We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with pre-schoolers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at the Sands Resort. We have 3 children, 1 aged 3 and twins aged 17 months. I went with high expectations having read the website and the other reviews and was not disappointed. The facilities and staff were fantastic - the most friendly and helpful staff I have encountered.

The facilities in the hotel were great. The kids club gave us a couple of hours to play tennis etc in the morning and the baby listening was invaluable. Adult only meals every night were wonderful.

The children loved the swimming pool and soft play. My only comment would be that we did not realise the outdoor pool was heated until the last day and would have used it more if we had. There were also not many children around so there were not many organised activities in the evening but to be honest ours were happy in the soft play and were pretty tired anyway!

Defintiely a great hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CE75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here for a week in late April, so very much off season! It was very quiet, which meant that mealtimes were (relatively) peaceful, the kids recognised each other at tea time and so forth, but there was very little other activity laid on for them. Ours are 3 and 1 so not an issue, but older kids might have been a bit bored after tea time. They loved the playroom with cars, soft play etc, and Jane the kid's club lady was great and very confidence inspiring The girls loved having the swimming pool and outside play areas to themselves, both being a bit shy - I can imagine it might be bedlam in the summer holidays.

We were in a contemporary sea view room, which was huge and lovely - comfy bed, decent bathroom, gorgeous view. There was a nest of birds in the roof that woke us up every morning at about 5.30, not sure there's anything that could be done about that though! The girls loved having their own room as well, and it gave us a bit of peace and privacy.

The food - always important especially in a DBB hotel. Breakfast was good with variety of cereal, fruit salad etc and cooked items in a buffet. The kids' dinner was a bit samey, perhaps a lot of kids only like the standard potatoes/fish fingers/ peas and sweetcorn, but my eldest was desperate for some pasta by the third day. And luminous green jelly every day! Adult food was also pretty good - not haute cuisine by any means, but filling, decent enough and most importantly someone else was cooking it! The wine was well priced as well and lovely to be able just to sit and relax knowing that if the kids made any noise we would be told.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, baby listening a great bonus in the evening. All in all it was expensive, but everything was laid on and the location is perfect for trips out and about. I'd recommend DairyLand farm world with younger children, ours loved the soft play and watching the cows getting milked. The beach just down the steps from the hotel is lovely with rock pools and plenty of sand, and Watergate bay is just stunning.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, which meant plenty of exercise up and down the stairs but a beautiful sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeymoonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday from start to finish. From the moment we checked in we were greeted by efficient, friendly and courteous staff who couldn't do enough to ensure our holiday experience was second to none. The food was amazing, we felt like we were eating at a top restaurant every night! In fact my 13 yr old son commented that it was "fine dining at it's best" as both our children, the other being 8yrs were allowed to eat from the adult menu at no extra cost!!
The hotel and suite we stayed in was spotless and extremely well maintained throughout our stay, we had an amazing view of Newquay Bay and the children's facilities were fantastic, the children particularly enjoyed the golf course and pool. I would highly recommend this family owned hotel................. so much so that we booked again for next year before we left!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We booked Sands before our baby was even born so were just hopeful it would meet our needs. It did that and so much more.. From the delicious food, huge room, amazing sea view and helpful staff we couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LStevens2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

After searching high and low for the perfect family holiday I found it at Sands! From the moment we made our booking by telephone to the time we checked out the staff were professional, friendly and go out of thier way to help.
The room was clean and very well laid out with the most beautiful sea view. We had a comfort type A sea facing room which had the biggest bed I have ever seen in it, and a separate kids room with two singles and a cot. The ample bathroom was in the middle of the rooms. Everything here has been thought of. The plugs are high up the walls so children cant poke fingers in. The drawers dont pull completly out of the units. There was a tv and dvd in the kids room fixed high up so they can watch tv without causing mischief.
The restaurant serves delicious fresh food at both luch times and evenings. There is a sepate kids tea time so all the kids eat tpgether and can be noisy/messy without causing offence to other diners. The kids meals were all proper homecooked fresh food with sensible healthy options and plenty of fruit and yogurts on offer too. There are plenty of high chairs all clean and ready for use and all the staff are helpful and friendly with the kids. The adults dining time in the evening serves mouth watering scallops, steaks and gooey chocolate pudding - again, all freshly made. And breakfast was also a very high standard.
The hotel runs a kids club which I was dubious about using at first since I was worried as they wouldnt know our son, but they gave us a tour and introduced us to all the carers which was lovely and calmed me down enough to leave him. They didnt mind that I got reception to ring down and check he was doing okay!
The pool is perfect with a separate toddler pool which was lovely and warm, and the changing room and showers are all clean and nicely laid out.
there are lots of play zones and areas for the kids, from toddler age upto teenage age, and on the sunny afternoon the staff put up the bouncy castle for us to use - really nothing is too much trouble for this place!
Everything about this hotel is amazing - I will definately being going back next year, and if money allows, possibly again this year!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicksterblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had a amazing time at Sands Resort (family of 5 with kids aged 6, 4 and 2). Our kids loved the clubs and the facilities were brilliant. Although the hotel was fully booked, it never felt over crowded - we had the pool to ourselves for 2 hours one day! My wife and I also really enjoyed having some adult time in the evenings, taking advantage of their listening service, whilst eating their amazing menus (hats of to the chef!) and admiring the sunset over the sea. A truly magical place that we will certainly be returning to. All the staff are friendly and really helpful.

Room Tip: Pool Suite rooms are not above the restaurant or entertainment room so I gather are quieter in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Simpsons_Windsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We just returned from a 5 day stay at Sands Resort and loved it. We have two children (4 and 1) who both enjoyed the facilities on offer for kids, in particular the high tea and subsequent entertainment. We didn't use the kids' clubs though, mainly because they only ran during the morning and evening and we wanted to go out for a full day. Baby listening is amazing. I was sceptical at first, but it's a fab service, manned permanently by a member of staff dedicated to this facility. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,028 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £79 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing