We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not a Spa!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Great location but don’t expect a grand spa as the facilities are very limited and not well kept. The indoor pool area is dirty and tired. Jacuzzi, when working, is more like a large bath. Small sauna and no steam room. Only two changing rooms which are not cleaned during the day. Ok for kids who are not paying but adults may feel it’s all a bit lacking...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a fab week at Sands. We have a 2 year-old daughter, and for the first time we didn't have to worry if she cried, or acted up because everyone else was in the same position!
The facilities are great, there's an indoor and an outdoor pool, a big playground, soft play area and lots of space for them to run around.
There is also kids enetrtainment each evening too. Our little girl loved running around with all the other children, it was really nice to see.
I was really impressed with the staff too. On our last day we returned to find our room keys didn't work. A very sweet girl on reception told us that we'd actually only booked 6 nights (I thought we'd booked 7) but it was all fine, we could stay in the room an extra night and the manager had already informed the restaurant so we wouldn't miss out on dinner.
We really enjoyed ourselves, and our daughter loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Second visit. Even better than the last one two years ago. STUNNING food for all, particularly those with coeliac. The breakfast does not match up to the 5* standard in the evening but lots of choice. Great for families. The staff could not be more helpful. Children clubs a must to meet other families.

Room Tip: Sea view in the front of the hotel to the right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had a great week at Sands, thanks to the lovely views from the room (Contemporary suite on top floor), proximity to the beaches and the excellent facilities for kids. Room was very spacious, though bathroom could have done with being a little bigger, and was nice to have space away from the kids in the evening (though a door to the main room from the hallway would have been good). Outdoor facilities and grounds excellent, food quality excellent, though breakfast a little chaotic due to everyone meeting in the middle and going in different directions, and the family dining area was too noisy for us now that our kids are that bit older (8 and 5), so we ate out all bar one night. Overall though we'd definitely recommend it and are likely to return.

Room Tip: Top floor 30-39 would be where we'd want to be if we returned for the view and the peace. As oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Its difficult to find a beach hotel that is child friendly rather than child tolerant. The Sands provides great indoor and outdoor facilities for the kids. Ideally 0-10yrs. The children had a wonderful time at the kids club which helped them meet new friends. This gave us some time to relax and plan our day.
We spent the afternoons on the beach accross the road. Some steep steps but spectular scenery. Having free hire of family wetsuits,surf kit and beach toys is a great idea.
The kids evening entertainment was a big hit with the kids especially the puppet show.
There are different dinner sittings depending on the age of your children and your tolerance of the noise levels! But there are lots of attentive and friendly staff at meal times. The food was very good and we managed to get a few adult only dinner thx to the evening kids clubs and babysitting.
The suite was a tad dated but clean and well serviced. I expected better quality TVs and more comfortable beds - I hope these are on the refurbishment list as they let the other hotel facilities down.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Mausar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We, a family of 5, had a great time at Sands Hotel this summer. The staff were incredibly friendly and worked hard to ensure that our stay combined the best of all worlds - for our girls and for us at adults.
The quality of food and entertainment were also great. We would highly recommend Sands to anyone looking for a family holiday in Cornwall.

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking the sea had a great views over both the coast and countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A brilliant hotel for families! They have thought of everything that you may need for children, from the rooms, to food, to play facilities - of which there are lots! This makes it so much easier for parents and everyone feels like they've had a holiday.
We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis - the children (1&2) had childrens' supper, so that we were able to put them to bed, using the baby listening service, - and have dinner just the 2 of us - what a treat! The food was good, particularly for the children.
The staff were brilliant, always helpful, efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £87 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing