We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Ranked #71 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome Hostel!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

“Great location overlooking the beach, nice free breakfast and exceptionally clean dorms. Only thing lacking was a kitchen.And maybe some lockers or cages under the beds for storage. My roomates and I also had difficulty with the keycard, but staff were patient with fixing it every day.”

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    29
    11
    15
    11
See reviews for
2
25
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed in belushis after having a not so good night before in other guest house. After having a friendly conversation with the lady behind the bar we were sold into buying another two nights in newquay on these premises. The service was incredible, the staff were so genuine in trying to turn our bad stay into an amazing one and they did so well. A massive thankyou to Jools who sorted us out with a top floor double room over looking the harbour, tolcarne and all along the coast. The room was immaculate, and the memory foam mattress provided a lovely nights sleep. With the room you are offered a discount card for drinks and food, which makes the stay not only awesome but cost affective! The food was lush, the menu providing everything from nachos to fish and chips, proper burgers to healthy salads plus amazing breakfasts (I would recommend the El Retox breakfast- a big breakfast with a shot of tequila and a can of lager!) it really was the perfect place for a group of friends wanting a weekend away in cornwall. On Saturday night there are live DJ's and on the Sunday night there is wicked open mic night that showcases some awesome acts from the area.

Once again, A huge thank you to the team and especially to Jools for making our stay so much more than worthwhile! We will definately be returning shortly!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyW93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here as a group of 9 lads a few years ago and have been back every year since, Its a hostel so dont expect room service or being waited on at the tables. It's literally a stones throw from the beach, our room each year has had a sea view and an en suite shower! The bar downstairs was busy which is always a good sign and in the mornings you can help yourself to a breakfast. It's cheap and very cheerful! The staff have always been excellent also! I genuinely couldn't reccomend this place enough

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JayneJ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed here as part of a stag do in July and before I go onto describing the room, let’s start with the positives. The bar was great with a good friendly atmosphere and the staff were helpful. We ordered a group barbeque meal that had to be cancelled due to the weather so an indoor alternative was provided, with a huge quantity of good food. The breakfast was as expected for such price.

The surfing lessons at the attached surf school were great with a brilliant instructor.

Now on to the room. We were given room 1 for six people. Whilst the phrase "you get what you pay for" rings true, I'd still expect something adequate for £25 per person per night, given that they were taking £450 from us for three nights.

As we entered the room, the first thing that hit us was the combined smell of damp and toilet odour, and given the lack of ventilation, that wasn't going to disappear any time during our three night stay.

In the small bathroom, the toilet rocked on it's base due to a bowed floor which after six lots of showering presented a pool of water that never disappeared. The shower was filled with mould.

I know the aforementioned saying carries a lot of truth, but quite honestly I've stayed in far better hostels across the world for either equal or less cost. It smacked of plain arrogance that due to its location there would always be a captive market and they could keep the room in such a state.

As I've said, everything else was great - but the condition of the room definitely tainted the stay.

Room Tip: God help you if you get Room 1....I can't speak of the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARyder85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Belushi's / St Christopher's Inn is a great back packers hostel, so friendly I felt at home the minute we arrived. Out the front are busy pub tables with friendly folk who smile and say hi - we had a lovely warm greeting. The reception staff Georgie & Jules were brilliant, set us up with a beer while explaining how things worked :0) And best of all through the bar is the most stunning view of the sea with a sandy beach a few mins walk away !

We stayed 2 nights in a 10 bed girls dorm - number 14 - very nice with a sea view and 2 showers, private toilet - comfy mattresses and duvets :) Another night we stayed in a mixed dorm, big thanks to Jules for sorting us out (!x) which was fine as we were last in and last up, so hardly saw anyone - I think it was room 7 - again with a sea view

The bar staff at Belushi's are brilliant and the bar well stocked,. I was happy to discover my favourite rum on sale, Bundy, a big shout out to Patrick for knowing my usual very quickly and generally being cool, all the staff were, but sadly I wasn't there long enough to learn all their names.
At night there were great bands or djs, and frequently by day a guitar jamming out front - a great vibe here

15 mins walk from Fistrals beach - to stay here for £15 a night was not only a treat, but an absolute bargain. I am definately going back - oh and for budding surfers there is a great surf school on the premises :)

A 5* location for the budget traveller!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A friend and I stayed here for two nights and really loved it. Amazing views and great price, even includes breakfast. The bar which is attached does discount meals and drinks, we ate there both nights and the food was good, would recommend the burgers. Even though the bar is attached it wasn't noisy at all, the rooms are quite spacious for dorms and showers/toilets were okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZGSchmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed in this hostel for three nights and would recommend it to anyone staying in Newquay for a couple of nights on a low budget ( read student budget :) ).
The place has an amazing view from the balcony and some rooms. It is cheap and clean. The stuff is international and very polite.
The hostel location is perfect as it is close to all the beaches and just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and the bus station.
Would totally go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepikaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#23 of 38 in Newquay
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Newquay

Property: St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Address: 35 Fore Street, Newquay TR7 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Christopher's Inn Newquay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find St Christopher's Inn, Newquay perched on a cliff top, overlooking the beautiful Towan Beach. This stunning location on the southern tip of England is the perfect mix of sun, sand and sea. You'll also find the Escape Surf School in the same building - making this hostel in Newquay the perfect place to slip into a wetsuit and hit the waves. After a day of working out in the water, the on-site Belushi's bar and restaurant is the top spot to recharge and make new friends, as you enjoy the outdoor sun deck, summer BBQs, and all round good times. This backpacker base in Newquay doesn't just connect you to one beach - it's actually close to eleven sandy shores, making it the perfect place to stay when the Zapcat King of the Waves speedboat competitions roar into the area and smash across the sea. Another annual highlight in the area is the Rip Curl Boardmasters Festival when, for a whole week, you can hit the beach for surf, skate, BMX and bikini competitions galore - not to mention the best live music in Europe. If you follow the shores beyond the beach you'll find the ruins of Tintagel Castle - the legendary home of Merlin the Magician, Uther Pendragon, King Arthur and the one and only Knights of the Round Table. Another international tourism treasure in Cornwall has to be the nearby Eden Project - Britain's very first, self-contained biosphere and the cutting edge of all things environmental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing