We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
oxon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chilled out and friendly.”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and was not disappointed ,we stayed in a standard room which was clean and comfy and made an ideal base.the hotel has a restaurant and bar called the steam bar .the food and drink was reasonably priced and we ate there .I do do recommend that you book parking as it is limited and costs a fiber per night .we definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncrighton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    299
    123
    47
    46
See reviews for
136
474
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Excellent value for money room was clean the staff were lovely food and drink sensibly priced location of hotel was good and the area was flat had my own parking spot out side of reception will return

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 94Andys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed for a quick weekend break in one of the budget rooms. The room was fine, bigger than expected and you could see a bit of beach out of the window.
The thing that really made the stay was the staff, they were just lovely. They went out of their way for us in many ways, didn't hard sell the parking, in fact told us that it was free to park on the road until April. The barman came over to tell us it was last orders and to see if we wanted anything else and reception had great ideas for places to eat and walks to take.
I'd go back any day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaColeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Devon, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I booked online so was a bit dubious at the £29 per room rate. It was my fiances 40th and we just wanted a room for the night as we drove around cornwall most of the day. The outside of the hotel could be improved but once inside the receptionist was very welcoming and the hotel was cosy. We went to our standard room and were pleasantly suprised. The furniture was pine and the room was warm and cosy. We didnt hear any noise from adjacent rooms. The bathroom was dated and the view from the room was awful, but it said online if you wanted sea views then you would pay extra. Anyhow, by the time we arrived it was dark so the curtains were drawn!
We ventured down to the bar/restaurant once unpacked and enjoyed the local Ratler cider and a game of pool. The bar was lovely and has lots of space. We went onto the terrace and could see beaches either side of us, in the summer i can imagine this would be beautiful!
We went to a greek taverna for our meal which was lovely.
All in all we enjoyed a pleasant night stay and will definitely return if we need another night stop!

Room Tip: If you want a value room and are not bothered by the view choose the standard room (there are amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My dad and I stayed here and we both enjoyed our stay. We got great value budget room. It ticked all the boxes and exceeded expectations. Will stay again. Keep it up

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yerrell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Booked as 60 birthday treat.... how the Internet can deceive!! Kerb appeal was dissapointing, lobby and the honey moon suite reasonable looking but lift and central stairs looked no better than a youth hostel. Left after 10 minutes as you only 60 once and forfietted booking deposit. Very dissapointed.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Sorry I have only just got around to writing the review!
I stayed here with family in October 2011, we had two superior rooms and they were brilliant. The views were captivating and there were chairs close to the windows so you could sit and take it all in. We had a bit of a problem with the wind whistling on one of the windows and when we reported it to the staff, the problem was dealt with straight away.
We didn't eat in the restaurant because there was so much choice in the locality.
We booked a parking space and this was super. When we arrived, our name was in a marker on the wall indicating our space. This was well worth the money.
The staff were courteous and friendly and most of all, very efficient. We will definately be coming back to stay here. For the money, it is fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing