We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£90
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Victoria H
Crawley, United Kingdom
Would definitely recommend
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jul 2021
Great location in Newquay - overlooking the beach and easy walking distance to everything in town. If you want more of the evening night life you might be slightly at the wrong side of town but nonetheless would recommend.
Rooms were clean and all staff were really helpful - I left some items after my departure which they sent to my home address to me. Only thing to not that is on the second floor (where my room was) some of the corridor floors were uneven so may be worth getting an easy access room if you're not stable on your feet.

I was in room 233 - not a sea view. Felt like I had to walk a little way from reception to get to the room but was really clean and exactly what myself and my partner needed - room for two, a comfy bed and shower. It did look over the car park/the front of the hotel but didn't bother us :)

The onsite restaurant/bar is really handy and you can walk down a side path of the hotel to get straight too the beach.

I'd definitely go again.

Would highly recommend booking parking in advance however there are some sneaky ways to get free parking not too far from the hotel - check the side streets near the premier inn.
Date of stay: June 2021
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£200
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Great Western Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£102
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Great Western Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
PremierInn.com
£69
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 miles from Great Western Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
£135
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Great Western Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Algotels
0.1 miles from Great Western Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    £164
  • Vio.com
    £131
  • Expedia.com
    £164
1.3 miles from Great Western Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £75
  • Vio.com
    £52
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Great Western Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    £310
  • Vio.com
    £310
  • Skyscanner.com
    £311
1.0 miles from Great Western Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
£346
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Great Western Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £202
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Great Western Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Newquay
Reviews (1,431)
Filter reviews
1,431 results
Traveller rating
602
446
216
83
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
602
446
216
83
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam bar sea view parking space fantastic views per day water pressure booked this hotel fish and chips the cliff long weekend fistral beach receptionist beaches cornish maze cornwall seagulls
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 1,431 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2021

We stayed three nightsnin this hotel and had alovely time. Our room was a real trick away from the reception along lengthy corridors, but that is the nature of this hotel. We had a long narrow room with windows at each end. One overlooked the beach and the other over the high Street, so we had the best of both worlds.

Our room (235) was very comfortable with a rather cramped bathroom but otherwise very spacious with two single beds and one double in between them. The hotel is very central to all the towns amenities.

We enjoyed our stay there.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dtredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Dain-Kassammia, Other at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Dtredhead, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Great Western Hotel! Room 235 is one of our premium family rooms and although it is one of the furthest from reception this does mean it’s in a quieter part of the hotel and is spacious with coastal views
We hope to see you again
Best wishes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2021

Arrived at the hotel on a Tuesday, after a long drive from the Midlands. We were aware that there was restricted parking at the hotel and could only book from the Wednesday but needed to drop off luggage. The front of the hotel was shabby and looked closed? and when i went in a lady on reception told me that we could come in to drop off. There were cones in all the bays, so we pulled up in front of the doors...
We were then told that we were obstructing the emergency vehicles bay and i said that all the other bays were coned? She then replied "well be quick then!"

We then decided to eat lunch in their restaurant and have a cool beer after the trip. My daughter ordered the muscles and when they arrived they looked lovely, but as she started to eat them they were very strange in texture and tasted odd. We called over the manager and he seemed annoyed and whisked them away...he never asked if she would like something else? But muttered that he would take it off our bill! She had to sit there and watch me finish my 'over priced' salad. He returned a few minutes later and said that the chef had said there had been a few of the muscles sent back and they thought it was a supplier issue...the muscles were harvested too early?? But still, no apology or offer of another meal or a compensation drink or desert??

Then we went up to the room. BEAUTIFUL view over the ocean! Gorgeous bay window....but room was tired and dirty! Especially the bathroom! Grimy seal around the bath. Weak water pressure, some cover dropped off the shower rail. etc

The corridors were like a rabbit warren and also very tired and paint rubbed off hand rails...

Breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly in there, pity about the rest of them. When we came to leave, the lady asked if everything had been ok on our stay. I answered her honestly and pointed out the things above and she turned very defensive and hostile. She challenged me on the tired appearance of the room and corridors and said that they had been done up last year!? No way!!! I said that i preferred to tell them direct and didn't like to bad mouth on Trip adviser, but she didn't seem to be bothered? Told me that it was my prerogative if i wanted to leave a bed review on here...SO here it is! They have had months of lockdown to tidy this hotel up! And there is no excuse for rudeness! The front of the hotel looks like its closed and un approachable. Just like some of the staff!

Date of stay: June 2021
Thank rachelw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Dain-Kassammia, Other at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Rachelw69, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. We use local produce on our menu and found that although perfectly fresh some of the mussels had a slightly different flavour, which we were assured was just due to the season and water conditions.
We have an ongoing program of redecoration throughout the hotel and although we work hard to maintain standards of cleanliness there may be some wear and tear visible in the rooms during a busy summer season.
Best wishes,
General Manager, Great Western Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

On arriving found our reserved parking space, No problem, had pre booked!
On visiting reception was welcomed in a friendly manner, polite and professional again No problem.
On visiting our room found it clean and tidy although a bit tired on the decor, but No problem, the cleaner came in changed towels and tidied daily,
The restaurant and bar area is clean and tidy the food is well prepared and the beer is cold! Friendly serving staff but some are still training and need a bit of patience but again no problem, after all your on holiday

All considered ,very good stay , in a beachfront hotel with stunning beaches on the doorstep, if you pay for 3 star you don’t expect 5 star which some reviewers are expecting

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank timpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Dain-Kassammia, Other at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Timpwalker, thank you for your review of Great Western Hotel.
All feedback is greatly appreciated, and we love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,

The Team at Great Western Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2021

The hotel is in a great location and has great sea views,however these are the only benefits of this place. Here is a summary of everything that we noticed during our week long stay:

- Windows were filthy,inside and out. We paid extra for a sea view room but unfortunately the view was through a thick layer of dirt and bird poop.

-There was a strong smell of dust in the room and we had to wipe down the chairs and all surfaces as they had dust and debris on them.

- Restaurant makes you pay for every single item separately,even if having a meal out. Never experienced this anywhere else?? Do they just not trust that we will settle the bill in the end?

- The tables in the restaurant were dirty,which we noticed after we sat down. During Covid,not really a good thing to see.

-The glass fence around the restaurant's outside area was covered in bird droppings and filthy.

-We booked a car park space for the first night over the phone before we arrived,however on arrival were told that whoever took the booking did not do it properly so we didnt actually have a space reserved. We rented a car so had to find a space elsewhere. During check out,they tried charging us £10 for 2 nights parking...

-In general,the hotel has so much potential and some of the staff seemed nice but it is very dated and needs a deep clean.

Would not stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kseniao992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Dain-Kassammia, Other at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Kseniao992, we truly appreciate your honest feedback.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Our external windows are cleaned once per week but due to our exposed position they can get dirty shortly after they are cleaned. We are using a commercial strength sanitiser for cleaning both in the rooms and the restaurant but this does leave a slight residue which attracts dust.
We have limited on-site parking which needs to be pre-booked and is usually fully booked three days in advance, we would love to accommodate everyone who requires parking bit we do not enough spaces for this, there are however several public car parks close by and we are happy to direct guests to these.
Once again thank you for reviewing your stay, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Best wishes,
General Manager, Great Western Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2021

Was told to isolate by track and trace, so I told them I had to cancel, they wouldn’t give me the 48 hour cancellation fee to use towards a booking at a later date despite it being a policy on their website. Tried to charge the full booking. Staff on the phone were very rude. Would definitely put me off going being treated in such a disappointing manner.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank paG5420WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Dain-Kassammia, Other at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

I am sorry you are unhappy with our cancellation policy. We offer several different rates that give more flexibility, from the cheaper non-refundable option up to a direct booking that can be cancelled up to 48 hours before arrival.
At the start of last year when we re-opened after the first lockdown we waived cancellation fees as we understood that our guests could not have foreseen this happening. As the situation regarding Covid has progressed we now believe that our guests are aware of the situation and are either prepared to take the risk of booking and potentially cancelling without refund or have taken out insurance to cover this risk. We do state on our own website and the booking.com website that new bookings after 28th April 2020 will be tied to the stated booking conditions.
Best wishes,
General Manager, Great Western Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews