We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Good Vibe”
Review of Matt's Surf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matt's Surf Lodge
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good Vibe”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you want a 4* hotel, I suggest you book a 4* hotel. If you want good prices, friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere then Matt's is the place. I've stayed here several times and never had a bad experience, I would highly recommend it, I've stayed a several other lodges in Newquay and they dont even come close despite charging more money. Spend your evenings chilling in the lounge, chatting and watching surf films with people from all over the world. It's centrally located so not far from any of the beaches and the bar is well priced. What;s not to like!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
7
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

You would think that being a back packers it would be crazy but its the best time ever. The guys that work there are all lovely and friendly and easy to get on with the place its self is ideal and for the price you pay you get so much out of it!! You in the main part of town but out the way just enough and close to the beaches which is ideal for surfing going out and having some fun. Inside the dorms are clean fresh you get free wifi there is parking pool table its got everything defiantly going back to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGJEParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I visited Newquay, early March, and stayed over Matt's for 8 nights. Booking was straightforward, and paid by paypal.
Atmosphere is very friendly and all the guests gather in the lobby every evening, dining, watching movies and exchanging surf tips.
I want to send a big hello to all the Spanish crew and also to thank Dan (the receptionist) for being very helpful.
If you haven't visited Newquay, then go for it. This part of UK has stunning ocean views, surf atmosphere and cool local people.
Hope to return one day soon.
Alexander

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was very reluctant to stay at a Surf lodge because I thought that it was going to be chaos. But this was a great stay.

We stayed there for just under a week before the August bank holiday. We had a double room and breakfast was included with it. All that we wanted was a room to stay in so that we could travel around Newquay, surf and relax.

The Surf lodge was visibly busy although we didn't hear noise. Many guests stayed at the lodge, but they got up early, had breakfast then went surfing. We would see the guests return back to the lodge in the evening to cook their dinner, eat and relax and then go out to surf again.
Some guests just had a drink and sat in the front reception area watching the TV or playing pool.

This is a very special place. It is rare for you to find a Surf lodge that has this sort of ambience. Everyone is friendly which gives the lodge a great atmosphere. If like me, you're reluctant to stay at a Surf lodge, I recommend you try Matt's Surf Lodge. A cool place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoanneJenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsSurfLodge, Manager at Matt's Surf Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
What a lovely review! Am so glad you both enjoyed your stay. Please come and see us again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I moved into Matts as a long termer for about 4 months from february to june. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and would highly recommend people to share the experience! During the week its pretty chilled out and relaxed watching surf vids and going for evening sessions after work, come the weekend then everybodys havng an epic time, playing pool, jam sessions on the guitars and having some social drinks at the super cheap hostel bar! I class everyone there as an extended family! So many great memorys and will be going there for visits at every opportunity! Viva la lodge!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoscoOCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsSurfLodge, Manager at Matt's Surf Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks Ross!! Hope to see you down here for a cheeky visit soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in a double room with en suite for a week while learning to surf. The accommodation was clean and spacious and amazing value. Everyone at the lodge was welcoming, helpful and friendly and we really didnt want to leave by the end of the week. We will be back asap!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsSurfLodge, Manager at Matt's Surf Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Glad you had such a great time guys!! Love it when people become regulars :)
Hope to see you both soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We've stayed here before (£25 for couple for 1 night, out of season) & was a lovely stay but last night was a complete disaster!!!!

we called ahead to check for room availability & were confirmed with a room for 2 nights, we asked the price, they said it would be £25 per night for the couple & this seems about right as we paid this before, so £50? great price for the summer hey?? thought it sounded too good too be true as its peek summer time so i confirmed with the man on the phone that it was £50 not £100 for both of us, he said yes thats right so wayhey off we drove the hour it takes to get there.

When we get there turns out its actually £22.50 per person per night so he wanted £90 (with £10 security deposit also not mentioned on the phone) so £100 all in total, bit of a jump up from £50.....
I stated the price we were given on the phone & so he went out the back to speak to the man who was on the phone the time we called, when he comes back he agreed his colleague had got confused but didn't offer the original quoted price.... what??
Well, aside from being completely unhelpful, it was 10:00pm so too late to organize anywhere else & too late for them to get anyone else in surely, so they wasted a room for the sake of price 'rules' which they messed up anyway, ruined the weekend!!!
all in all, nice homely place to be as long as you speak to an informative person who can quote correct prices........ & not a complete mong!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lb44132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattsSurfLodge, Manager at Matt's Surf Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
It's never great if people have a bad experience with us - however I feel this review is unfair as the customer simply misunderstood when he made the booking over the phone (all our staff know our rates - and even though we can sometimes offer deals, £12.50 pppn during Peak Season for a private double room would not have been offered). When they arrived to check-in, and we realised what had happened - the member of staff working offered them a slightly cheaper rate as a gesture - even though we weren't at fault - it's just a nice thing to do.
With regards to the £10 pp room deposit we take on arrival - as part of the Newquay Safe Programme, we and most other hostels/lodges in Newquay take room deposits of every guest staying with us - and it is returned to guests on check-out.

All in all - this was just one of those things - a simple case of someone mis-hearing us on the phone. It's been blown out of proportion and I think "mongs and liers" is a little harsh to say the least.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Breakers Lodge
Breakers Lodge
#12 of 75 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Reef Lodge
Blue Reef Lodge
#54 of 75 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Escape
The Escape
#4 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirribilli Guest House
Kirribilli Guest House
#43 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matt's Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matt's Surf Lodge

Property: Matt's Surf Lodge
Address: 110 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 1QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matts Surf Lodge, The Original Newquay Surf lodge. Matts is a great place to stay and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and soak up the surf vibe. With clean rooms, the full use of a kitchen, lounge and games room the Surf Lodge is a great place to stay in Newquay on a budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matt's Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing