We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay in newquay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best place to stay in newquay”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

we stayed here wednesday for the second time we didnt book just turned up had a fab room with sea view,the staff are very helpful nd friendly and will do anything to help with anything very clean even tho it was being updated will be staying here the next time we go aswell and will recommend to friends

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjclaire72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    287
    115
    46
    42
See reviews for
130
452
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My daughter had her Engagement here, a couple of years ago, the rooms were very clean, but a little dated, 3 Years on, I have stayed here many times, and the rooms are out of this world, its like a 5 star!!!!!! The staff are friendly, reception, cant do enough for you!!!! A must stay, for anyone, visiting Newquay!!!

Room Tip: Any sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Nice greeting from receptionist. Booked the budget room a few hours before arrival and can't complain. Ok the room probably reflected the price however, was clean and comfortable and very close to amenities and rail station.
The hotel bar I found to be over priced. Lovely views over the bay.
For the price of accommodation I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mw238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Great Western for 2 nights early Feb 2013. We paid £70 for the two nights (room only) and I have to say it was brilliant value for money! The hotel is currently undergoing a massive refurbishment, and we were in the part of the hotel that hadn't yet been updated. There were builders on site, but they didn't once disturb us. The noise was kept to a minimum, and any cables that were running through the corridors were very well hidden/covered up. Even though we had an older room, it was more than adequate. Yes, the furnishings were dated...but the room was absolutely SPOTLESS - not a speck of dust to be found! The bed was super comfy too! We ate dinner and breakfast here on both nights and the food was lovely! The menu had a fairly limited choice, and was a reasonable price. Service was second to none and we didn't have to wait long for our food to be served. The staff couldn't do enough for us, and when we enquired about where the nearest bank was; the bar manager came over to our table 5 minutes later with a map of Newquay and he's even circled where we needed to go! Definitely worth a stay here!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Hotel basic but value for money.Food is of the same ilk ordinary but reasonable priced.Staff very friendly and helpful.Lovely location right next to its own beach convenient to other beaches cliff walks and main town.
To be recomended for a reasonable priced family holiday.Single and twin beds very small not for the larger figure !

Room Tip: Sea view great to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epocmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We visit here whenever in Newquay with our pooch who is also welcome! The food is good n specials are lovely especially the Thai fish soup! Great atmosphere n always a pleasure! If its summer n good weather the views from the gorgeous garden are second to none n you can sit back n take it all in but if not you are welcomed inside by the great staff! Highly recommend x

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed there for the weekend to celebrate a special birthday with family. Excellent service, staff couldn't have done more to make the party a success. We stayed in one of the upgraded rooms which was really comfortable with fantastic sea-views. A special thank you to Michelle who organised everything and was so helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Invest in one of the upgraded rooms ~it really is worth it and the sea-views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing