We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently with my boyfriend as just a night away and I was really impressed. I came here back in February for a meeting and really liked the place so I booked it for my birthday. The women at reception on the evening we checked in and the morning we checked out were so friendly and informative. We stayed in room 227 and it was amazing, the views the layout of the room was fantastic. I could hear people in the morning but it's understandable because we knew we were staying above a bar. But I have nothing bad to say about this place and have recommended it to everyone and will definitely stay again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank samantha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

On our recent trip to Cornwall we were looking for a place to stay that was central to our desire to explore this coast from Land's End to Tintangel. The Great Western Hotel in Newquay was just what we were looking for. Newquay itself is not a cute or quaint town but it's coastline is amazing. The hotel is an older building that has been modernized. Our room had a great floor to ceiling window that overlooked the ocean..spectacular. It was modern, very clean , very bright, and very comfortable. And as usual for us , our room was as far from reception as possible but getting there was part of the fun and charm of this place. The lounge/bar/restaurant was spacious and bright. The people working there were great...helpful and always a smile. If we ever get back to this area of the world we'll stay at Great Western hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with a view of the sea and coast and also prebook a parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robertBOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

It was a very nice stay. Hotel looks a bit old fashioned however it's not a problem. Rooms very spacious with an amazing view for a the beach. Very family friendly. Comfy beds, nice bathroom. Very close to everywhere, 3 mins to the beach. Restaurant was ok, however the breakfast is a bit boring, everyday the same Cornish breakfast... Overall very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kajutek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed her for a weekend in January,stayed in the superior room.The views were amazing,the room was small bit had everything we needed. The bed was the most comfiest i have EVER slept in,the pillows and duvet were so soft. The hotel its self was lovely,friendly staff with excellent food,also the indian next door is to die for. Fab weekend away with the partner and glad we choose to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I would choose a superior room,for the views and comfort of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ceri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

So I thought we would drop in here for some beer n food. I ordered a Mexican burger but asked for it to be doubled up. OK so £12.95 is premium so u would expect Aberdeen Xmas n more. Well on my order near miracles were achieved, I received 2 succulent burgers mediumly cooked in a nice bun with a topping of spicy chilli con carne n jalepeno relish. This was accompanied by chips which were brown, chunky and at an OK standard and leaf side salad. I can say very impressed but don't expect any reasonable ale prices.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kazywaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Knowing that the hotel was being refurbished & the room we booked was only £60, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was tastefully furnished in New Hampshire seaside style. The shower was great and bathroom extremely clean. What we really loved that despite being "up in the Gods" as aptly put by one of the helpful staff, we could open the windows fully & be rocked off to sleep with the sound of the sea. The meal that evening was good followed by a delicious Cornish breakfast. We even enjoyed getting lost making our way back to the room. Can't wait to come back when it's fully refurbished.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great location but awful hotel. Room was tiny, illuminated all night long by very very bright spotlights shining through the curtains. Walls paper thin and could hear people next door. Heated towel rail located too close to toilet and burnt legs! Would not recommend.

Room Tip: DO not choose one of the tiny rooms at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £34 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing