We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at Sands in August with my husband, three children and their partners and my five grandchildren aged between three and nine. We all had a wonderful time and I thoroughly recommend it. Good sized rooms, excellent facilities and really good food for both children and adults.

We all swam in the indoor and outdoor pools, played golf, tennis and table tennis (so popular they could do with a second table for when the weather is wet!)! The maze and children's playgrounds were also great fun.

The beaches nearby are really lovely as well so we left the car in the car park for our entire stay.
We sat with the children while they ate at the early sitting after which they watched the entertainment which was mostly very good, especially the puppet show. At about 7 pm the children went to the Kids Club, which they absolutely loved, so we all enjoyed a relaxing adult dinner at the end of the day. The restaurant had a great ambience and all the staff were efficient and helpful.

Only two very slight negative comments: we were all in adjacent rooms and when we came back from the beach and all wanted showers / baths at the same time the system could not cope so the water pressure was rather poor. Not sure what they could do about this though...? Only other problem was on the Saturday evening for the children's teatime it was really busy and the staff were struggling to deal with the demand, although they all did their best. But these were only two very minor details in an otherwise perfect holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    184
    60
    20
    5
See reviews for
703
87
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Arrived home yesterday from our 3rd trip to Sands Resort! I will echo another reviewer by saying I genuinely don't believe there is any better a place to stay if you are looking for a family hotel holiday in the UK.

So what has made us return 3 times? We have 2 children so we opt for a top floor contemporary suite with a sea view. The room is well thought out, there is a great size bedroom and lounge area with the most amazing view of Porth and Newquay beaches, and the sunsets can be stunning. There is a ample size bathroom and good storage. The kids bedroom is fine with enough space for their stuff plus a TV and DVD to keep them occupied when needed. The rooms are nicely decorated and are well cleaned daily.

The dining arrangements are really good. You can choose to eat with your children or opt for the adult dining, which means you get a holiday to. We mix and match and the baby listening service I feel really confident in. The choice of food on the DDB, is really good with local produce being used. The kids loved their choice at tea to.

The facilities are great with the in door swimming pool just the right size and temperature and we could always have a really good splash about. Loads of stuff to do outside to.

The kids evening entertainment is fab! Chloe the Clown, Billy Whiz and The Sea Puppet Show kept the kids mesmerised.

Finally out and about there is so much to do and see with Porth Beach on your doorstep, Mawgan Porth and Watergate Bay a 10 minute drive.

We will return to Sands a 4th time as the hotel and its staff are great and it has really special memories for us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaW39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Have just returned from a 4 day break with an 8 month old. Stayed in a pool view suite which worked well for us. This was our first family holiday in this country and we went with open minds having previously stayed at much more expensive hotels but ones which don't welcome children as much as this one.

Location: Everything you need is a short drive away. The beach is a few minutes walk but it's down a steep hill meaning you'll have to walk back up again. However there is a car park opposite the beach and the beach is stunning. Fab views out to sea at the front of the hotel and rolling hills out the back. Our suite overlooked the hillsides which gave us a stunning view.

Rooms: As you entered the suite you walked straight into the main adult bedroom which was very tastefully decorated and had bedside tables, a dressing table, chair, tv, large mirror and case rack. There was a hairdryer in the drawer. The bed was of a decent enough size. The bathroom was just off the main bedroom and was nice & modern and looked recently decorated. It had a cabinet and a shower over the bath which was fairly powerful. The shower head was large and also detached which was useful & it was also positioned quite high up as other reviews have commented it was too low. Soap and shower gel included, but you may wish to still take your own. From the main bedroom there was a small corridor which had loads of storage for cases and clothes. Plenty of hangers and iron + board included plus a safe. Next to the storage area was a small space with tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge. The corridor led to the family room which was clean but vey simply decorated. It had a sofa, small table, two single beds and I'd requested a travel cot which was put up before we arrived. In this family room was another small tv and dvd player. We also had a lovely balcony to sit on in the evening.

Room Flaws: The tvs were very small and could do with being a bit bigger. Also, there are no doors between the main bedroom and family room, which is fine but if a curtain could be drawn it would make it easier for watching tv and having lights on in main bedroom without disturbing the children in the other room. Doors may prevent you from hearing your child at night (we took monitor but it wasn't required) but a curtain would work well. The bathroom sink was too small for a family bathroom and we got wet a couple of times from splashed water. A line above the bath or on the balcony would also have been useful to hang wet beach towels. A bottle opener would be good (only a minor issue though).

Facilities: As our baby is only 8 months old, we didn't use many of the activities, but there was an adventure playground, mini golf, swimming pool and games room. We used the pool a couple of times and it was of a nice size but I'm not sure if it would have been too small if the hotel was up to full occupancy. I requested a highchair in our room because our baby gets far too distracted at the breakfast table and won't eat anything despite trying (very nosey child ha ha), so to ensure she ate before we left for the day, it was easier to feed her in the room. This request was granted within minutes of asking. The travel cot was fine, worked well and saved us taking our own, although we did take our own travel cot mattress and sheet. The cleaniness was fine, nothing spectacular, but nothing wrong either. We didn't use the spa or listening service so cannot comment on these. We only used the bar once as children are not allowed after a certain time (either 7pm or 8pm, I can't remember which). We didn't see any of the evening entertainment so again cannot comment.

Meals: We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but the breakfast was fine and cooked well. There was plenty of variety on offer: fruit, yogurts, toast, cereals, juices, pastries and traditional cooked. Each morning the breakfast varied slightly (scrambled eggs one day, fried another. Different pastries etc) which made for a nice change. There were plenty of highchairs and enough space for everyone. Can't comment on the evening meals as we didn't use this service.

Room Service: There is a £5 charge for room service per plate, which is in addition to the cost of the food. I think this is excessive and the hotel is missing a trick. Although they provide the listening service, I think they could provide a more comprehensive menu and perhaps a drinks menu for those who wish to stay in their rooms. Instead of trying to deter guests from using the service by charging so much for it, they ought to embrace it. I think guests (especially those with young babies) would order more from it rather than bringing in takeaways from outside so as not to leave their children.

Overall this hotel is great for children and no ask was too great. A really family friendly hotel. A totally different type of holiday for us but would book again and recommend. Go with an open mind, don't over expect too much and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Booked for a week, checked out after one night.

Room was very badly located. It was very close to the road (see picture taken from bed) which was busy and the walk from the restaurant in the evening was 2mins which made us feel uncomfortable about leaving 3 children under 5 in the room on just baby listening.

Restaurant was a bit like a school canteen/army mess.

All a bit hectic.

Managed to get a cancellation at a family hotel in Fowey which we loved. Family friendly but still with adult luxuries.

On the plus side other people seemed to be having a great time it just wasn't really our thing, although if they'd had another room for us to swap to we probably would've stayed as easier than moving. The manager was very pleasant and kindly refunded the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmab04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 10 nights at the Sands Resort in August 2013. We have two very lively boys one almost 6 and one almost 4. We had a contemporary suite on the 2nd floor with a sea view. As other reviewers have said the adult side of the room with the sea view aspect is lovely, the kids room isn't so good. We found ours very stuffy indeed and impossible to get rid of the foisty smell. My main gripe with the kids room is that it had twin beds with a chest of drawers between the two. Our eldest son managed to roll over in the night and cut his eye on one of the sharp corners which protruded just above the height of the bed. 3cms higher it would have damaged his eye. As it was he just ended up with a nasty cut. We told the hotel and to their credit they logged the incident and immediately arrived and removed the chest of drawers. I can see this as being a major source of injury for other children though, so beware!

The other let-down (if you can call it that) was that the maid service was somewhat hit and miss - our room never felt well cleaned and the bathroom floor wasn't cleaned thoroughly once in the whole 10 days. We had to call down for a bath mat and after the first day didn't get any more milk/coffee supplies unless we asked reception.

The hotel is totally geared up for kids - ours absolutely loved it. Billy Wiz the magician and Chloe the Clown were a real hit - the boys were mesmerized. A big shout out to kids club too - our children have never actually begged to go to a kids club before - but they had so much fun here they went almost every night, allowing us the real luxury of the adult dining room and the superb food. The kids club staff were fab and very caring, they knew everyone's names and went out of their way to be friendly.

In 10 nights there was only one disappointing meal (risotto which was very wet and tasteless). The other nights the choices and meals were superb. A bit too superb - both my husband and I gained weight and craved beans on toast just to have a simple meal.

The facilities for kids here are second to none. From the maze/zip wire/bouncy castles, to the tennis and golf opportunities and both indoor and outdoor pools there is something for any active child to enjoy. We were impressed. We were so lucky to have good weather and sitting by the outdoor pool watching our children giggle delightedly at the water jets shooting them and whizzing down the slide was a bonus - who'd have thought England would allow for that!

My advice to anyone booking would be to go for the second floor rooms with a sea view (as it's lovely) and to book B&B and not DBB as the food is just too much! I would have given this 5 stars had it not been for the safety element of the bedroom (plus the fixed head shower at the wrong height and with zero water pressure - think trickle) and the fact that the menu and entertainment repeats weekly and not fortnightly so if you're there 10 days you get the same options on the same days and same kids entertainers. However, these are very minor gripes in an overall excellent holiday!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with sea view are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were recommended to Sands Resort by numerous friends and came away (as did out 6 and 2 year olds) having had an enjoyable stay and would certainly consider returning.

This is a very good hotel which has been extensively and accurately described in other reviews, therefore you can get a pretty good idea what to expect before you arrive. Whilst it is difficult to be too critical of this hotel if you first read the hotel’s honesty policy on its website, I felt there were a few minor aspects which would have made our stay even more enjoyable (and would have made this a 5* review).

We stayed in a ground floor contemporary suite. The main bedroom/living area was bright, very spacious with a comfortable big bed (exactly as shown in the website) but the children’s sleeping area has minimal natural light and often felt stuffy as it had no opening windows (there was a fan), not that the kids noticed or minded. Bearing in mind this is a family hotel and this room category offered DVD players and a games console, the TVs are too small.

The bathroom let the room down as it hasn’t been designed well. The shower is over the bath with a fixed showerhead which has been positioned too low for an average man to stand under. This also makes it difficult to wash children’s hair. There is also very little shelf space. In-room toiletries are limited to a wall mounted shower gel and soap. Best bet is to bring your own. Also, there was no clothes line over the bath to dry swimwear. We did request an airer on a couple of occasions during our stay but were told that there were only a few in the hotel. This would be an easy fix for the hotel. Attention to detail by housekeeping was lacking on some of linen/towels provided but otherwise the quality was fine.

Dinner in the family dining room isn’t exactly relaxing (not the hotel’s fault!) but we found the (adult) menu to be varied, fresh, well presented and of a higher standard than we had expected. The children’s menu is more limited but the kitchen is accommodating. By contrast, we did eat in the adult dining room on one night and this was an oasis of calm in comparison! Breakfast could do with a little extra on the continental choice.

The staff/guest ratio felt pretty high and all staff we met were friendly and helpful.

All in all in was an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Road can be noisy with the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you want a family friendly hotel near excellent beaches why go anywhere else? The rooms are incredibly comfortable where you can relax after a busy day. The staff are incredibly friendly and will go the extra mile to help you and your little ones to have a great holiday. The food is delicious and with a wide variety you will not go hungry! Our daughter has special needs and the staff are really helpful and will always talk to her and us even if they are busy. Our son has got a food phobia and the staff will do everything they can to make him feel relaxed even going the extra mile to cook him something for tea which is not on the menu. You are made to feel relaxed and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff and they always have a smile on their faces. The children's club is well worth its weight in gold and again the staff are really friendly. If your little one has a small wobbly there is nothing than a hug and a cuddle will not cure! Otherwise they will come and find you if it is something more serious. We will certainly be going back for our 4th visit next year as it is definitely home from home and we are treated like long lost friends! If you decide not to stay at this fantastic hotel then it is your loss!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the sea is slightly noisy due to traffic noise but the views are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,011 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing