We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on business, room 240 had the best view I've seen in a long time.
Nice location, good value.
Shower was a bit weak as was the general water pressure in the bathroom.
All the staff we're extremely helpful.
Slight pain when I ordered just toast for breakfast, took 40 minutes as they do it in order.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a sea-view room which has great views, room was ok, very clean, bathroom a bit small, door just missed sink when you opened it. Parts of main building need painting/smartening up. Staff were very nice and were always helpful. Never ate at the hotel so cannot comment about the food, however didn't think the menu had enough variation. As Weatherspoons was literally 5mins away, that was the breakfast and occasional evening meal venue. Great Indian restaurant next door which I would highly recommend. Great Greek restaurant near Weatherspoons as well which is highly recommended.
The biggest issue was the shower, apparently the room was in an old part of the building where the water pressure was virtually non-existant. Reported it but apparently they couldn't do anything about it.
Would go there again but will make sure I get a room in the newest part of building just so I could have a decent shower.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BerkshireLady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for Friday/Saturday 2 nights, room 112. Superior room with sea view - amazing! No complaints, lovely hotel. would stay again. Didn't opt for breakfast, weatherspoons is less than 5 minutes walk down the road.

Room Tip: sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Ignore all the bad reviews
This place is fantastic, booked 4 nights
Breakfast Is really good for £8.50, includes unlimited coffee /tea cereal and juice
It is noisy what do you expect from a very busy town.
Room we chose was standard double it was more like a supreme room, spacious and comfortable.
Easy walk into the heart of the town.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark19991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a premium room and it was clean, welcoming and had great room service; however, it was so small we barely had room for our luggage. We kept stubbing our toes on things! But overall very good and nice, caring service. Restaurant/bar had great food and drink too.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank katiep910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Pro's:
Excellent friendly staff.
Easy and efficient check in/out
Superior room very fresh and comfortable
Amazing views from superior rooms (not the other rooms)
Nice seating area at the back with sea views.

Cons:
Hotel very dated, creaky floors and thin walls!
Bland boring food - ate out after the first meal.
On a very busy casino filled street (would reccommend street view), this may be fine for others but a con for us.
Parking - have to pay £5 a day and is very limited however there is further parking down the street and staff were helpful when someone else parked in our reserved space.

For us personally we found we were driving a long way to go to the seaside peaceful retreats we expected, not the hotels fault, but this area doesn't suit a quiet weekend away.

Room Tip: Wouldn't reccommend anything but the superior rooms, worth the little extra cost, massively fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsLiqbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The staff at the Great Western bar / restaurant are always lovely, but I don't know what's happened to the food. It's over-priced and bland. The menu has changed in recent months and is now very poor value for money. The terrace has great sea views, so nice to stop for a drink, but sadly can't recommend the food.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Salkim57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £35 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing