We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly fantastic fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit having found the hotel on a random Internet search. We could not have been luckier. As a family of 4 with children aged 5 and 1, this was a perfect location. The hotel is entirely kid-friendly and we could easily have spent our whole week just using the swimming pools and outdoor play areas. Everything we experienced really made this a perfect holiday.
Need to know:
We booked a Suite and this meant the kids had a separate room - bonus. It also allowed a wonderful sea view. Furnishings etc were good quality though, for me, the bed was a bit hard and I would have liked a stronger shower. The kids' room was by the exit door - a bigger child could maybe get the door open but the hotel do provide stair gates. Rooms also have a fridge which is very handy. No aircon but fans. Overall given it is not actually your own home, you can't really fault the rooms.
Food - really good quality. Some reviews have been a bit mean in my opinion. Yes, breakfast is buffet-style and can get busy but I think a choice of cereal, cooked items, yoghurt, fruit etc is pretty good. (And no one comments on seconds!)
Kids high tea is great and we were lucky that our 5 year old found something he liked every night!
The restaurant menu is varied and the quality very high given the hotel is busy - food was served to my awkward menu-altering taste without a bat of an eyelid. Wine/ beer prices are very reasonable given it's a hotel but I am from the south-east so perhaps used paying inflated prices everyday.
Facilities - the entertainment programme is excellent and our son loved the Clown/Magician/Disco. He begged to go to the Kids' Club and the girls there were fantastic. This also meant we managed a 'grown-up' meal whilst also using baby listening. First time we've done it and all was well. (Yes, I was a 'yummy mummy sipping white wine' - whilst also panicking and checking the room every 10 mins(!)). But it's a good service if you want to brave it and it helped our son make friends of a similar age.
The entertainment on site - pools/play areas etc are also very good for a range of ages. We had great fun playing tennis and getting lost in the maze.

The hotel was spotless and one poor boy seemed to spend his entire day cleaning the glass doors bless him. Our room was serviced every day and towels etc were replaced at our request.
All the staff were extremely friendly and always said Hello and listened to my son's tales with cheery smiles.
This (with the exception of the road over Bodmin) was the least stressful holiday we have ever had - we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glad2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our first visit to Cornwall and the weather was just superb but had it rained I am sure my little boy would still have had fun. He is constantly on the go and was never bored at this hotel because of the variety of activities on offer. 2 bouncy castles, 2 playgrounds, outdoor and indoor pool, maze, soft play it was just fantastic. He also had a little room of his own so once he was in bed we could watch TV(looking out to sea!) without disturbing him. We all loved it and the staff were fantastic too. Thanks Sands.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Our third trip and as usual it was fabulous. We have children of 7&5 that adore sands and none of us wanted to leave. The staff were excellent, the food amazing and the service is beyond compare. We all came away rested and relaxed and will definitely be back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Returned here after a five year gap, stayed over Easter period with Grandparents and three children, 13,10,8. Found the room slightly too small for us all now, however they have a couple of slightly larger rooms that perhaps we would try for a return visit. The hotel is quite expensive but has great facilities for the children to stay entertained. Also its location is brilliant a short distance from Watergate and Porth beach, a great walk whatever the weather.

Dinner in the restaurant in the evening was really very nice friendly service and tasty food. Breakfast was disappointing in comparison, limited choice which although some elements change still provides a limited offer. Breakfast service was also less impressive, perhaps need an extra person to deliver the same attention as dinner.

Overall a really enjoyable stay in a friendly clean Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We can't recommend Sands Resort highly enough for families, especially those with young children and if, like us, the thought of managing various small child-related logistics whilst away is a bit daunting.
The hotel itself is very very pleasant, maintained to an excellent standard, very clean. There were always plenty of staff around so there was never any problem finding someone if you needed anything, and their attitude was always as positive and helpful as it comes (for example, our daughter was sick in her car seat twice and they just took away all the icky clothes and carseat cover and got them cleaned for us).
The hotel is big enough to have all the amenities you'd expect of a good hotel - nice spa, indoor and outdoor pool, plus plenty of things to keep the kids happy such as the playground, maze, bouncy castle, kids clubs, but at the same time small enough to have a friendly feel about it and not too huge.
However the absolute highlight for me was the restaurant arrangements and food. I always worry about finding decent food for my toddler at that awkward ~5pm time when most cafe's have closed and many restaurants aren't yet open. The hotel serves 'high tea' for little ones, and the food was always spot of for fussy little eaters (simple stuff like pasta, potatoes, veggies, easy meat dishes yoghurts, custard etc).
After high tea there was children's entertainment which our daughter loved, and then from 7pm the main evening meal was served. Some days we took our daughter with us and sat in the family area, and other days we used the baby-listening service and had proper adult time in the adults-only area of the restaurant. The menu was outstanding and some of the best food I've eaten. The hotel was so flexible and happy to accommodate whatever worked for us in the evenings (I don't know if this would be possible in busier periods).
I also loved our 2-room 'comfort suite', as it meant we could sit and chat or watch tv without worrying about disturbing our daughter in the other bedroom.
Location-wise it's about 3 miles outside Newquay, with a couple of nice beaches within walking distance (great rock-pooling!).
I'm not normally one for returning to a place twice, but Sands made our holiday so enjoyable that this is one place I'd definitely consider going to again next year.
The only 'negatives' - and these are really minor - are that 1) the water pressure in the bathroom was very low, but in fairness the hotel already commented on this to me saying that they are aware and working on it, so hopefully solved by next year. And 2) the lunchtime menu for kids could have been a bit healthier by our standards (nuggets/burgers/sausages and chips etc) - but then we were out most days anyway so that wasn't a biggie.
I don't think you'll find much better in terms of a family friendly holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After the Great British Washout of 2012, where summer in the UK never turned up and was replaced by torrential downpours, I felt a little cool on the idea of a staycation again this year. We'd managed to go abroad in June but with some friends we decided to travel together to Newquay the following month.

Virtually all other reviews mention how child-friendly, or, more precisely, child-orientated, Sands is and certainly you'd struggle to find something better. Located just north of Newquay in the quiet Porth area, the facilities available are impressive, including indoor and outdoor pools, adventure playgrounds, a zip line, tennis court, football pitch and mini-golf. The hotel adds day and evening kids clubs, an evening creche plus a 5pm kids-only meal-time too. This was great, because it meant adults can enjoy a three-course meal with a break from the little ones.

That's not to say that couples or friends wouldn't want to stay, but families are best supported. This includes the rooms too. We stayed in 114, in the southern-most block on the top floor. It has a double bed at one end, and two built-in lowered cabin-style beds that can double as settees. Each room has two flat screens TVs as well - another useful touch for parents - while ours had a balcony with fantastic views east.

The hotel was exceptionally well presented in all communal areas as well as the rooms. Clearly investment has been made in this sense; the hotel was never short-staffed and all rooms were serviced every day. Staff were friendly and helpful too; one evening, when our kids and some of the others had laid all the lounge cushions out on the dance floor, I thought the Duty Manager would go mad when she saw it - but just came into the room and laughed along.

Sands offers accommodation on a half-board basis and again, this doesn't disappoint with a wide variety at breakfast and different choices each evening for the three courses. All our evening meals were excellent. For an extra £7 or so, you could pick an á la Carte option too. Throw in kids' evening entertainment and it's the complete package.

Other than suggesting adding air conditioning to the rooms (an expensive investment, admittedly) and perhaps expanding WiFi to work further away from reception, the only real observation I would make is that the up-front cost feels quite high. We paid just under £250 per night for five nights. When you subtract the breakfast and dinner costs you would spend elsewhere plus the free activities on hand, the total gets more competitive, but there will certainly be cheaper family options around Newquay.

However, if you're the kind of traveller that seeks complete peace of mind when on holiday, especially with children in tow, Sands wins an easy five stars here.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms will have a better view of the sea or surrounding countryside, but regardless th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having stayed in Sands in July I feel obliged to recommend it to any families with active young children. The range of activities & options for kids on site is superb ranging from mini golf, bouncy castles, football & tennis, indoor & outdoor pools, play areas, soft play and many more things I'm probably forgetting. The bar prices are reasonable - especially for soft drinks which is usually a gripe when staying in hotels and the food excellent from both a choice & quality point of view. Our room had a fantastic view across to the sea and it was great to have a separate sleeping area for our son so that we could watch TV and have a drink after he went to sleep. The only fault was a lack of air conditioning which meant the evenings got fairly toasty in our room after a day of being warmed by the sun but it was probably a price worth paying for the view & excellent weather we enjoyed throughout our stay.
The immediate area is also first class - Watergate Bay was our favourite beach but some of the other towns such as Perranporth and Padstow are also worth a visit. For a bit of variety I would also recommend attractions such as Crealys which our two year old loved and the local zoo.
Having visited Cornwall for the first time I'm certain we'll be back and can't imagine staying anywhere other than Sands.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superlambana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £68 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing