We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really Nice!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here several times, some parts of the hotel are still in need of restoration but it's a going project..

We had a premier room and it was great, views were also superb, def ask for this upgrade!

It is an expensive hotel tho!! £1000 for two adults and a toddler - the location is worth a little extra but need to be kept within reason..

On the whole a good hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telfordthaiboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    293
    118
    47
    42
See reviews for
132
465
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is a very pleasant place to stay and offers good value for money. We are a family of 4 and our kids are 1 and 3. The kids where welcomed there and when a noisy rugby team came into the restaurant the staff quickly closed some of the room separators to deaden the noise for the others in the room. The food was served quickly and wasn't over priced.
The room was very clean and tidy.
The hotel is within 10 minutes walk of the dead centre of Newquay so close enough to be able to walk into town whilst being away from the the noisy end of town.
In all this is a good value for money hotel with friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MercianWhitehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed for a few nights, the room was very nicely done and had excellent sea views. The food was more than adequate for what we were expecting as a family and the staff were friendly. Ideally situated for the beach, although the road down is quite steep for anyone who has young children etc. but very convenient access from the hotel. Parking is an additional cost and can be quite tight at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.
First impressions i was happy, the hotel looked nice.
I reserved a parking space for £5 a night and was suprised that it wasnt out the front, it which was situated up the road.
Which really wasnt a problem just assumed it would be out the front of the hotel.
When we got to our room i was disappointed, i was excepting something more modern.
It was very dated, small room, bed wasnt comfy.
The shower was dreadful, kept going cold.
For £80 a night i expected a little more too be honest.
No breakfast included either.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here January for an out of season break. A lot better than we were expecting. We booked the middle price room & reading some of the other reviews it was certainly worth it. The room was gorgeous, and had recently been refurbished, spacious, calm colours, very comfy bed & pillows, 2 huge picture windows with seating in the window to overlook the sea. You could just about hear the sea crashing in but definitely see it! Tea & coffe facilities. Bathroom all new too. At £108 for 2 nights 2 people it was well worth it, a bargain. Didn't mind paying the extra for breakfast and to sit eating a late breakfast overlooking one of the best beaches in Cornwall was great. The bar & restaurant are big and open to the general public, great views, food was ok too. We had a platter to share when we got there and 2 breakfasts, all served hot and quick service. Couldn't complain at all. Good location too, in the town within walking distance of everything. Will definitely be going back, wish I could remember the room number to book it again. Indian next door wasn't bad either..

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Although the hotel was in a good position we thought the sevice was basic for the money charged, £40 per night per person and no breakfast. Room was adequate. bed nice and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_b942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Clean room no thrills, great price. Right on main road ideal base for weekend. I booked a standard room. Was a bit unsure having read reviews. At the end of the day you get what you pay for i could have booked a better room ( this hotel has some fantastic rooms) we only needed it to sleep in it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigcheese21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing