We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay & has to be the worse experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel as a business traveller on three previous times. Each time the room has become increasing worse. This one room 69 is the worse I've experienced in 20 years of travel.

It's tiny. See pictures. The bed is too small and in only 5'10". The noise from the main door and the constant footfall up the stairs hits every tired bone in my body.

I won't be staying here tomorrow. Shocking that they would put anyone in this room let alone a regular customer.

Eg The kettle cannot be filled from the sink as its too small. There is no iron in the room.

If you are a business traveller/group find another hotel esp in peak times. It's chaos.

If you are a family. Check you room first. They let you kids run riot they will love it here....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResort, Manager at Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

You are quite right, we are not a businessman's hotel, (indeed in a previous e-mail to you in July we did say to you "we are not a businessman's hotel, we do have a lot of families here"). Having stayed with us 3 times already this year we would have hoped the family nature of the hotel to be apparent.

In peak school holidays when every room is let to families on their summer holidays it can be a lively place. The reason most families like us is because their children can run around having fun.

With regard to the room, when you booked it a few days ago we told you it was the only room available. When you have stayed previosly we have given you as big a room as we had available, this week this was the only room available. In our confirmation we ask you to look at the room on our website where their are photos and room plans to make sure you know what you are booking. The description for this room is "Small single room with bath room. Ideal for those on a budget or as an additional room for a teenager." The pictures show a small room. Had we another room available we would have offered it to you.

The bed which I have just measured is 6' 3" x 3' though I can see that as it is a small room it may look smaller.

We try to be as honest as we can about our hotel and its rooms and I'm sorry we failed to make everything clear on this occasion. I have accordingly refunded, in full, all your room charges to your account.

Had you come to reception we would certainly have understood you disappointment and booked you into another hotel.

Regards
Nicholas Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
There are newer reviews for Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We are a family with a 4yr old and a 6yr old. We have taken a holiday here at the beginning of the summer for the last three years, because we find it can't be beaten for a 'stress free' family holiday in the UK.
The children love it here and because of the layout, it never feels crowded.
The location close to the beach is fabulous, but the staff are also a highlight of the hotel. They are always smiling and genuinely helpful and caring. The food is a decent standard for the children and the adults - and we are a family who eats out at good restaurants a lot. You have to be reasonable about the number of guests they are catering for, and the standard is more than okay. Portion sizes were just about right this year, too. I have read a previous review about breakfast being in a 'small corner' and have no idea what the reviewer is talking about.
The best thing is the 'children's tea' and the use of very secure childcare clubs, so parents can have dinner alone for a change.
The grounds have plenty of things to do: a maze, two playgrounds, mini-golf, pool, croquet etc. They are well maintained and always being worked upon by gardeners.
If you book a big enough room, you will not be disappointed with the size. We like the contemporary suites, and the adult bed is the largest I have ever seen.
The only mild drawbacks I would state would be that the balconies (non-accessible) need to be cleaned - I agree that there was an unacceptable level of detritus there, as one reviewer had stated, and detracted from the otherwise stunning view of the sea. The second is that the entertainment needs to be varied from year to year. We are seeing the same - albeit great - acts over and over again to the point the children could remember what magic tricks were going to happen. All the same, they really enjoyed another great year, and we couldn't have had a better holiday. Thank you so much - you clearly understand what families need! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Read up on the different options - there are generous suites or standard rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent 3 weeks at this wonderful, family friendly hotel last summer and ever since then, all our children (girl 5, boy 3) kept saying was "when can we return to the orange hotel". To be honest, it was all my husband and I kept saying as well. It has an official rating of 3 stars but should be 3.5. However, for the childrens facilities it is definitely worth 5 stars in our opinion. The staff are wonderful and everything is aimed at keeping the children safe and amused, which as every parent knows is all important if they are to enjoy the holiday as well. There is entertainment each evening at 5.45 for about an hour after childrens high tea, our children particularly liked the dancing and games evening held by the kids clubs girls. This year we made the most of the evening kids club so we could enjoy an adult only dinner each night. Special thanks to Cait, Gemma, Leanne, Katie, Jade and Theresa. Our children loved them and our little boy would often be curled up in a chair having a cuddle with one of the them when we went to collect at 9.15 each evening. The swimming pools are lovely, outside one especially nice when the weather is really hot. Both could only be improved by having life guards on duty. We chose to stay in a Contempary family sea view room (29) which had a wonderfully comfortable queen size bed and separate bedroom for the children. Lovely and spacious with a (slightly obscured) view of the sea. (Last year stayed in a Comfort Pool Suite and found the standard double bed too small and very soft.) A lovely team of girls come in to clean and make the beds every day. The buffet breakfast is lovely with lots of choice including cooked food, cereals, juice, toast, pastries, yoghurts and fruit. Dinner is just as good, 3 courses, although as a vegetarian I would have liked a choice each evening instead of just one option, having said that, if you check the menu and speak to the chef early in the day they will try and offer you an alternative. Favourite desert: banoffee pie, closely followed by the cheesecake with its daily accompaniment. Hubbys favourite: the crème brulee. We left this hotel feeling we had really had a holiday. We have already booked next years 2 week holiday. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleCaviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a very pleasant family resort catering for guests of all ages. Stayed with my mother (aged 90) who is a wheelchair user. Very pleasant stat with excellent food and very kind and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms good for families with children as well as a specially designed room for disabled...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 433KateP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit having found the hotel on a random Internet search. We could not have been luckier. As a family of 4 with children aged 5 and 1, this was a perfect location. The hotel is entirely kid-friendly and we could easily have spent our whole week just using the swimming pools and outdoor play areas. Everything we experienced really made this a perfect holiday.
Need to know:
We booked a Suite and this meant the kids had a separate room - bonus. It also allowed a wonderful sea view. Furnishings etc were good quality though, for me, the bed was a bit hard and I would have liked a stronger shower. The kids' room was by the exit door - a bigger child could maybe get the door open but the hotel do provide stair gates. Rooms also have a fridge which is very handy. No aircon but fans. Overall given it is not actually your own home, you can't really fault the rooms.
Food - really good quality. Some reviews have been a bit mean in my opinion. Yes, breakfast is buffet-style and can get busy but I think a choice of cereal, cooked items, yoghurt, fruit etc is pretty good. (And no one comments on seconds!)
Kids high tea is great and we were lucky that our 5 year old found something he liked every night!
The restaurant menu is varied and the quality very high given the hotel is busy - food was served to my awkward menu-altering taste without a bat of an eyelid. Wine/ beer prices are very reasonable given it's a hotel but I am from the south-east so perhaps used paying inflated prices everyday.
Facilities - the entertainment programme is excellent and our son loved the Clown/Magician/Disco. He begged to go to the Kids' Club and the girls there were fantastic. This also meant we managed a 'grown-up' meal whilst also using baby listening. First time we've done it and all was well. (Yes, I was a 'yummy mummy sipping white wine' - whilst also panicking and checking the room every 10 mins(!)). But it's a good service if you want to brave it and it helped our son make friends of a similar age.
The entertainment on site - pools/play areas etc are also very good for a range of ages. We had great fun playing tennis and getting lost in the maze.

The hotel was spotless and one poor boy seemed to spend his entire day cleaning the glass doors bless him. Our room was serviced every day and towels etc were replaced at our request.
All the staff were extremely friendly and always said Hello and listened to my son's tales with cheery smiles.
This (with the exception of the road over Bodmin) was the least stressful holiday we have ever had - we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glad2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our first visit to Cornwall and the weather was just superb but had it rained I am sure my little boy would still have had fun. He is constantly on the go and was never bored at this hotel because of the variety of activities on offer. 2 bouncy castles, 2 playgrounds, outdoor and indoor pool, maze, soft play it was just fantastic. He also had a little room of his own so once he was in bed we could watch TV(looking out to sea!) without disturbing him. We all loved it and the staff were fantastic too. Thanks Sands.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Our third trip and as usual it was fabulous. We have children of 7&5 that adore sands and none of us wanted to leave. The staff were excellent, the food amazing and the service is beyond compare. We all came away rested and relaxed and will definitely be back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £86 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing