We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had an overnight stay here over valentines wkend and it was very pleasant. Close to all amenities with a gorgeous view of the beach. Room was decent size, we had a double room with en suite and paid £40. Bathroom was small but had everything we needed. Room was clean and tidy and despite being at the front of the hotel and next to the main road it was quiet enough. Would definitely stay here again. Fr the price we paid you cant expect the hilton but this hotel was very reasonable. Bar and restaurant downstairs were also reasonably priced. Only downside was that you had to pay £5 to park on the hotel carpark which i feel should have been included in with the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank key1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times,as just needing a bed for a couple of nights while visiting relatives. Ten weeks after checking out my husband realised he had not got his body warmer.one phone call and yes they still had it and we're happy to post it on. We were amazed it was sent first class within the week.How good is that. AMAZING thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43pedley1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 night break here, in-between Christmas and New Year. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had booked a room with a sea view and this was certainly what we got, the view was gorgeous! The room was lovely and bathroom spotless. It was up the top of the hotel but this wasn’t a problem to us and it was very quiet. We had a drink in the bar on one of the evenings, but did not eat in their restaurant or try the breakfast. All in all, a lovely break away to recharge the batteries!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We've just returned from our second stay at the hotel, and we were not disappointed, in fact we booked an extra night as we didn't want to leave! Clean, tidy room with beautiful sea views, lovely food, friendly, helpful staff and fantastic restaurant. I can not wait to go back, maybe even for our honeymoon in July! I love this place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Expensive for what you get. Dimmer lights didn't work. Have to pay extra for everything when rooms already too expensive. Decorating in progress and no warning of this on booking. Outdated furnishings. Meals and drinks expensive, spent majority of time out of the hotel for meals. Won't be staying there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Always find the staff really nice, delicious full Cornish breakfast, comfortable rooms and good choice of menu for dinner. Like the beers they serve as well!! Some rooms have a great view of the sea and Fistral beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have just returned from the Newquay the hotel was ok for what I paid, though the rooms are a little dated, and the bathroom suit was like something for life on mars, and the floor boards creaked

The staff in the hotel were pleasant and polite, however the staff in the bar/restaurant need some training in customer service, when we arrived for breakfast there was no one to seat us and we had to ask to see a menu after a ten min wait, the breakfast menu is limited and consisted of three options of a fry up’s.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cletus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £38 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing