We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have spa treatments!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My overall stay at sands last week was excellent but I have got to say my last minute treatment in their spa was excellent. The spa was warm, cosy and was Immaculate. My therapist was so welcoming and friendly and provided me with a fantastic spa taster experience. Feeling so relaxed after my treatment I was shown to the spa's relaxation room. I never wanted to leave to drive home . Wish I had booked in sooner many thanks to all the staff at the hotel ! Will come again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wattson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is excellent. It seems to cater well for both families and couples as there are many different dining options, room types and bar/lounge areas. This was our first ever hotel visit with 3 children and after a stressful start (baby's sleeping bag left at home), we soon relaxed. The rooms are excellent and the childrens' room has plenty of room, good sized beds and a proper door between it and the rest of the room (bathroom and parents' room). We used the childcare once and the children really enjoyed the childrens' club and wanted to go back. The pool is not particularly large but although the hotel was full, we only ever shared it with one other family. There are plenty of areas inside and outside to relax and for the children to play. It is also very close to 2 excellent beaches - Porth and Watergate Bay and you can walk from the hotel by crossing a fairly quiet road or drive a few minutes to get to the nearest. I was surprised about the negative comments about breakfast which we thought was really good and catered for just about every taste. The evening a la carte meals were excellent and we really enjoyed our childfree dinner every night (we made use of the baby listening service). There was also great live entertainment (2 local singers) on the Saturday night which we were surprised we enjoyed so much. There were a few negatives - we were given the wrong information about the breakfast time and were really irritated as we had to keep the children occupied in our room for a full hour longer than we needed to) and the fact that you have to pay to use the gym - a small thing but feels really penny pinching. But these were outweighed by the positives - great friendly staff, fantastic food, lovely rooms, great atmosphere - and we would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResort, Owner at Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi
Thanks for your kind words about Sands, I'm glad that you and your family got the most from holiday.
With regard to the gym we previously had a small gym with limited equipment that was free. We canvassed guests to see if they would be happy to pay for the use of a modern gym with air conditioning and the overiding response was that a £10 charge for the length of the holiday was reasonable.
The gym cost over £100,000 to build and has high ongoing maintanance costs to keep the state of the art equipment safe, clean and up to date. Without the small charge we make we would not be able to provide such a nice gym.
I hope you enjoyed the new equipment.
Regards

Nicholas Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

spent the night here while traveling the uk was great . the food the staff was was excellent will be back on my next visit to this country we have stayed and eaten in over 30 places in the last 3 weeks more reviews to follow.

Room Tip: grab a room facing the road for a amazing view .pictures to follow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is pleasant enough, but it will not surpass your modest expectations. The rooms are well sized and clean enough. There is a soft play area for kids inside, and a large playground outside with hedge maze, swings, etc. A day care is organized for school age children. There is an indoor swimming pool, which is teeming kids all the time (outdoor pool was not opened because of the weather). The spa consists of two small steam rooms next to the indoor pool. Nearest beach is 15 minutes walk towards Newquay, once you cross a small busy road in front of the hotel.

Breakfast food is quite bad - tinned tomatoes, tinned lukewarm bins, microwaved croissants, greasy bread and some sort of sausage, eggs, choco pops and unappealing muesli - not good. The dinners are completely opposite. They are seriously good to the point of being excellent. The food is tasty, well cooked and nicely presented on the plate. Evening food was the best part of our stay.

The hotel staff is attentive and helpful. Help carrying bags up and down the maze of stairs was much appreciated.

Overall we have had a pleasant stay, but I doubt we will go back.

Room Tip: Some rooms can only be reached via a maze of stairs. Get help carrying your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank portos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResort, Owner at Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the many nice things you say about the hotel and food.

Whilst I am sorry that you were not pleased with the breakfast I do feel your description of our breakfast offer is a little unfair.

We are not a boutique hotel and do not have an onsite bakery but we would never heat any bread item in a microwave and I cannot recognise your description of our toast bread as greasy.

We do not buy a made up muesli but instead have a muesli bar where you can make your own from a selection of dried fruits, seeds, oats, bran and toasted crunchy flakes.

In addition to the coco pops, which many children like, we also serve porridge, cornflakes and weetabix. There is yoghurt and fresh fruit each morning as well as rolls, toast, a choice of teas and coffees and fruit juices.

You are quite right we don't make our own baked beans as tinned are more popular. We rotate tinned and fresh tomatoes as children often prefer tinned. We have 2 types of sausages, one for children that are low on seasoning which is maybe the one you tasted and one pork and herbs from a local butcher.

I accept we don't provide a gourmet breakfast but hope that the choice we provide is sufficient to give a good breakfast for adults and children.

I am glad we pleased you more with our dinner.

Regards

Nicholas Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Didn't look forward to this as we were due to visit with a group from a choir and the last time we were in newquay the place we stayed in was disappointing but this hotel has been outstanding. My happiness has no doubt been helped by bank holiday wonderful weather, but the rooms are well appointed, lovely sea views, nice warm pool and really excellent food. Staff are delightful and there are a lot of small children who are fed and entertained away from us oldies and we are hardly aware of them. Terrific!

Stayed: May 2013
3  Thank englishmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We spent 5 nights over Easter with dinner, bed and breakfast. Once our boys discovered the evening club with children of similar ages they ate early at the childrens tea allowing us parents to eat our 3 course meal alone overlooking the clifftops and seaview. The food was good and the setting lovely.

We ate with our boys the first few evenings in the section reserved for 8+ years. This was a nice family experience with waiter service and 3 courses. Water brought to the table as a matter of course and no issue with the children choosing from either the kids or the adults menu.

There's a great 9 hole pitch and putt course on site which we all loved and acres of space for the children (12 and 8) to roam safely in. The staff couldn't be friendlier and there's lots for the children to do indoors and outdoors. With an on site gym for adults, everyone is catered for. Wish we had discovered it earlier. Kids clubs run to age 12 and there was entertainment most days including visits from local attractions like the aquarium and magicians, comedians, etc.

A thoughtfully provided holiday for all.

Room Tip: We found the family suites overlooking the outdoor pool very good - some separation from the childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Just returned from a fabulous 4 day break at the Sands Resort! 6 girls with 12 children between us (aged 3m - 3 1/2) and this hotel exceeded all our expectations. Thoughtful attention to detail and attentive, friendly and helpful staff made this hotel stand out. Bottle warmers and sterilisers provided on request, DVD player in rooms, great outdoor play areas with zip wire and pirate ship, soft play room and a lovely warm indoor swimming pool made it easy to keep kids busy and happy on site. Children's tea really well done and the baby listening service manned at reception meant that all the adults could relax over a 'grown up' dinner in the evening. Watergate beach is a short walk or drive and we found this great for the kids, with lovely food in beach cafe. Lots of other attractions/fab beaches nearby. Thoroughly recommend for a break that gives every member of the family chance to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs with sea view for great sunset and morning sun streaming through the large windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyMc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £68 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing