We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Key West Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
2
2
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
2
1
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 10 of 10 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Pontypridd, South Wales
113
Reviewed 12 July 2004

My friends and I booked into the Key West for my hen weekend, having seen the hotel advertised on the Internet. How I wish we'd checked this website before booking!! On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by the owner who to my mind, hadn't had a bath or shower in a long time. Not the sort of welcome you expect. I couldn't concentrate on anything he was saying because he smelled so bad. Apart from that he was rude and abrupt and did nothing to make us feel welcome. The rooms were dingy and the patio doors didn't open, even though it was boiling in the rooms. The bathroom door didn't shut so no-one had any privacy. All the rooms were cramped and we came to the conclusion that they had squeezed in as many beds as they could to make money off us. We all had to pay a £10 bond for damage, but we couldn't work out how the rooms could possibly be made any worse. We were woken the next day to the smell of grease coming from downstairs and then turned on the shower to find there was no hot water. When you're paying £30 each per night you expect to be able to have a hot shower. All in all it was the worst guest house any of us have ever stayed in and a friend of mine has backpacked around the world!! Take heed.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 July 2004

We at Key West are obviously disturbed and upset by the reviews posted on this site. We do not purposely try to upset customers and will do all we can to make their stay a enjoyable as we can.
However it is the very people who are complaining that cause the problems.
We, like many others accept single sex groups at weekends although the damage caused by some drunken guests late at night is almost impossible to keep up with. However we believe we are keeping ahead and have a constant program of maintenance and upgrading. But if we are not informed of problems we cannot correct them we welcome constructive customer feedback. If I did receive a group at reception looking stressed and dishevelled it was probably because I was working all day/night cleaning up the mess from the previous group. The smell of smoke and grease on occasions in the mornings is inevitably the result of guests returning in the small hours and depositing their kebab/burger/curry wrappers in reception whilst having a last cigarette together.
My first duty, when groups stay, on such mornings is to clean up after them and try and air out the corridors. (It's funny how a delightful takeaway at 3am becomes so offensive on waking up sober)
Large groups descend on respectable hotels under one guise or another, claiming to be angst other things solicitors, golfers and most recently surgeons. Why? because they would not be accepted in many establishments by telling the truth. Key West charges a bond which is standard procedure in Newquay, this is returned following a room inspection prior to departure. The worst instance we had was, in fact a female who decided to throw a television at her friend early in the morning. It is difficult to keep up with the damage caused by some groups and we have a constant maintenance and upgrading program. However we cannot correct problems if we are not aware of them and we welcome constructive comments from all our guests. Key West is a medium hotel specialising in couch and family holidays, we have many testimonials from these groups stating how much they enjoyed their stay with us. We welcome all equally but sometimes the sight of guests falling out of a couch drunk before they arrive makes it very difficult to appreciate the wonderful world of alcoholism.
In peak season Key West can have up to 100 guest a week checking in, out of these only 3 have complained anonymously on this site. All from groups. We would prefer to be confronted in person rather than faceless slander on the net by someone who was probably reprimanded for inappropriate behaviour who knows how to create maximum distress by publishing inaccurate information on the website with no come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Nottingham, U.K.
18
Reviewed 16 June 2004

Food poor - hotel smelt of cooked food and smoke, room small with cupboard for en suite. Room and en suite clean but shabby

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
southampton england
116
Reviewed 8 February 2004

manager obnoxious, rude. food just passable. room undescribably bad.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC