We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Western Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Carnmarth Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveller rating
393
322
133
54
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
322
133
54
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsteam barsea viewoverflow car parkparking spacecornish breakfastfantastic viewsper daywater pressurebooked this hotelgreat roomstayed for nightsfish and chipsthe cliffcomfy bedtolcarne beachshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
794 - 799 of 950 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Well. It seems we stayed in one of the nicest hotels...in the whole of Newquay. We went to see some family and having never been to Newquay was looking forward to seeing the place. Having made an early conclusion that the place is awful....it was nice to return to a clean and refurbished superior a view suite. The room was huge and a very comfortable bed. Plenty of storage and tea facilities. Bathroom was pleasant - but expected a slightly nicer bathroom to match the room. The room it's self was soooo warm....it could do with air con or at least a fan....massive thank you to the relation staff. They were lovely. Breakfast was ok but expensive and steam bar limited to what stock they had.

Wot e turning to Newquay but lovely hotel x

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a premium room which wasn't too expensive considering the location of the hotel. Our room had a good sea view and was very clean and the bed was big and comfy. The staff was very helpful and polite. Only bad point was the room was hot at night so I opened the window at night and was woken up nice and early by the sea gulls. The gulls wasn't the hotels fault but the bed didnt need a thick duvet in August. Another gripe would be the door between our room and the room next door was letting a little sound through when the couple next door was having an argument. Overall our stay wasn't too bad and I loved the location of this hotel. My tip to others would be reserve a parking space.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room with a sea view .
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom_woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We booked two adjoining premium rooms with sea views for 3 nights, but when we arrived we were told that it was not possible to have two adjoining rooms. But, we were offered an upgrade to superior rooms with sea views and although they were a couple of rooms apart, they were perfect.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a superior room as they are massive
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agachi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Early July, booked 3 nights stay in person. Reception manager took me to look at 3 different rooms and all were beautifully clean. However, because of a serious illness by relative living in Newquay, had to cancel at last minute . Reception staff were amazingly kind and compassionate and nothing was too much trouble for them. Should I have the opportunity to stay in Newquay in the not too distant future, would definitely choose The Great Western Hotel. Belated thanks to the guy on Reception and supporting staff!

Room Tip: Sadly, was unable to spend even one evening at this lovely Hotel, however, customer service along with cleanliness is paramount in my view and The Great Western excels on both counts!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel is actually two (possibly originally three) large buildings joined together, on a prominent headland between two beaches, virtually opposite the railway station of Newquay (hence the name). Although there are several entrances to the street and to the lawn bordering the sea, these have been made emergency exits only (or for staff use) and as the entrance to the hotel is at the far West end and my bedroom was on the third floor at the far East end it meant I had a long walk with luggage from the lift (which only goes to the 2nd floor), through a maze of narrow corridors, passing 7 (!) swing doors which had to be pushed or pulled and up a staircase to reach my room. The room was one of the refurbished ones with spectacular sea views, large comfortable bed, excellent Freeview TV and modern shower room (the shower was big enough for two). I did find a lack of space to put things down on in the shower room - only one small glass shelf over the basin - and, though the room was big enough and the modern furniture had plenty of drawers, there was again a lack of surfaces to put things down on in the bedroom - a fold-up stand for luggage would have been helpful. (Visitors who only stay for a night or two are more likely to want to put things down than put things away.)

The food was surprisingly good - surprising bcause the barn-like pub/restaurant where all food had to be ordered at the bar did not fill me with hope. As from the bedroom, the views were outstanding (if you could get a table near one of the windows). Parking within the hotel car park was a tight manoeuvre and the barrier a pain to operate (£5 extra per night) - but with parking being at a premium in and around Newquay (they know how to charge) it is virtually essential if you come by car.

I'm not sure how much of a bargain my room was - it was £89 a night without breakfast and it was booked through a discount agency - but it was at the height of the season. (This is the sort of price I would expect to pay at a budget hotel in London.)

Room Tip: Go for the superior or premium rooms - they are refurbished with a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas9Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews