We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location with Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location with Great staff”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed at the Great Western Spring Bank Holiday. From the time of booking to departure the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.
Our room was fantastic, very clean and nicely decorated BUT the views! I have never had a room with views like this even abroad.
The food was lovely and good value.
The location was perfect for exploring Newquay and the sorrounding area.
We will most certainly return to the Great Western and are already planning our next visit!!!!

Del and Colin
South Wales

Delyth

Room Tip: Sea Views are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenglish06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    287
    115
    46
    42
See reviews for
130
453
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed here this week. We booked through late rooms.

We arrived at 19:00 and found our parking space which had been reserved for us. We checked in and paid for the parking space. We were given room 210 which is on the second floor. There is a lift. On entering our room we noticed it was very small and very dated. There was no air in the room and it was very hot and stuffy. The view out the window was some derelict building but it wasn't expensive and so we thought a room is a room. We went out for something to eat and returned about 22:30. We walked in our room and the heat in the room was unbearable even though it felt a bit chilly outside. We opened our window the widest it went and settle down for the night. Neither of us slept well because the room stayed stifling hot and the bed was very uncomfortable. We were up and about early the next day not feeling refreshed. On our way out of the hotel, I happened to mention the heat in the room to the manager and she offered to give us a fan or move us rooms. I said I wouldn't mind to move room and and she gave us a premium suite (room 216) which was very comfortable and was well furnished to a modern standard. The bed was 6ft wide and the only thing we could find wrong with the room was the bed was very very soft. The view from this room was overlooking the beach and Newquay. The room was a lot cooler and we slept a lot better.

The food was nice in the steam bar but the portion size was small and we found not very good value for money. You would be better going to the Witherspoons which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. I would also advise eating breakfast at the Witherspoons. The bars garden terrace was very nice. It overlooked the sea but got very busy as soon as the sun was shining.

The staff were very friendly and helpful when approached, even when we were over charged for drinks.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone but I would advise not going for the cheapest rooms and I would advise spending the little bit extra for that extra comfort which we experienced in the premium room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandLisa2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

lovley comphey hotel, stayed here with my hubby, as were our freinds were staying was full, well i was glad the other hotal was full even thow it was posh n pricey this hotel great western was lovley, fab location great staff very comphy rooms, couldnt of wish for a better location close to town centre beaches and a lovley walk to festal beach that isnt to long to walk to, and all the pubs and clubs are quit close love berties night club which is the nearest to the great western a little away from the mad hussle and bussle from the other clubs , newquay isnt just for youngsters were in our 40s and love it here but we havnt been july and august time but im guessing it would be better on thows beaches in the sun, newquay is lovley but some hotals are shabby but good enough just to sleep after a great day and night out, prices here are reasonable, enjoy , but you might see some sights at night with the young ones but no diffrent then most places these days, fun all the way.

Room Tip: enjoy the beaches , the weatherspoons is fab here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neillie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Myself and parnter booked a long weekend at the great western hotel for a surf weekend. On arrival were greated with parking reservation!(pre-booked) but nice to see name on parking bay! Hotel very nice inside reception and bar area! Also nice on patio over looking bay! Room adequate for our use! telly, tea and coffee. Also very hot water from shower - nice! Hotel is smack in middle of town, walking distance of shops and bars! Rooms at the front could seem as little noisy from nightlife but got to take rough with the smooth! Only problem i had was above room door was a glass panel which let light in from hallway! there were light switches but kep[t on being turned on! The rates will be considerable more in peak time but for march very very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Lovely hotel with lots of character. Staff are brilliant. Reception staff are so helpful and friendly. Housekeeping staff were spot on. The room was always lovely and clean when we returned to our room. Always smiles, from all the hotel staff, which is what guests want!

Unfortunately, the TV did not work in the room we were allocated. Everyone was very apologetic and courteous and, as the problem couldn't be rectified, offered us an alternative room. We were also asked if we needed help to move. We hadn't unpacked, so it was not a problem. We were upgraded to another room, at no extra charge and were very comfortable for the whole of our stay. Very impressed with the level of customer service. Very prompt and efficient response.

Nice bar staff and eager to please. We had also paid for car parking and, because parking was awkward when the car park was full, we asked for a move. We were immediately moved to a more convenient space. Top marks!

Have been to this hotel before and know that the service will always be good. Would recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxford, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed here on 3rd & 4th Feb. It was a great deal. £29 per double room per night, without breakfast. They charge 7.95 for breakfast but there's a nice cafe at the train station (just over the road) which does good food at half the price. The hotel is a bit dated, but does the job. Room was ok, bathroom dated. It seems that they've refurbished the main reception bar area but not the rooms. As a cheap stop over, it does what the cost suggests.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Well where do you start, having been sceptical about Newquay and its reputation as a booze capital what a surpirse I found.
The Great Western is just an absolute little gem, far enough away from Newquay town Centre (10minute walk) but close enough to everything to really be able to relax. The Hotel itself was obviously a fantastic hotel in the 50s, and keeping still some of that charm with modern refurbishment has excelled in itself to produce a real touch of class.
The staff and service was second to none and still keeps that pubish charm with hotel professionalism.
Although we were away visiting local businesses, I would definately come back in the off season to make the most of what a lovely place Newquay is.
Thank you again to all at the Great Western.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCouldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing