonderful experience. The garden and ponds was well laid out. My wife and I stood on a replica Japanese bridge so relaxed watching a Moorhen catching Dragon flies and feeding her chicks, Magic. The Japanese figures scattered around the garden was simply perfect. This garden comes highly recommended by myself

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kennethjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    60
    32
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,058 reviews
549 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
“Back again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

As we were in transit and still looking for a water feature we dropped by. Nothing to suite the purpose but they are always happy to give advice,so, she who rules spent some time re a bonsai bought a few months ago.
When asked where we were going next {To the Aircraft museum just up the road,it was suggested that "Just around the corner is something that will interest} all very mysterious. A walk around the garden,chat with the Koi and off.
Great surprise,so if in the area,out of the village and there you are.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

You'd be very wrong to imagine this is just a shop with a few trees planted out the back! A very unremarkable entranceway leads to a beautiful, tranquil garden of delights in any season. Small, neat pathways take you deeper into the mystical array of stunning Plants and Japanese Ornamentation in a myriad of colours, shapes and sizes.
Although there are numerous small buildings and waterways to explore, there's also plenty of benches for you to just relax and soak up the atmosphere. Simply wonderful for adults to enjoy, though I fear small children would become bored quite quickly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ember_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Oriental serenity flourishes in this secluded Cornish setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I visited this beautiful little garden with my girlfriend and her two children (2 and 4 years old).
By the time we had rounded the final sharp bend in the tiny, picturesque village, set in it's lush valley and saw, at last, the entry sign for this attraction, I had almost lost all faith in my SatNav. Until then we had encountered no brown tourist signs or even private ones erected by the owners. And this little hamlet seemed too small and secluded to house a garden worthy of an entry in a major tourist guide.
However, with apologies to my SatNav, I am very glad that we peresevered.
The garden is, indeed, relatively small but the space has been skillfully populated in such a way as to make it seem much larger. It is a little piece of dense, verdant jungle, planted largely with Asian flora such as acer, bamboo and azalea and is studded with shrines, koi ponds, waterfalls, bridges, sculptures and rock features to complete the oriental illusion. The thrill (experienced not solely by the kids) of walking through the deep, moist jungle is heightened by the discovery, around every corner of some new delight.
Although the Japanese theme is strong, there's a hint of the mossy stillness of an English churchyard, aided by the abundant robins, wrens and blackbirds. The resulting atmosphere is soothing and tranquil.
The attached nursery and shop offer a tasteful range of the types of plants and statuary you can see in the garden as well as a number of novelties and trinkets with an oriental theme. I was hard pressed to prevent my girlfriend from buying the place up. In the event we bought two 'living stone' plants and two sensitive mimosa, all of which are now thriving in her conservatory and which cost significantly less than the identical items at The Eden Project gift shop.
I would visit again and will certainly recommend it to friends and family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful small garden and bonsai nursery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We would definitely recommend this garden, but if you are expecting a full day out you will be disappointed! It took us about 2 hours for the whole visit, I can also understand how it may seem expensive (£4.50 for adult) if there is a large group, but we had a 2 for 1 voucher so it was value for money. The garden was well looked after and is made up of a maze of paths with lots of things to see around each corner. 99% of the garden was also wheelchair accessible, although due to the nature of some of the paths it was difficult to move around in some areas.

We thought the bonsai nursery was also very good, There were some bonsai trees available which were definitely outside our price range, but there were a good selection of trees for around £20. The owner was very helpful about how to look after the bonsai we bought.

We would also recommend the tea rooms in the St Mawgan village shop and post office just round the corner from the gardens. Excellent food available and also gluten free food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Japanese Garden also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Japanese Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing