We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Okay location, but terrible room. No working heating. Water pressure non-existing. Noisy from other rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloppyCopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here for three nights and couldn't have hoped for more. Great location, only two minutes walk from the train station and right next to the town centre and local attractions. Check-in was quick and staff on the reception desk and the restaurant were friendly. But the best thing about the stay was the fantastic sea view. Honestly, I spent ages just sat looking out of the large windows! We stayed in one of the superior rooms and it was definitely worth the extra cost. I can't remember the name of our room but apparently they refer to it as the 'honeymoon suite', so if you're making a booking I would advise calling and asking for that room specifically - you won't regret it! The only slight criticism I could make is that the heavy winds from the coast make sleeping a little difficult but then others might find it romantic to be snuggled in bed with the rough weather outside! If we were to return to Newquay we would definitely stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a superior room and call and ask for a seaview.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EskimoBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We have stayed here before & have just booked to stay again in June, great location, freindly staff, love the restaurant & bar.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Rooms are in need of updating. Restaurant/bar is nice with good views. The lobby smells like my local gym's changeroom. This is an average hotel and certainly doesn't deserve very good or excellent ratings, maybe an upgrade to a superior room does?

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boedhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

A group of us decided to take in the grand national at the Great Western Hotel
Easy hotel/pub to find as its on the main road.
Large modern interior and loads of seating.
The view of the sea/cliffs are amazing.
There is seating outside but sadly it was raining.

We had a few drinks to start with and after the grand national we all had something to eat.
A few had main meals and a few had combos.
Pleasant staff.

Meals were all lovely, and the cheese cake with rasberry was great.
The kids also enjoyed their meals.

So lovely pub with great views and food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Great Western's location has to be the best point about the hotel. It is at the end of Newquay town with lovely shops near by with everything you could need plus nice restaurants. The steam bar is part of the great western hotel with a lovely big lounge and beautiful sea views. Outside there is quite a big play train for children and smoking area under cover with tables and a heater. We only ever ate breakfast at the Great western but it was delicious. Although it may be more expensive than other places it is worth it, the quality of the food is great. The rooms are standard but good. They are quite spacious, comfy beds just a little dated. All the facilities you need and clean. Overall an amazing place we have been there twice with family. A down point is that to park in the car park specifically for the hotel you are charged £5 a night and has to be booked in advanced. Would be even better if there was a pool.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylviabutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Ideal family hotel with great friendly staff. Good views and close to the beach. All in all a good clean hotel. Very outdated but price compensates for this.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are obviously more but if your on a budget surely being on the beautiful bar terrace...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motherhen84206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £35 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing