We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newquay Yewwwww!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newquay International Backpackers
Reviewed 5 September 2012

super cool hostel, great vibe and friendly staff. Near supermarket, comfy sofa's, huge map of Cornwall, surfers and chicks everywhere! Good tv and video's for the rainy days, . Great place to stay out from the madness of town but only 2 mins walk there and 10 mins to the beach.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank neil_the_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

After staying here for 2 week breaks on my own this place has become somewhere that in my mind i'll have to keep returning too, the facilities for the price paid were unbelievable at first, a large toilet/shower block which includes a sauna at a cheap rate of £1 for half an hour, adjoining the toilet/shower block is a large board store including space to store wetsuits, and a large lounge/dining area with tv, vhs player and a large selection of videos and books for the days when the weather and the surf arent at their best, the doors may not have locks on as some other reviewers have noted but not once did i feel any of my belongings were at risk and would at times leave items such as a camera inc. lenses and tripod in the room without worrying about people taking them.

Both times when i got to the hostel i was greeted by a friendly and relaxed member of staff which is exactly what you need after a long journey to the hostel who would run through the basic rules of the hostel and then show you where everything is.

My first trip down was the first time that i had been away without any other members of my family so was at first daunting however by the end of my first full day there i knew i had made the right decicision as i realised that everyone was laid back and easy to talk to and get along with.

The lounge area makes it easy to meet new people as it usually where people congregate during the day, eat in the evening and normally start drinking in preperation for the night ahead, one of the benefits of the hostel is its location in the town as it is less than a ten minute walk to fistral beach and the town centre which means in the day time you dont need to worry about walking a long distance to the beach carrying a surfboard and wearing a wetsuit, and in the evening (or early hours of the morning) you dont need to worry about a long walk back after visiting some of Newquay's many bars and clubs.

To summarise the International backpackers has a relaxed vibe, when you start to meet the other people staying feels like a big family, is close to the fistral and the town centre, and also has a supermarket and a smaller shop both less than 5 minutes walk away. I have stayed there twice so far in two years and can see this becoming at least an annual tradition for me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

For the past 2 -3 years ive been on the road stayed in many a places' But the International Back packers' has so much character so friendly I decided to ditch London & the rat race and Hitched down to newquay' upon arrival i was warmly welcomed by a Genuine lady who showed me around the facilities' there's big board/shower room with a sauna fully refurbished rooms There's pretty impressive wave entering the Kitchen' which also has all you need.
The atmosphere in the lounge room is a mixed vibe! everyone gets people keen to have fun and party'
And if not there was a massive wall filled with Books/Movies
The beach is no more then a ten minute walk, Lorna & Dave & the rest of the staff were more then happy to help with any questions i had' I'll Definitely be returning! !

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Braxton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

i'm quite well travelled,and this is one of the friendliest hostels i've ever stayed in.i booked for a week originally,yet ended up spending most of my summer here! simply had way too much fun to leave.lorna and dave's(the staff's) personalities make for an awsome atmosphere,with everyone always included in what ever's going on,and alfie the dog is one of the coolest additions to a hostel ever-even if he can be a bit of a pat snob at times!as far as the rooms go,you get what ya pay for ay they're basic enough-but the people i met there n the good times we had more than made up for a slightly squeaky bed! would recomend it to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Thank jcashsapprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Ive stayed here a couple of times recently. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful and its a very friendly place to stay with a great relaxed atmosphere. Prices for the rooms are good and their are facilities for surf board storage. Good kitchen space as well for making your own food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

If I was a 12 year old boy I would have rather have stayed in Michael Jacksons bedroom than stay here!

In a nutshell pay a few £££ more and have clean and comfy bedding and maybe a door that locks as most dont have locks on!!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob9261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed for a long weekened. Room was advertised as 'en suite' but ended up being shower and toilet next to the room which was shared with many other people. Room was very basic (just a bed and nothing else). Was woken up 2 days in a row by a faulty fire alarm. (not forgetting the annoying family next door that had the police called out for a fight that had broken out in their house). Not worth the money considering all the other lodges in newquay. Overall not very impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwhite88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
0.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
5.4 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newquay International Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newquay International Backpackers

Address: 69-73 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: £22 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly backpackers in the UK's surfing capital of Newquay. If your looking for budget accommodation in a informal friendly environment, then were the hostel for you. We have a variety of rooms raging from single privates, spacious doubles and a choice of en-suite and normal dorms. We welcome surfers, cyclist's and backpackers from all walks of life, whether you want to explore our beautiful Cornish coast, meet like minded people or catch some waves there will be something here for you. With an emphasis on making new friends and meeting people, it's a laid back lifestyle here were you "Come as a guest and leave as a friend". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Newquay International Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newquay International Backpackers Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing