We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$56
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
762
205
67
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
205
67
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe baby listening servicecontemporary suitebouncy castlekids clubfamily diningzip wireindoor poolwatergate bayexcellent family hotelbody boardsfamily holidayadventure playgroundsea viewchristmas partykids roomfamilies with young childrenfootball pitch
Filter
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned from a family holiday at this excellent child friendly hotel. I can't praise the facilities highly enough. Despite it being the coldest Easter on record the children had a wonderful time. My daughters enjoyed the spa and we all enjoyed the evening dining when the children are safely tucked up in bed.
Having previously stayed at the Bedruthan Steps hotel for our Easter break it is inevitable that we would compare the two hotels.
Childrens facilities are better but Bed Steps boasts the spa room with the infinity jacuzzi. Food wise we were undecided between the two hotels, both are excellent.
Will certainly be returning here next year,

Room Tip: With children in tow we chose the pool facing rooms which have a double bed and two singles in a separate room. Plenty of sace to add a cot if required
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed over the easter weekend and had a contemporary family room and a double room. The rooms were well equipt, clean and large. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly and professional. They really wanted you to have a great time and generally we did. The kids loved the pool and the playroom.

My only gripe was the heating. Our room was either freezing (like 15c) or boiling (25c) and the heating went off at night when we were there and our daughters room got down to 15c and you couldn't turn it back on again. This is way too cold for a baby. I complained to reception and they fixed it on a couple of occasions but the problem persisted. When we checked out they'd knocked some money off our stay so that was good. I really liked how they dealt with the problem. I came away with a really good feeling about the place, despite the fact that I'd been up a lot the previous night trying to get the heating to come back on.

Overall if you have kids - take them. All of you will have a lovely time

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speed_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Never been anywhere so family friendly. You know the way that John Lewis and Waitrose clearly display their brand values, well Sands is a bit like this! Could not identify a particular member of staff as stand out - they were all outstanding!

Everything designed for the family!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over Easter and really enjoyed the facilities.
Don't be put off by the way the hotel looks from the outside because inside its decorated well and it looks like many changes are taking place to improve it.
We had a family room so the kids were in a separate sleeping area and our room overlooked the sea! Our room was lovely but the kids and bathroom is a bit dated.
We loved using the pool, kids clubs, kids dining, baby listening service and after tea kids entertainment to wear them out before bedtime. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. Our son needed a torch to help him get to sleep and they hand delivered one to the room!
Overall very good value for money and for parents needed some time to themselves this is definitely the place. We will definitely be back especially in summer!
We visited padstow and watergate bay which were great and Eden project but I think our 2 and 4 year olds are too young. So save your money and go when they are a bit older.

Areas to improve on:
1. Great indoor swimming pool but the changing area and 1 old shower really need to be updated.
2. More fresh fruit and breakfast.
3. It's fantastic having the baby listening service but not so useful when you want to leave for dinner and have to pass the cot/bed to get out. Our kids got woken up when we left as the cot is close to the door and makes a lit of noise.
4. Dinner was not always smooth. Main meal arrived before starter, drinks didn't turn up, things were missing from the dish.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TW1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is the second year I have gone to the Sands for a get together with my friend. The rooms are great, nice a large with a great view of the coast. Lovely evening meal on both nights, like the adult only restaurant. Spa treatments were great, friendly therapists and lovely rooms. This is a family hotel so don't come expecting no children and peace and quiet. But this doesn't mean a couple can't have a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah310167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews