We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed her for a weekend in January,stayed in the superior room.The views were amazing,the room was small bit had everything we needed. The bed was the most comfiest i have EVER slept in,the pillows and duvet were so soft. The hotel its self was lovely,friendly staff with excellent food,also the indian next door is to die for. Fab weekend away with the partner and glad we choose to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I would choose a superior room,for the views and comfort of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ceri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

So I thought we would drop in here for some beer n food. I ordered a Mexican burger but asked for it to be doubled up. OK so £12.95 is premium so u would expect Aberdeen Xmas n more. Well on my order near miracles were achieved, I received 2 succulent burgers mediumly cooked in a nice bun with a topping of spicy chilli con carne n jalepeno relish. This was accompanied by chips which were brown, chunky and at an OK standard and leaf side salad. I can say very impressed but don't expect any reasonable ale prices.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kazywaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Knowing that the hotel was being refurbished & the room we booked was only £60, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was tastefully furnished in New Hampshire seaside style. The shower was great and bathroom extremely clean. What we really loved that despite being "up in the Gods" as aptly put by one of the helpful staff, we could open the windows fully & be rocked off to sleep with the sound of the sea. The meal that evening was good followed by a delicious Cornish breakfast. We even enjoyed getting lost making our way back to the room. Can't wait to come back when it's fully refurbished.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great location but awful hotel. Room was tiny, illuminated all night long by very very bright spotlights shining through the curtains. Walls paper thin and could hear people next door. Heated towel rail located too close to toilet and burnt legs! Would not recommend.

Room Tip: DO not choose one of the tiny rooms at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wife and i had evening meal and breakfast. Lovely location. Staff generally helpful and attentive. Wife is coeliac and very much enjoyed fish meal. Manager respectful and professional when raising an issue concerning the attitude of a particular member of staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Good hotel, lovely view from room (room 226). Room cleaned, staff were excellent in the evening but a bit missing in the morning. Food was very good in the evening, good location but remember to book a parking space before you go as these are limited but worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and twins stayed for three nights from the 4th April to 6th April 2014 and I cannot fault the hotel at all for the money we paid for a large family room with sea view. On average the cost of food in the hotel was on a par with anywhere else we ate bar the Weatherspoons where the food was nowhere near the quality of the Great Western. The bar/restuarant had great sea views and has been updated to a high standard. I got a reserved parking space literally outside the revolving door too.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends/family and will stay here on my next visit to Newquay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 118 which has a sea view which was a little obscured from the roof of the restuara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £34 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing