We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Western Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveller rating
396
323
134
54
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
323
134
54
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsteam barsea viewoverflow car parkparking spacecornish breakfastfantastic viewsper daywater pressurebooked this hotelgreat roomstayed for nightsfish and chipsthe cliffcomfy bedtolcarne beachshort break
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 955 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights which was enough. The rooms are very small - lucky we only had a small suitcase as there was no where to put it. No room to move around the bed - it felt very cramped. Standard of cleanliness was very good but furniture in rooms and the decor of rooms and landings very dated. The reception bar and restaurant was nicely decorated - with friendly staff. Breakfast was good and drinks reasonably priced. Nice views over-looking beach. The hotel charge you for parking at £5.00 a night, there is a small amount of parking in front of the hotel which you can pre-book otherwise you have a park in their car park just a short walk up the road.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

just back from a 3 day break at the Great Western ,stayed in a standard room it was clean and comfortable but a tad small, there was a a smell wafting around the hotel we did ask about it and was told there was trouble with the sewers, good views from the hotel terrace of the beach and staff were nice and friendly.

Room Tip: the hotel car park is small you need to book it which is 5pound a day
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed just one night at this hotel, the staff were very friendly. My room was a premium room at a cost of £89.00 without breakfast. The views were fantastic I could watch the surfing, I could only open one window though a couple of inches I guess its for safety reasons as its on a cliff.
I ate in the bar in the evening the meal was OK terrible chips though, tasted of nothing. I did not have breakfast as I had to leave very early morning.

I was not very impressed with Newquay, I lived there in the late 1970's which was great but now the town centre has become very run down and tacky..........

Room Tip: Room 219 small double but fantastic views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We were on a coach trip, so didn't stay here, but last year and this we ate lunch here 4 days of the 7. Beautiful garden overlooking all the beaches, harbour and headland.
Food first class and the staff so friendly and helpful. Lots of tables inside with good views if the weather is inclement. Clean and well cared for and lovely clean toilets as well.
Thank you for helping to make our holiday special yet again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

we stayed in Great Western Newquay for one night. Its a huge hotel by right by the beach, so coming from London it was amazing to see the seaside.

We were extremely lucky with the room we got given, half of the hotel has been renovated and half is still not done (we had two rooms one was beautiful and other was a little tatty and smelly). My first tip would be to make sure they give you the renovated one, you should also ask for seaview. If you love the sound of sea - its perfect! If you manage to make sure these two things the hotel is real value for money.

its in the heart of Newquay with all the beaches, restaurants, clubs, shops in walking distance. We were on a road trip and stopped off for one night. it was perfect for it.

Nice Diner across the road to have breakkie. We also checked out the nightlife started with drinks at CHE which was perfect for drinks cheesy music and cheap drinks. Later (after 12) we went to the Sailors night club (club not the bar!!!!) which ended up being quite fun as well.

If you're a beginner surfer, check out the Fistral Beach Surf.

Newquay was good fun and recommended!!

have fun :)

Room Tip: ask for renovated rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews