We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding family resort”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Sands Resort exceeded our expectations. They had thought of everything to make our visit a real holiday for the grown ups, as well as brilliant fun for the children. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the accommodation was bright and spacious, and the food and facilities were outstanding. We had dinner together five nights in a row, while the children slept (and reception provided a listening service). The rain didn't matter as the Kids Clubs, soft play, swimming pool, gym, bouncy castle and evening events kept us all entertained. We wish we'd discovered Sands earlier and will definitely be back this summer.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the middle of the corridor, so the doors and people passing at either end don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    179
    59
    20
    5
See reviews for
687
83
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We were a little apprehensive about staying here as it seemed to be aimed at families and not couples. We had two nights booked and were very surprised. The Hotel is internally divided so that people with children of all ages are made to feel comfortable and couples also have areas where children are not allowed after 8pm. Perfect. Breakfast had us in a separate dining room from those with children and the activities for children are amazing. If our child was young now he would love it.
The staff are the most friendly and helpful we have come across in a long time and speaking to one of the staff we asked them if they liked working there because they were smiling all the time. Their reply was definitely and they actually love coming to work and it showed.
In as much as some of the bedrooms need a bit of a 'freshen up' we understand that a hotel that caters for families would not have the most up to date furniture in the rooms but they make up for it in the restaurant and lounge and bar.
I would recommend this for couples as well as for families. Great location.

Room Tip: Try for the third floor as we could hear the people walking about on the floor above us. Just a sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vince_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Sands with our 8 and 5 year old. The facilities for the children are very impressive. Both my two were desperate to participate in the clubs and activities with the childcare staff being really first rate. The entertainment put on early evening (at no extra cost) was of an extremely high standard and, again, the kids just loved it.
The food was of a very high standard and the hotel was immaculately clean. Overall we got the impression that the staff and owners took great pride in providing a top rate service.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. I was visiting for an event and had my 4 year old in tow so was a bit anxious about leaving her with a friend to find something to do. However they didn't need to leave the complex all afternoon as there was plenty to do. The rooms are really flexible - we had a combination of rooms opened up to create 2 separate bedrooms and a lounge area. After this fleeting visit for work purposes I would definitely return for a family break.

Room Tip: Explain what you need when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We've just returned from a 5 night stay at the Sands, and this being our third time we had high hopes of another lovely holiday, and we were not disappointed. From the friendly helpful staff who are patient and kind with the children to the fabulous amenities. staying at the Sands makes your holiday exactly what it should be - a relaxing break!
We've got 3 children (8,3,1) and they all went to various clubs and organised activities which were met with 'we want to go again!' when picked up. The children's tea and entertainment afterwards is a godsend, and the baby listening service is just brilliant. The little ones would go to sleep, the 8 year old would skip off into the club to be with friends he'd made and we'd skip off into the restaurant and eat delicious food :) As busy working parents it is really important for us to have 'grown up' time together and the Sands makes this easy and accessible.
This is family run hotel and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay a comfortable one ( the owner even came out of his office to open the pool table to look for a missing ball - what other hotel owner would do that?!) The food is lovely here, the grounds are well maintained and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Will we go back? Well I promised my tearful 3 year old we would just to get him in the car but to be honest it would be a delight!
Please feel free to message with any questions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KcChris2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We travelled as a family of 5, children aged 8,10 and 13. All had a great 4 days relax at the resort. Loads of activities for kids to get on with from table tennis to swimming, surfing, golf and football, all of which were complimentary. Accommodation was more than ample for the 5 of us - kids enjoyed the selection of DVDs available from reception.

Food was great - something for everyone. Staff were most friendly and helpful. 4 days went by so quickly - will definitely be back in 2014,

Room Tip: Be sure to get a sea facing room - great views and great walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My family and I stayed at Sands over the Easter holidays. If you are looking for a family hotel then look no further... The hotel is excellent.
We stayed for a week, which included breakfast, high tea for the kids and then dinner for adults later. The quality of the food was excellent, great choice & variety. The listening facility provided by the hotel is brilliant and enabled my husband and I am opportunity to eat alone every evening!
The facilities are great, we swam every day, used the outdoor and indoor play facilities (including much loved bouncy castles!) and my husband was very pleased with the 9 hole pitch & putt course on site.
There is a really relaxed atmosphere in the hotel, and the staff are so helpful and professional.
Location wise it's great, only a short drive from the gorgeous Watergate Bay, and then close to The Eden Project, and the amazing St Michael's Mount.

My only criticism, and it is only a small one, is that some of the bedrooms could do with updating... But they are really spacious and ideal for larger families (what a joy to be in a hotel they doesn't assume we are all families of 4!).

All in all I give this hotel a big thumbs up and would definitely look to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumof3girlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
11.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing