We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed early september for two nights and the views were fantastic over the bays. The room was really nice and spacious and very clean and modern and the staff freindly. My wife and I would definately stay here again if visiting newquay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    287
    115
    46
    42
See reviews for
130
453
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at the Great Western for the third time last week.
As usual, both the hotel and our room were lovely and clean with breath-taking views.
Staff were very friendly, welcoming and obliging.
We had a small problem but Bex at reception sorted it for us very efficiently and professionally.
We had full English breakfasts and they were beautifully cooked every time. We also had two evening meals - the Steak n Ale pie (scrumptious) and the Seafood Celebration was delicious and beautifully presented!
The Great Western is our favourite hotel in Newquay - we'll definitely be returning again next year!

Room Tip: Get a seaview room if poss!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked parking, and when we arrived, our name was already on the space. When we checked in, we were informed that we had been upgraded to a premium room as the hotel was not busy.
The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food was reasonable and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 966traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a two night stay here. Room was spacious and had a sort of sea view . We stayed in room 215 the bed was huge and very comfortable must say all of the hotel was very clean . we were given complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room which was a nice touch . We had a family room and both my children said their beds were very comfortable.All staff were very friendly and polite . I would however recommend you book a parking space( £5 per night) when you book your reservation at this hotel as parking is limited ,its not a big issue as there is parking across the road which will cost you £10.00 for 24 hours . My parents stayed in another room in this hotel and were equally as pleased with cleanliness . It is also in a good location just a short walk andyou are in Newquay town centre .

Room Tip: there are plenty of rooms with a sea view with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay here and had a lovely time. We stayed in a standard plus room which was clean and had a really nice bathroom. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and mornings, the food was great and good value for money and the staff were really friendly. The location was perfect with beautiful views and only a short walk into the town. Would definately stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenwilkes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Sadly we weren't staying here, we just ate in the restaurant but that was so good I felt I had to put a review. The staff were very friendly, with great customer service. The food was very high quality, and plentiful too. The views if you are lucky enough to get a window seat is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topcat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Friendly welcome on arrival, suitable parking and perfect location near local shops, restaurants and beach. We stayed in a sea view room which was beautiful, overlooking the very peaceful hotel garden and beach. The room itself was very spacious and clean, with a comfortable bed and clean modern bathroom. No complaints at all. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to everyone, great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleCherry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing