We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”
Review of Beaconsfield Hotel

Beaconsfield Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaconsfield Hotel
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 28 July 2006

I have just returned from a holiday at the Beaconsfield hotel in Newquay, Cornwall. I must say it was the worst hotel room I had ever stayed in. The hotels best point was where it is situated as you could get away from the awful room and sit and enjoy the sea view from outside. My friend and I paid a single supplement each and were disgusted with the state of the rooms no proper wardrobe just a curtain to pull across in a corner my shower door wouldn't shut one end as the magnetic catch was rusty. They didn't know how to make a bed it wasn't clean.
I have been to Cornwall on a few occasions and have never had anything like this a good case for the hotel inspectors. there was only a small top window to open which I had to close at night to try and get a little sleep due to the noise from the gulls and the night club people. No never again.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Tips/Secrets — DON'T GO THERE IF YOU WANT A SINGLE ROOM
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank FOWKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, West Mids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2005

This is probably the my 20th Visit to Newquay in the last 5 years and I have stayed at this hotel on probably 12 occasions during that time. We had an excellent time and the sea views are some of the best in Newquay.

I cannot believe some of the reviews especially the one complaining about seagulls. What do you expect from a hotel 100M from the beach!

The hotel is very clean and although not spotless you have to remember you are not staying in a 4 star £100+ a night hotel.

The staff are probably the most friendly in Newquay and the hotel has a great atmosphere.

Although we did not have dinner in the hotel the breakfasts were great when we managed to get up in time.

There is Jazz there every Sunday and we enjoyed the live band and lunch very much.

If you are looking for a friendly hotel with fantastic sea views I could not recommend anywhere better.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2005

Terrible only stayed one night, the hotel was definately not as advertised in the brochure, the rooms were very dirty and the parking was terrible, you could not get through as the cars were so close. The management Had lied to us about the holiday - Dont take children it was a death trap. Around the hotel was very noisy and we didnt sleep all night. The cleaning staff were rough and rude, we were surpose to stay a week but left after one night.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MrMrsBirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 August 2005

Just came back from bank holiday weekend at Beaconsfield.
It has been a long time since we started to go to Cornwall for August bank holiday weekend and Beaconsfield was the by far the worst experinece in the area. The room is not only small but also old, wet, dirty and noisy. You will hear every sigle words of your people staying next door............ I could not go to sleep as you hear people partying all night. Only a few rooms are facing towards the sea and the rest has eventually no view.
NO. I would never go back to this hotel.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 August 2005

crazy yet amazing Kay on the bar was a star and the restaurant manager was a bit of alright too :)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 August 2005

we stayed at the beaconsfield hotel for 4 nights, the double room was small and there was very little space between the ensuite door and the bed , the lounge areas need a lot of updating, leather chairs had holes in them,the breakfast was very badly organised and the evening meals did not suit everyone, entertainment was more for the pensioners . the good thing was the short walk to the shops and from the front of the hotel there was a lovely sea view, we were awoke each night at about 3am to the sound of noisey sea gulls , this went on for hours, and could hear this even with our window shut

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 August 2005

This hotel was great it was close to everything. Everybody was friendly and made us feel really welcome I would recommend this hotel to anybody and will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#20 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconsfield Hotel

Property: Beaconsfield Hotel
Address: The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 91
Also Known As:
Beaconsfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing