We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Stay”
Review of Cormorant House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cormorant House
Ranked #24 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Sally & Chris welcomed us to their home for a fantastic 2 night stay. Having previously endured bad experiences in B&B's our faith was totally restored. From the tea on arrival every part of our stay in this warm, friendly and welcoming guest house was a pleasure. Our room was bright, clean & extremely comfortable with everything we needed, TV, tea & coffee etc and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast each morning chatting to our fellow guests around the communal table. Thank you !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at Cormorant House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you Carol for you kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that we managed to restore your faith in B & B's! We enjoyed your company very much and look forward to seeing you both again in the future! Warmest regards Sally and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This guesthouse is a real gem. Spotless throughout, Cormorant House offered a modern, yet warm ambiance, with all creature comforts supplied. Sally and Chris have skilfully combined modern requirements with all the traditional, welcoming charms and values of a Cornish hostelry from yesteryear. Both I and my wife, along with our son and daughter-in-law (who was heavily expectant) received a genuine and unobtrusive welcome with absolutely nothing being too much trouble. Bedrooms were spacious, inviting and extremely comfortable – the quality of sleep my wife and I enjoyed was as good as being at home! The homemade cakes and delicious breakfasts were excellent whilst the tête-à-têtes with the owners were mutually most enjoyable. Private parking and a central Newquay location makes this B&B very desirable indeed. All in all, an establishment that I would highly recommend and endorse.
Laurence Paul

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at Cormorant House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words Laurence. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying at Cormorant House and it was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We are looking forward to the forthcoming season and welcoming returning guests and those, we are yet to meet. We wish you all well with the birth of your grand child and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Warmest regards Sally and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We exerienced a very comfortable 2 night stay at Cormorant House. Our en suite room was beautifully furnished with many home touches. Both the food and the hospitality were excellent. We would certainly recommend to others and will stay again when visiting Newquay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at Cormorant House, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you Linda and Roger for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Cormorant House and we hope to see you again in the future. We would like to wish you, and all of our customers all the very best for 2014. We are busy with our winter maintenance and are looking forward to the forthcoming season; renewing our aquaintance with guests who have stayed before and making some new friendships on the way! Warmest regards, Sally and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew that we had made the right choice in booking this delightful B&B, which we did without issue through their website www.cormoranthousenewquay.co.uk. Its charm only matched by that of its wonderful hosts Sally and Chris! Their warm welcome consisting of tea, homemade cake and friendly banter was greatly appreciated after a tiresome journey. Though our stay was quite short, we benefited from the central location - and our hosts' local knowledge - making the most of the beaches, bars and restaurants that Newquay has to offer, without having to worry about taxis after an evening out! Despite everything being just minutes away on foot, the accommodation itself was peaceful and quiet; the lovely light and airy decor contributing to a relaxed homely feel - and a good night's sleep ;-) I would have to add that the delicious hearty breakfast enjoyed at the communal round table - an innovative and social idea - perfectly 'rounded off' our stay, and was just what we needed to set us up for the day of travel ahead! Thank you Sally and Chris for far surpassing our expectations, this was our first, but certainly won't be our last stay at Cormorant House! :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at Cormorant House, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you Tanya, for your lovely comments. It was nice meeting you both and we enjoyed your company. You were lucky with the weather when you were out exploring our lovely coastline; those walking boots were certainly put to good use! As you found, Cornwall is beautiful at any time of the year! We hope your journey back to the lovely Isle of Wight was a little easier than your journey here and we look forward to seeing you both again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uelsen, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Host Chris and Sally found the perfect balance between being helpfull without becoming obtrusive. Combine that with the very central location of their house in South Cornwall, add Chris' outstanding breakfasts and there is little more to wish. Just one little thing folks, it can't be that hard to extend WiFi to all your rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at Cormorant House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you Jan, for your review, it was very nice to meet you both and we are glad you enjoyed your time at Cormorant House; Sally's cooked breakfast and the exceptional waiter service of Chris! We apologise that you had to sit in the lounge to log onto your laptop; it is strange that most of our guests are able to get wifi in the room that you were in including ourselves, however, just to make sure this is never a problem for anyone else, we ordered a wifi booster when you first reported the problem and it arrived the day you left. It is now set up to make sure that all rooms receive a strong signal. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in the UK and had a good and safe journey back to the Netherlands. Warmest regards, Sally and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

An absolutely perfect B&B, totally faultless. Decorated beautifully, very relaxed, comfy, chilled out and friendly. Very quiet and Had a perfect nights sleep. Spacious bedrooms with lovely en-suite! Totally spotless! Breakfast was delicious each morning. located very close ( walking distance) to shops, pubs, restaurants, the center and beaches! overall an excellent stay and will definitely be going back :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at Cormorant House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Amy and Jordon, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased you enjoyed your break. We hope you had a good journey back and look forward to seeing you both again! Warmest regards, Sally and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We got married in Newquay and choose to stay here because of the reviews and the pictures of the room looked lovely. It was even better then we thought it would be. From the moment we arrived Sally & Chris were so welcoming and they couldnt do enough for us. They went above and beyond to help us with some last minute wedding hiccups and we cant thank them enough for everything. The breakfast was fantastic with a round table experience to chat to other guests which we really enjoyed. We stayed in the Lusty Glaze room and it was beautiful, very clean and spacious. Its close enough to easily walk to town without all the noise and close to the beaches, so the location is perfect. Definitely stay here dont look anywhere else, you wont be disapointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charissa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally D, Owner at Cormorant House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you Charissa and James for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to have you stay at Cormorant House and for us to be able to help smooth out a couple of wedding hiccups - glad our fridge was big enough for the cake! it was nice to meet your bridesmaids and family at breakfast time and see you in your beautiful dress - you looked amazing! We hope you had a great time on the rest of your honeymoon and that you are both enjoying married life. Hope to see you again in the future! Warmest regards, Sally and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#4 of 106 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#5 of 106 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedlam House
Bedlam House
#29 of 106 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrington Guest House
Harrington Guest House
#43 of 106 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chynoweth Lodge
Chynoweth Lodge
#17 of 106 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lazy Waves
Lazy Waves
#36 of 106 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cormorant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cormorant House

Property: Cormorant House
Address: 39 Ulalia Road, Newquay TR7 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to enjoy all that Cornwall has to offer,Cormorant house with it's fresh and airy decor sits in a quiet corner of Newquay only three minutes walk from the nearest beach. The owners provide a warm welcome and endeavour to make your holiday an enjoyable one. With free parking onsite and free wi-fi, each fresh and bright room offers LCD TV/DVD; Iphone docking station;free toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cormorant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormorant House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing