We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel for great price”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

we stayed in Great Western Newquay for one night. Its a huge hotel by right by the beach, so coming from London it was amazing to see the seaside.

We were extremely lucky with the room we got given, half of the hotel has been renovated and half is still not done (we had two rooms one was beautiful and other was a little tatty and smelly). My first tip would be to make sure they give you the renovated one, you should also ask for seaview. If you love the sound of sea - its perfect! If you manage to make sure these two things the hotel is real value for money.

its in the heart of Newquay with all the beaches, restaurants, clubs, shops in walking distance. We were on a road trip and stopped off for one night. it was perfect for it.

Nice Diner across the road to have breakkie. We also checked out the nightlife started with drinks at CHE which was perfect for drinks cheesy music and cheap drinks. Later (after 12) we went to the Sailors night club (club not the bar!!!!) which ended up being quite fun as well.

If you're a beginner surfer, check out the Fistral Beach Surf.

Newquay was good fun and recommended!!

have fun :)

Room Tip: ask for renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    287
    115
    46
    42
See reviews for
130
452
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Looked for two rooms in a hotel (not B & Bs) in Newquay at very late notice for 3 nights in late August, and unlike most, this hotel had availability at a comparitively good price of £70 per room per night, but just room only. Perhaps the availability should have been a clue, as the hotel has a really tired and dated feel about it. It is in a great location both for the town and for the beach, and its restaurant is actually really quite good, especially for families, and it serves its breakfast menu until midday, which is good if you've got teenagers in tow. Rooms don't have any air con, bathroom was not in great order. One of our rooms - room 202 - had the kitchen extractor piping running up the outside wall against our room. Result was that until about 11pm at night and from 7 am in the morning it felt like you were on a cross channel ferry next to the engine room. Mentioned this on arrival and told no alternate rooms available. Mentioned it on check out and left not feeling confident it would be passed on, although hotel staff were always polite and helpful at all times. We decided to stay a 4th night, knowing there wasn't availability in the Great Western, and found rooms at the Pentire Hotel for £80 with breakfast. Was much better value. So if central location and low cost is important and you need to find something last minute then this is ok, but if you have time to look around and book in advance then there are likely to be better rooms in this hotel or better hotels elsewhere.

Just a quick p.s. on parking - we had two cars and were able to park both on the street for no cost for the three days in Edgcumbe Gardens, and is a really short walk, so if you aren't doing trips for a day you can save yourself a fiver. The hotel don't make it clear that the barrier to the very limited parking at the front of the hotel opens automatically if you approach it with your car so that you can load/unload.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonprHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Friendly welcoming staff on arrival. We stayed in a standard room which was exactly how it is described on the hotel website. The room was large and clean and perfect for our needs, it was a little noisy in the morning and evening due to plumbing and being right above the bar area with a loud television showing the Olympics throughout the day but from about 11.30pm -8am it was extremely quiet. The hotel bar / food area was definitely a family orientated place but it also had some quieter corners for adults too and amazing views of the coast. The hotel is in a very good position, close to a variety of eating places and a short walk to the centre of Newquay which was brilliant. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it was a little expensive but found some cheaper places within a short walk of the hotel which catered well for awkward vegetarians such as myself. We reserved parking in advance and expected safe secure parking but we were allocated a space in the overflow car park 2 minutes walk up the road, this was a gravelled area to the side of some buildings which was adequate but my partner would have preferred a more secure space and checked on his car quite regularly but to be fair it was fine. Overall I would stay here again and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlyfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Well. It seems we stayed in one of the nicest hotels...in the whole of Newquay. We went to see some family and having never been to Newquay was looking forward to seeing the place. Having made an early conclusion that the place is awful....it was nice to return to a clean and refurbished superior a view suite. The room was huge and a very comfortable bed. Plenty of storage and tea facilities. Bathroom was pleasant - but expected a slightly nicer bathroom to match the room. The room it's self was soooo warm....it could do with air con or at least a fan....massive thank you to the relation staff. They were lovely. Breakfast was ok but expensive and steam bar limited to what stock they had.

Wot e turning to Newquay but lovely hotel x

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a premium room which wasn't too expensive considering the location of the hotel. Our room had a good sea view and was very clean and the bed was big and comfy. The staff was very helpful and polite. Only bad point was the room was hot at night so I opened the window at night and was woken up nice and early by the sea gulls. The gulls wasn't the hotels fault but the bed didnt need a thick duvet in August. Another gripe would be the door between our room and the room next door was letting a little sound through when the couple next door was having an argument. Overall our stay wasn't too bad and I loved the location of this hotel. My tip to others would be reserve a parking space.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room with a sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We booked two adjoining premium rooms with sea views for 3 nights, but when we arrived we were told that it was not possible to have two adjoining rooms. But, we were offered an upgrade to superior rooms with sea views and although they were a couple of rooms apart, they were perfect.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a superior room as they are massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agachi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Early July, booked 3 nights stay in person. Reception manager took me to look at 3 different rooms and all were beautifully clean. However, because of a serious illness by relative living in Newquay, had to cancel at last minute . Reception staff were amazingly kind and compassionate and nothing was too much trouble for them. Should I have the opportunity to stay in Newquay in the not too distant future, would definitely choose The Great Western Hotel. Belated thanks to the guy on Reception and supporting staff!

Room Tip: Sadly, was unable to spend even one evening at this lovely Hotel, however, customer service along wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing