We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time at the Sands!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We've just returned from a 5 night stay at the Sands, and this being our third time we had high hopes of another lovely holiday, and we were not disappointed. From the friendly helpful staff who are patient and kind with the children to the fabulous amenities. staying at the Sands makes your holiday exactly what it should be - a relaxing break!
We've got 3 children (8,3,1) and they all went to various clubs and organised activities which were met with 'we want to go again!' when picked up. The children's tea and entertainment afterwards is a godsend, and the baby listening service is just brilliant. The little ones would go to sleep, the 8 year old would skip off into the club to be with friends he'd made and we'd skip off into the restaurant and eat delicious food :) As busy working parents it is really important for us to have 'grown up' time together and the Sands makes this easy and accessible.
This is family run hotel and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay a comfortable one ( the owner even came out of his office to open the pool table to look for a missing ball - what other hotel owner would do that?!) The food is lovely here, the grounds are well maintained and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Will we go back? Well I promised my tearful 3 year old we would just to get him in the car but to be honest it would be a delight!
Please feel free to message with any questions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KcChris2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We travelled as a family of 5, children aged 8,10 and 13. All had a great 4 days relax at the resort. Loads of activities for kids to get on with from table tennis to swimming, surfing, golf and football, all of which were complimentary. Accommodation was more than ample for the 5 of us - kids enjoyed the selection of DVDs available from reception.

Food was great - something for everyone. Staff were most friendly and helpful. 4 days went by so quickly - will definitely be back in 2014,

Room Tip: Be sure to get a sea facing room - great views and great walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My family and I stayed at Sands over the Easter holidays. If you are looking for a family hotel then look no further... The hotel is excellent.
We stayed for a week, which included breakfast, high tea for the kids and then dinner for adults later. The quality of the food was excellent, great choice & variety. The listening facility provided by the hotel is brilliant and enabled my husband and I am opportunity to eat alone every evening!
The facilities are great, we swam every day, used the outdoor and indoor play facilities (including much loved bouncy castles!) and my husband was very pleased with the 9 hole pitch & putt course on site.
There is a really relaxed atmosphere in the hotel, and the staff are so helpful and professional.
Location wise it's great, only a short drive from the gorgeous Watergate Bay, and then close to The Eden Project, and the amazing St Michael's Mount.

My only criticism, and it is only a small one, is that some of the bedrooms could do with updating... But they are really spacious and ideal for larger families (what a joy to be in a hotel they doesn't assume we are all families of 4!).

All in all I give this hotel a big thumbs up and would definitely look to return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mumof3girlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week at Sands. The facilities for children were superb - both indoor and outdoor. In the summer the outdoor pool would be amazing in the spacious hotel gardens. Rooms at the hotel were good with plenty of space for a family of four. Food was lovely and all home cooked on the premises. Definitely hope to return next year!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank StokeLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Like 99ray, we just came back from Sands after a post Easter break. My son is 6 years and really enjoyed his time at the kids club and wants to go back there next time. We left our daughter ( 18m) at the crèche and she settled n very well. The kids facilities and food IMHO are better than Bedruthan steps where we stayed last year. Adult facilities like Spa, jacuzzi, pool etc were better at Steps.

Service and courtesy from staff were outstanding. We stayed in their sea view contemp suites and it was great. The fact that it is much closer to Newquay is also great as you can nip down to get stuff if you need/ forgot.

Very enjoyable holiday. Highly recommended for a family holiday. As they say, it's definitely great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2000R2d2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned from a family holiday at this excellent child friendly hotel. I can't praise the facilities highly enough. Despite it being the coldest Easter on record the children had a wonderful time. My daughters enjoyed the spa and we all enjoyed the evening dining when the children are safely tucked up in bed.
Having previously stayed at the Bedruthan Steps hotel for our Easter break it is inevitable that we would compare the two hotels.
Childrens facilities are better but Bed Steps boasts the spa room with the infinity jacuzzi. Food wise we were undecided between the two hotels, both are excellent.
Will certainly be returning here next year,

Room Tip: With children in tow we chose the pool facing rooms which have a double bed and two singles in a sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed over the easter weekend and had a contemporary family room and a double room. The rooms were well equipt, clean and large. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly and professional. They really wanted you to have a great time and generally we did. The kids loved the pool and the playroom.

My only gripe was the heating. Our room was either freezing (like 15c) or boiling (25c) and the heating went off at night when we were there and our daughters room got down to 15c and you couldn't turn it back on again. This is way too cold for a baby. I complained to reception and they fixed it on a couple of occasions but the problem persisted. When we checked out they'd knocked some money off our stay so that was good. I really liked how they dealt with the problem. I came away with a really good feeling about the place, despite the fact that I'd been up a lot the previous night trying to get the heating to come back on.

Overall if you have kids - take them. All of you will have a lovely time

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speed_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £87 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing