We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't try to be what it's not”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Doesn't try to be what it's not”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

There are already lots of reviews with varying opinions but if you are realistic about the price you are paying and understand that this is a hotel set up for families with young children then you are likely to be very happy with your stay.
The staff are universally excellent, nothing was too much trouble and they are obviously genuinely enjoying what they do, a big contrast to some much more expensive holidays we have had. The rooms are well configured and comfortable (although the energy saving lighting is harsh and cold). We could have used another bin!
The facilities are ideal for children, although some areas are tired looking there is a continual process of renewing and upgrading.
Perhaps the only negative comment I would have is with the food. The children’s menus are really quite adult so fussy eaters (I have two) may not find something they enjoy at every meal, however as usual the staff were more than happy to cook something to order if given a few hours notice.
We stayed full board and the adult evening meals were good but not spectacular – but again at ~£15 per adult per day one can’t really complain. We just felt that almost every dish could do with a little more seasoning and some didn’t quite match the grand descriptions. The newly refurbished restaurant is smart and comfortable but very noisy when only half full.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    178
    57
    20
    5
See reviews for
681
82
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Second stay at Sands with 3 kids under 4 years old. The hotel is ideally set up for young families. Staff and cleanliness excellent. Listening in service allows parents to have an adult meal. We will booking up for a further stay shortly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWObrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I had a facial at the hotel's spa and was very disappointed. Therapist who "welcomed" us at reception didn't even look up from her computer. The room I had my treatment in was ok but the bed dropped a bit when I got on it. I had to ask for a pillow as the back of my head was left to sit down the face hole which was very uncomfortable. The was no cushion placed under my knees. The towels provided to cover me during the treatment were far too small, just over the size of a hand towel so was left feeling cold. The therapist was very heavy handed and at one point even pressed down quite hard on my wind pipe. I had to ask her to lighten her touch which she did slightly but it was still too heavy. She gave me about 1 minute of a head massage then left the room for 10 minutes while the mask set in. Overall I was very disappointed. The only good thing was when I went to pay it was £11 cheaper than I expected as they decided to give me a different type of facial as a booked. It almost seemed as though they were short staffed and got someone from college still training to stand in. Never again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeni-flower84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResort, Manager at Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
I am sorry that you didn't find your treatment matched your expectations.

I have taken the matter up with the Spa Manager so we can sort out any issues resulting from your comments. We dont have any note of any complaints in the spa over the past several months so can't track the issue to one therapist, so we will make sure that all therapists take on board your feedback.

Allthough you had booked at a higher price we gave you the price of a special offer we were running for the same treatment.

Regards
Nicholas Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

As a place for an overnight stay and arriving around 6pm it was difficult to get ones head round all the convoluted seating and eating arrangements. Travelling with youngish children we were too late for kids tea and felt the reception in the dining room for dinner was rather cold. One felt as if diners were unwelcome and when was told of the different zones for seating and times for eating it began to feel a bit like Butlins. The set menus gave no scope for a lighter bite. We could see that the leisure facilities were good though we had no time to make use of them as we were departing very early next morning. The rooms were clean and comfortable so it seems a good place for a family holiday but less attractive for one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spectacleYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResort, Manager at Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Many thanks for your review.

I would have to agree that as an overniight stop destination you really aren't going to get the best from Sands which is a holiday destination best enjoyed over several days. Arriving after 6.00 pm and leaving esarly the next morning gives you no chance to use the facilities which you saw but were unable to use because of time constraint.

With regard to the rules we prefer to call them choices. We have guests who have many different dining requirements. Some parents want to use the childrens clubs or baby listening so they can eat as a couple in a quiet dining room, others want to eat as a family, others want their children to have an early tea and then sit with the parents whilst they have their dinner later. We try to offer as many choices as we can.

By giving people choices we hope to meet as many of these requiremnt as possible. I'm sorry that you saw them as rules, most of our guests will have read the dining choices which are on the booking confirmation and website, they pre-book but can change it during the holiday.

I wish you had had an opportunity to stay for a couple of days as I'm sure things would have made sense then and you would have had a chance to enjoy a Sands holiday..

Regards

Nicholas Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a very enjoyable evening at our christmas party. My manager had been to The Sands Hotel before so on that we choose this hotel to host our annual Christmas party and we were not disappointed at all. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was served promptly and was delicious, fab prices at the bar too, being Christmas and Newquay we were expecting a lot more!
The rooms were fab, we had a sea view, the rooms lovely size and very clean. WE look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Just got back from this hotel, and all I can say is, it's a fantastic hotel, and I can see why it has been voted number 1 hotel for families in Europe!
My wife and I have just visited this hotel with our 2 year old son, and from the moment you walk in you are made very welcome. The staff are friendly, and very good at their jobs. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Our son loved every minute of being there, and we were only there a couple of nights.
They run a pirates club at the hotel, and Oliver(our son) loved it in there. As soon as he came out from the club, he wanted to go back in. They were great with him. So that gave my wife and I time to enjoy breakfast and evening meal together, knowing that Oliver was in safe hands. We didn't get chance to thank the staff at the children's club, so thank you very much for everything!
Food was lovely. From the breakfast to the evening meal, it was all very nice and cooked to a high standard.
I stayed at this hotel with my parents about 20 years ago, and they said it was great for kids back then. It's good to see that they have carried on the great reputation.
We will definitely be going back to this hotel in the near future, and it's only a couple hours drive that makes it a bonus.
Keep up the great work.
Many thanks
Mark and Hay


Ps: Don't ever get rid of the train

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Lovely room with sea view, and the whole family had a very relaxing time! The evening kids club got rave reviews from our 7 yr old, and was great because it meant my wife and I could eat in the 'adult zone' in peace! Staff were always friendly and very helpful. Swimming was great! The new gym was also very good and much better than I expected. Food was above average, some nights it was outstanding, others just average. Kids entertainment each night was very good.
If you have kids under 8, seriously give sands a try! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJonesFamily999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,119 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
972 reviews
11.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing