We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newquay International Backpackers
Mackay, Australia
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Like a home away from home thanks to Lorna, Dave and Alfie :) always clean and tidy, veggies garden, walking distance to a few beaches, Kitchen, with tea cups. Plus a nice selection of videos, if that's what you're into. Nice blue sofa in the corner there. Nice tables and nice chairs and garden! You should go and stay there, if that's what you're into, of course.

Room Tip: Cloud 9 is obviously the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
4
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

A great place for groups. Run by most lovely people who keep the communal areas very clean. Very lively so great for young people. Also well located for Fistral with board and suit storage. Common room makes it easy to sit together, also kitchen making trip cheaper

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, Middlesex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I wanted to step out of my comfort zone, travel alone and meet new people. This is a fantastic place to do so as the residents were really friendly, and, shortly after my arrival, asked me to join them on their night out. I enjoyed my stay so much I returned the following weekend!

For the price you can't beat what you get- a large shower and toilet block, large TV, big film collection, a room to store boards and wetsuits, large kitchen with 2 fridges, several sofas, front and back patios, Alfie the resident dog....

Some points after reading the other reviews:

-There are no locks on the bedroom doors but a safe is available at reception for your valuables, so you can't really complain...

- I found all the bedding, sinks and toilets to be clean

-if people sleeping overnight in communal areas bothers you, you can always go to bed....(incidentally, the sofas are very comfy to sleep on, especially using Alfie as a pillow)

-you get what you pay for and if you want a four star hotel, the Headland is not too far away!

-The staff (Dave and Lorna) are friendly and helpful and I saw them check residents in even when they were not 'on duty' and reception had closed

I would recommend this hostel if you want to meet friendly people, enjoy the surf, no curfews, and laid back atmosphere!

The fact it is called a 'backpackers hostel' is just that so if you want luxury/quiet/family-friendly accommodation, this probably won't be for you... so don't say I didn't warn you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2012

super cool hostel, great vibe and friendly staff. Near supermarket, comfy sofa's, huge map of Cornwall, surfers and chicks everywhere! Good tv and video's for the rainy days, . Great place to stay out from the madness of town but only 2 mins walk there and 10 mins to the beach.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank neil_the_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

After staying here for 2 week breaks on my own this place has become somewhere that in my mind i'll have to keep returning too, the facilities for the price paid were unbelievable at first, a large toilet/shower block which includes a sauna at a cheap rate of £1 for half an hour, adjoining the toilet/shower block is a large board store including space to store wetsuits, and a large lounge/dining area with tv, vhs player and a large selection of videos and books for the days when the weather and the surf arent at their best, the doors may not have locks on as some other reviewers have noted but not once did i feel any of my belongings were at risk and would at times leave items such as a camera inc. lenses and tripod in the room without worrying about people taking them.

Both times when i got to the hostel i was greeted by a friendly and relaxed member of staff which is exactly what you need after a long journey to the hostel who would run through the basic rules of the hostel and then show you where everything is.

My first trip down was the first time that i had been away without any other members of my family so was at first daunting however by the end of my first full day there i knew i had made the right decicision as i realised that everyone was laid back and easy to talk to and get along with.

The lounge area makes it easy to meet new people as it usually where people congregate during the day, eat in the evening and normally start drinking in preperation for the night ahead, one of the benefits of the hostel is its location in the town as it is less than a ten minute walk to fistral beach and the town centre which means in the day time you dont need to worry about walking a long distance to the beach carrying a surfboard and wearing a wetsuit, and in the evening (or early hours of the morning) you dont need to worry about a long walk back after visiting some of Newquay's many bars and clubs.

To summarise the International backpackers has a relaxed vibe, when you start to meet the other people staying feels like a big family, is close to the fistral and the town centre, and also has a supermarket and a smaller shop both less than 5 minutes walk away. I have stayed there twice so far in two years and can see this becoming at least an annual tradition for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

For the past 2 -3 years ive been on the road stayed in many a places' But the International Back packers' has so much character so friendly I decided to ditch London & the rat race and Hitched down to newquay' upon arrival i was warmly welcomed by a Genuine lady who showed me around the facilities' there's big board/shower room with a sauna fully refurbished rooms There's pretty impressive wave entering the Kitchen' which also has all you need.
The atmosphere in the lounge room is a mixed vibe! everyone gets people keen to have fun and party'
And if not there was a massive wall filled with Books/Movies
The beach is no more then a ten minute walk, Lorna & Dave & the rest of the staff were more then happy to help with any questions i had' I'll Definitely be returning! !

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Braxton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

i'm quite well travelled,and this is one of the friendliest hostels i've ever stayed in.i booked for a week originally,yet ended up spending most of my summer here! simply had way too much fun to leave.lorna and dave's(the staff's) personalities make for an awsome atmosphere,with everyone always included in what ever's going on,and alfie the dog is one of the coolest additions to a hostel ever-even if he can be a bit of a pat snob at times!as far as the rooms go,you get what ya pay for ay they're basic enough-but the people i met there n the good times we had more than made up for a slightly squeaky bed! would recomend it to anyone

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank jcashsapprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakers Lodge
Breakers Lodge
#12 of 75 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 75 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
MOR
MOR
#30 of 75 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Escape
The Escape
#4 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newquay International Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newquay International Backpackers

Property: Newquay International Backpackers
Address: 69-73 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly backpackers in the UK's surfing capital of Newquay. If your looking for budget accommodation in a informal friendly environment, then were the hostel for you. We have a variety of rooms raging from single privates, spacious doubles and a choice of en-suite and normal dorms. We welcome surfers, cyclist's and backpackers from all walks of life, whether you want to explore our beautiful Cornish coast, meet like minded people or catch some waves there will be something here for you. With an emphasis on making new friends and meeting people, it's a laid back lifestyle here were you "Come as a guest and leave as a friend". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Newquay International Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newquay International Backpackers Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing