We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been more impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I live on the Isles of Scilly and due to personal reasons we had to come across for a hospital appointment on the 27th of January. We arrived at the hotel after hiring a car at around 6 oclock. Unfortunately and quite disturbingly my wife doubled up in pain on arrival and so I had to get an ambulance for her. The staff on reception were fantastic and made sure we were both looked after properly. I returned to the hotel much later after a long night in hospital to find out that we had been given a free upgrade on our room to aid our comfort. On top of this upon checking out of the hotel to go back to the hospital the next day, I was kindly given a voucher for a free nights stay in the hotel at a later date so that myself and my wife could enjoy the hotel properly with no troubles. The service and staff, especially Lucy on reception and the kind night porter who kept me sane whilst I was worrying, were better than I could have ever hoped for. I have stayed in lots of hotels in the past and I can honestly say that I have never been treated with such kindness and care. The good news is my wife is now home and on the mend and this is partly due to the professionalism we witnessed in the hotel. I thank you from the bottom of my heart and I look forward to coming over again so that we can buy you a drink to say thankyou in person.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have stayed in the Great Western several times when visiting poorly relatives, we find the staff are very accommodating and friendly, the premier rooms are a good size, with good views and well equiped with tea/coffee & biscuits and a hairdryer in the bathroom. There are spare pillows in the wardrobe. Even when the hotel has had events/weddings it has not been noisy, the breakfast in the mornings is cooked fresh and competitively priced, We have also previously had breakfast at Weatherspoons but felt the breakfast at the Great Western was far better. The bar staff in the evening are very friendly and helpful. Checking out was efficient. We are due to stay there again soon which will no doubt also be just as good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed for one night 25th January . Stayed in room 112 lovely room , big comfy bed ,with a great view of the sea. Had an evening meal in the restaurant great service food was lovely as was the breakfast the next day. Will defiantly stay here again .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Good location for pubs and restaurants beach at end of hotels garden. Great staff parking good. Value for money. Would go again. Very good food and drinks.
Great shops happy staff. Love newquay going back in March this year

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel to attend the funeral of a close friend, whose wake was also held there. The visit also included dinner for 20+ people the evenings before and after the funeral. Everything was very well organised and professional, and without exception the staff were helpful in the extreme, nothing was too much trouble for them.
The room was comfortable and well appointed, we had a superior with a sea view.
Car parking is limited but can be prebooked, you then have a designated space with your name on it, a system which works well.

Room Tip: A sea view room is worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days in Jan for the wife's birthday and the room was more than adequate. Large room sofa TV (bit small) nice features no view aaa right above reception and face a wall etc.
Sunday morning just after 8 there was some idiot hammering and drilling right below us, with no consideration for guest.
would I stay here again, yes, probably as it was value for money.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank sean_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have lived in Newquay for 25 years but have never before visited the Great Western. My visit yesterday was, unfortunately for a funeral 'wake'.
The hotel isn't very impressive from the outside but once inside it is excellent. Very spacious. A well stocked bar and the buffet was one of the best I have ever enjoyed. Friendly and efficient staff.
Excellent views over the coastline from the back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £39 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing