We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This stay was such a pleasant surprise -drove down from Southampton at the beginning of July with my partner to stay for 4 nights at the Great Western. This was my first time in Cornwall and what a fantastic surprise it was -staff were absolutley brilliant and made us feel at ease all the time - they were nothing but apologetic when the hotel bar got busy (we were there during Carnival Week) even though it didnt bother us. The room was gorgeous with fabulous views, and was kept absolutley pristine everyday by housekeeping. Car parking isnt on site due to the nature of the hotel but parking spaces can be provided just round the corner for a £5 a night fee. Definatley would 100% come back :) Thank you for a lovely experience

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    294
    118
    47
    43
See reviews for
133
467
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We paid for a premium room, and glad we did as we got a sea view. The room was adequate, clean and tidy. Pre-paid breakfast really limits your choice though, and there is no fruit or yoghurt. You may as well wait. Allow plenty of time for breakfast as it takes a while. The coffee at the hotel is dreadful! The staff are fine, and the room is serviced daily. I agree with another reviewer that there is a smell on the second floor corridor. Paying for parking is a must at this time of year as it is very busy. The Greek restaurant up the road is great! Overall ok, but a tad expensive, reflecting the time of year in this popular place. Make the trip to watergate bay for your beach days!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDN234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were made very welcome on arrival, we had been upgraded to a lovely sea view room and the room was very light and airy so was the bathroom with a very good shower and lighting. The food in the Steam restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The outside area was good for a drink or eating.
We were staying at the hotel to attend a wedding, but we it was a good location to walk into the centre of Newquay, with lots of cafes and shops.
We paid for car parking within the hotel grounds which was a bonus as I think parking would have been a problem in the area, so the £5 per day was well worth it. I would definately stay again and have no problem recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: Would recommend you book a premium room, as all the rooms have not been re-furbished. Also pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in the property for 3 nights. The view from the hotel is very good and centrally located. The restaurant and bar of the hotel is good and well decor. Staffs are pleasant, polite and helpful. The base category room doesn't have sea view and quite small in size. But the hotel especially base category rooms in renovation. Otherwise it is a good hotel to stay and explore Cornwall area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krits84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

just came back from this lovely hotel the sea view rooms are a MUST beautiful decor clean and crisp only one quip would have loved a bath but it only had a shower staff helpful and polite hotel location superb breakfast out on the patio a dream could not wish for more a little bit more sun wouldn't have gone a miss ha

Room Tip: sea view is essensial
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kags507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

visited this hotel many times rooms are clean and comfortable , there is a bar that serves very good food in the hotel ,staff are always very pleasant and helpful . the hotel is
located above the great western beach with fantastic sea views from the rooms , not all rooms have sea views. Excellent sea views from the very large bar and restaurant.and outside seating with tables overlooking the great western and tolcarne beach. The shops and bars , clubs etc. are a couple of minuets walk and 3 large sandy fantastic beaches to visit . also the fistral beach on the other side of the town , 15 mins walk with its excellent sandy beach and walks ,cafe and bar its popular with people of all age groups and surfers.. premium and superior rooms are better rooms although we have stayed in other rooms and they are very good as well. If we can we try to stay in room 112 or 222 both have excellent sea views . the hotel also has a lift to both floors of the building this for us is the ideal break and newquay is quite simply fantastic. we love this town so much that we are looking to move there permenantly

Room Tip: superior room 112 costs more but well worth it . excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Great Western for 5 nights in August. I chose the hotel due to the cliff top location and paid slightly more for a sea view room.
The room was clean, bright, spacious and had great views of the Newquay coast.
The hotel is a short walk from the town centre and there are plenty of beaches within a short walk or drive.
Although the bar is quite pricey, it was nice to have a nightcap in our hotel. We didn't eat breakfast there due to the price - there are much cheaper eateries just up the road.
The only down sides were the garden, which we overlooked, could be quite noisy. Also the water pressure is very bad, and the walls are quite thin.
Overall though, I would say this hotel is value for money and a great location if you want to explore Newquay and Cornwall. Would recommend paying extra for a sea view and paying the £5 per day for the onsite parking.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cma693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing