We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It was okay......”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Things we liked:
Rooms clean and modern
Lots of facilities for kids
Staff are friendly and helpful
Good position on the headland
Good value for money

Things we didn't like:
Dinner service is abysmal. Wait staff had no clue what they were doing. Attempts were made to apologise at the end of the meal, after we complained but it did not match the service from the hotel at all.
The hotel was PACKED with very small children and babies, not that it was a problem for us (our boys are 9 and 4) but during dinner and breakfast, it was extremely noisy and reminded me of a giant school food hall!
The hotel is pokey, typical of British buildings but makes it feel overcrowded.
The bathrooms and TVs in the rooms are minuscule and the back bedrooms are very stuffy with no air conditioning (and it wasn't hot when we're stayed there). I think this reinforces it's three star rating.
I know you poms don't value child pool safety but if I see another swimming pool that is not fenced, I'm not sure what I'll do. You really need to move with the times, especially with children about!

So I think it was "ok" at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liketotravel081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMonTour, Owner at Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thanks very much for your review and kind words about:
Rooms clean and modern
Lots of facilities for kids
Staff are friendly and helpful
Good position on the headland
Good value for money

I am sorry if you didn't get the service you should expect in the restaurant, I am at least glad that they apologised and hopefully rectified some of the problems the next day.

With regard to your view "I know you poms don't value child pool safety" firstly I checked the meaning of the term "Pom" as I was worried that it might be an offensive description of my guests.

Wikipedia defines "Pom" as "Pom = 'Prisoner of the Mother Country'. A derogatory term, it was controversially ruled no longer offensive in 2006 by the Australian Advertising Standards Board" So if its OK with them (I'm sure they must be a cultured bunch) who am I to complain.

Secondly I think it a bit harsh to stereotype us "Poms" as uncaring about child safety and thirdly our indoor pool is in an enclosed room with an entry door that cannot be opened by a child, our outdoor pool is in an enclosed garden and has a 3ft wooden fence surrounding the pool 4ft away from the water. No we dont have a 6ft chain link fence but I am happy that our pool is safe for use by responsible families.

With regard to the large number of children in the restaurant and the noise they make I'm afraid that comes with the territory staying in a family resort in school holidays. Like you, the other guests have children and for the ones who like to eat as a family we don't set noise limits as this would hardly live up to our family friendly ethos. However had you wanted a quiet dinner we do have a couples area that is quiet that may have suited you better.

With regard to your perception of the "pokey" nature of the hotel and "all other typical British buildings" you obviously come to that view with the benefit of living in wonderful Australia with its wide open spaces and lovely spacious houses.

Oddly enough the more common comment we get in reviews is that the rooms are spacious, but as most of the reviews are from Poms I guess we come to that view with the disadvantage of living surrounded by pokey buildings.

I hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay in UK and once again apologise for not meeting all of your expectations.

Nicholas Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    183
    59
    20
    5
See reviews for
700
86
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Fantastic. Nothing too much trouble for the staff - in any department. This place is all about the kids, so if you are an individual or couple maybe think again! So much for the children to do and keep them amused. A real rest for mum and dad. Even in poor weather it is not taxing to entertain them. There is an hour each evening just for the kids..whilst we were there ours enjoyed kids bingo, a party and a puppet show.
Rooms great. Not particuarly modern but exceptionally clean! Complete with fridge (not deep but big enough for storing bottles of milk, small snacks etc), ironing board etc. Nice surprise when we saw our daughter's bed had been made and her dollies placed sitting up on her bed, just a glimpse of how thoughtful the staff are.
Towels provided for swimming, wetsuits available to borrow. Most things free in game room - golf balls, tennis balls etc small charge.
We chose to eat together as a family, which we really enjoyed. We were there for four days, anymore and I think the meals could become a bit repetitive as the sauces appear with different vegetables, meats etc on different days. But overall fine. Breakfast brilliant - everything you could want - cooked breakfast (self service), croissants, bread, toast, cereals, yoghurts, fruit etc..
We were delighted with this hotel, staff and activities and will definately be returning. Thanks to everyone at the Sands - even Mum got a rest!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Our 2nd family holiday to the Sands Resort as we enjoyed it so much the first time round. The Staff at Sands are so friendly and accommodating and make the whole stay there a very enjoyable one indeed. The food at Sands is unforgettable and in our experience cannot be beaten. The facilities are very good and keep the children very well entertained. The mini golf course is superb as well as the swimming pool. The kids clubs were also excellent and are a really great way of allowing mums & dads some time of their own, whilst knowing that the kids are being very well looked after. The rooms are excellent and very comfotable with all the facilities you would require. The seperate parts of the restaurants for the various ages of the children is a fantastic idea. The bar & lounge facility as well as the food served for you in the bar and the sea views from the bar are excellent and just compliment an overall, very very enjoyable stay. The location of the hotel is perfect as well, with the town of Newquay only a short drive away with excellent shops and the beach of course and other towns such as Mawgen Porth and Padstow only short drives away as well. This part of Cornwall is ideal for days out as all the villages/towns such as Charlestown, Mevagissey, St. Austell and Truro are so easily accessible by Car. We would highly recommend a visit to Mevagissey and Charlestown which will both charm you with their interests such as their Harbours and cobbled/narrow streets with interesting shops and their beauty, as well as their history. The maritime & shipwreck museum at Charlestown is well & truly worth a visit.

Room Tip: The Family Suites are a good size for children to play in and have a great area for them to play in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We went in mid july and although the weather wasn't great there's still plenty to do both in the hotel and nearby. This is our 3rd time here and the hotel keeps improving each year with better facilities (gym upgrade, outdoor splash play/pool for kids/indoor soft play etc) whilst still keeping great staff and prices. The food is great and we love letting the kids have tea and then having an adult dinner whilst the kids are in the room with the listening service. Free use of wetsuits and surf gear/beach stuff is great, loads to to for the kids = happy parents. Our kids are now 5 and 7 and still love it and want to come back next year ... i'm sure we will.

Room Tip: ask for one of the top floor rooms for best view of sea, although no lift so be prepared to carry yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway Towns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The most relaxing holiday I have ever had. Children occupied by games room and pools, tennis and golf, bouncy castle. Scuba diving, t-shirt painting. Felt they were made welcome and safe. Lovely views and walks, great days out on the beach. Free loan of wet suits and body boards, rackets and clubs was a great bonus. Restaurant divided into sections was brilliant. Food was superb. Different to what we are used to, but really delicious and satisfying, even the children were eating new things. There is plenty of space and the hotel is well designed that you dont feel on top of everyone. Rooms were simple, but well laid out and clean. All staff were pleasant and friendly. Many of the other guests we spoke to had been before. Including one family who have been 15 times!! Now that tells you something. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: There is no lift, but there only two floors. Views on both sides of hotel, either sea or countryside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at Sands last year for one week and were so impressed that we have just returned from the week we stayed this year. Excellent rooms that were regularly cleaned. The separation of the restaurants with respect to the various ages of the accompanying children is a great idea. The restaurant that we were allocated had a very good menu and the children were able to experiment with one or two things that they hadn't eaten before, isn't it nice that chips aren't an option unless you ask for them!. The staff are incredibly well trained and nothing is too much bother ~(well for most normal people). I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

After arriving back from our 6 day trip, I can safely say it was one of the most relaxing family holidays we have been on. I was apprehensive with the cost of the stay which was touching £300 per night....but it included 2 rooms interconnecting with the most AMAZING sea view! High spec rooms..fridge..kettle, etc. This included breakfast and an evening 3 course meal for 2 adults and 2 children. I would return to this resort in a couple of years but would NOT book inadvance, like we did on this occasion, as all we saved was £90 and we did not have particularly warm weather. The indoor games facilities was not particuarly adequate for the number of guest staying (5 games tables)... although indoor swimming was available which was nice. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, whilst the guests staying in the resort were very polite. You cannot compare this to a resort which may cost much cheaper as the ambience is amazing. As my husband would say,'you pay for what you get'. You will not find a karaoke machine insight.

Pros
Room 92 with seaview amazing!
Evening 3 course meal delicious....(al la carte)
Staff + clientele very well spoken and delightful to be around
Outdoor facilites great (take your own golf and tennis balls as they will charge you to buy them!)

Cons
NO lift! (but seaview worth walking for)
Needs more indoor games when there is wet weather!
Was hoping to use child care facilities but the childcare room looked bland and equipped for toddlers even though they took much older children.
Would be good idea if they installed a soft play area with slides ect for kids 4 +

Room Tip: Room 92 with a seaview and balcony is amazing... although it is on the 3rd floor. The adult's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing