We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Western Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$88
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$432
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$210
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carnmarth Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$253
US$227
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
394
322
133
54
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
322
133
54
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsteam barsea viewoverflow car parkparking spacecornish breakfastfantastic viewsper daywater pressurebooked this hotelgreat roomstayed for nightsfish and chipsthe cliffcomfy bedtolcarne beachshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Just returned from a break here and really loved this hotel, it has recently been refurbished and the bar and terrace areas are lovely ( we used to go in for a drink when we were in newquay before it was refurbished) the room we had was a premium double no 220, the views were outstanding, it was spotlessly clean with a superb bathroom, the breakfast was very good with quality ingredients used and cooked to perfection, I can't understand any of the negative reviews on this website as we would definately stay here again, the only thing we could say would improve our stay would be a harder matress as it was just too soft for us, also room was very hot, but we just left the window open and could here the sound of the sea which was great! Give it a try, staff are pleasant, it's good value for money!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EnglandMiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We were attracted by the hotel’s website which is one of the best we have seen showing a modern and nicely decorated environment. During our arrival we realised that none of what we had seen and imagined applied to this hotel. We booked 2 standard rooms which were VERY dirty. The bathroom was never cleaned (with hair in the bath tub and unflashed toilet) and the sheets were dirty from the previous residents (blood, make-up and hair). In addition to that, a strange smell of urine coming from the carpet was extremely disgusting. Employees at the reception were rude and unwilling to help when we asked for another room. They were very ironic and when we asked to be given new sheets they took us into a very dirty storage room with vacuum cleaners and dirty towels, where used sheets were piled. The next day another employee (the only one helpful) took us to the storage room where the clean sheets were kept, proving that his colleague gave us used sheets. In order to use the bathroom we had to buy bleach and clean is ourselves….The living condition in this VERY old and not refurbished hotel (at least in standard rooms) is very bad! Don’t spend your money there!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ntaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernow28, Central Reservations at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2008

All at the Great Western Hotel are sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay at our Hotel, but would like to clarify a few points raised.
The Hotels website has pictures of both the recently refurbished rooms as well as the standard rooms, which are awaiting refurbishment. It is also pointed out on the website that some of the standard rooms are awaiting refurbishment and that the images on the site may not reflect all of the bedrooms. This is reflected in the prices charged for these rooms.
With regards to the issue of cleanliness, we take great pride in our housekeeping and we are horrified that our usual standards have not been met in this case. We will of course investigate this and take the appropriate action where necessary.
The Hotel would like to appologise for the smell of cigarette smoke. We operate a zero tolerance policy in line with 2007s legislation and any guests caught smoking are reported to the authorities. Designated smoking areas are available outside for guests to use.

The Great Western Hotel has recently undergone a recent 1.1m refurbishment of the bar, dining area and public areas, along with some bedrooms. The remainder of the hotel will be refurbished on an ongoing basis, and we are confident that the majority of our guests enjoy their stay with us in comfortable surroundings.

We would be happy to discuss this reviewer's comments in person and would encourage them to contact us via our Head Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We booked for one night at this hotel.
Although the hotel had vacancies we were given the worst room in hotel. At the back overlooking filthy pipes and blood all over the valance on the bed. Asked to be moved and got a room overlooking the sea but still very grubby. This room had been given the most basic of cleans and it showed. Bathroom was very well used, tiles in shower stained-yuk! Didn't want to use the loo.
It's a shame because the hotel is in a wonderful position overlooking three lovely bays.
Hotel is non-smoking but the smell of cigarette smoke in our room was overpowering. Also strange smell of urine.
I know we had a 'standard room' but you expect a decent level of cleanliness - we paid a fair amount.
Breakfast was OK and freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

I found the experience realy good especially all the staff, they could not do enough always there to help if needed. The view form our room was good and the hotel was very clean, food realy nice maybe could have added a few more things to menu, but loved the muscles! Thankyou for making our first stay in Newquay so enjoyable and thankyou to all the staff who work so hard.
Hope to see you again, Gail and Tony, Sheffield

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailSouthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

I couldn't recommend staying at this hotel due to the carbon monoxide leak which occurred during our stay, resulting in the evacuation of all guests.

Having been out on the 2nd evening of our stay we returned to the hotel at 1am to be greeted by the Police, Fire and Resue Service, Paramedics and hotel and brewery staff (the hotel is brewery-owned). We were informed of the leak and that a fatality had occurred, and were taken by taxi to another hotel. Needless to say, we were unable to enter the Great Western to collect any items from our room, and as such felt fairly uncomfortable the following morning. Obviously this was nothing compared with the fact that one man had died and other guests had been taken to hospital suffering effects of CO poisoning.

The brewery/hotel staff were efficient in organising alternative accommodation.

The hotel itself had recently been refurbished, although our room was basic and dated. Breakfast was ok but overpriced at £7.50 per head. The clifftop location is great but the surrounding area is grotty and run down. Parking is a problem - there are only around 10 spaces - although I was informed they are looking to rectify this. The staff were friendly and efficient and had we not been in danger of CO poisoning would have recommended the hotel.
As for Newquay itself, it's great for surfing and nightlife (stag and hen parties in abundance), but the whole place has a fairly grubby and neglected feel to it. Prefer St Ives myself.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
1  Thank shmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews