We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok….” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“ok….”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have just returned from the Newquay the hotel was ok for what I paid, though the rooms are a little dated, and the bathroom suit was like something for life on mars, and the floor boards creaked

The staff in the hotel were pleasant and polite, however the staff in the bar/restaurant need some training in customer service, when we arrived for breakfast there was no one to seat us and we had to ask to see a menu after a ten min wait, the breakfast menu is limited and consisted of three options of a fry up’s.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cletus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    278
    110
    45
    40
See reviews for
122
427
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Made to feel very welcome when we arrived and staff in the rest of the hotel were very friendly. Bedroom was clean and nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Excellent location, just a short walk to the town.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_021956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

What a lovely little hotel in Newquay. Location was great - close to shops and the beach, rooms were clean and modern and I had a very comfortable sleep.

The great western is just missing that extra something to make it amazing however I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We've stayed in The Great Western for quite a few years now and every time we have been looked after by very helpful staff that are always smartly presented and cheerful. The rooms are well looked after and are clean and comfortable (well impressed with the power shower) our room overlooked the sea and to sit looking out the window in the morning watching the waves crash is fantastic. It doesn't look very big from the outside but once you've sampled some of their drinks down in the bar/restaurant it's quite easy to loose your way to room but the staff are always on hand to help. The food is very good and the breakfast is enough to last you till tea time. There is a good choice of food and drink available. Parking is either outside the front of hotel or 50yards down road at a small charge so no need to use your car when staying. Will definitely go back again soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kabbychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The food was excellent as was the service. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and the position of the hotel is wonderful!

It is a bit dated - room 223 was very basic. The en-suite needs redecorating - black grout between some tiling and 'odd' tiles used to replace broken ones. The towel rail was away from the wall at one end - generally it looked very tired. However, it was clean & the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike191282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh Town, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I live on the Isles of Scilly and due to personal reasons we had to come across for a hospital appointment on the 27th of January. We arrived at the hotel after hiring a car at around 6 oclock. Unfortunately and quite disturbingly my wife doubled up in pain on arrival and so I had to get an ambulance for her. The staff on reception were fantastic and made sure we were both looked after properly. I returned to the hotel much later after a long night in hospital to find out that we had been given a free upgrade on our room to aid our comfort. On top of this upon checking out of the hotel to go back to the hospital the next day, I was kindly given a voucher for a free nights stay in the hotel at a later date so that myself and my wife could enjoy the hotel properly with no troubles. The service and staff, especially Lucy on reception and the kind night porter who kept me sane whilst I was worrying, were better than I could have ever hoped for. I have stayed in lots of hotels in the past and I can honestly say that I have never been treated with such kindness and care. The good news is my wife is now home and on the mend and this is partly due to the professionalism we witnessed in the hotel. I thank you from the bottom of my heart and I look forward to coming over again so that we can buy you a drink to say thankyou in person.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have stayed in the Great Western several times when visiting poorly relatives, we find the staff are very accommodating and friendly, the premier rooms are a good size, with good views and well equiped with tea/coffee & biscuits and a hairdryer in the bathroom. There are spare pillows in the wardrobe. Even when the hotel has had events/weddings it has not been noisy, the breakfast in the mornings is cooked fresh and competitively priced, We have also previously had breakfast at Weatherspoons but felt the breakfast at the Great Western was far better. The bar staff in the evening are very friendly and helpful. Checking out was efficient. We are due to stay there again soon which will no doubt also be just as good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing