We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toddler heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
2 reviews
“Toddler heaven!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Myself and my son visited the sands for 3 nights in Sept and we loved it!
The staff were brilliant, adult meals fantastic, children's ok. The price was outstanding for 3 nights including breakfast and dinner for us both.
This hotel has everything a toddler needs to have fun and everything a tired overworked single mummy needs to relax. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovethecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    179
    59
    20
    5
See reviews for
687
83
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have just returned from a three day weekend staying at this lovely resort hotel and spa. Although it is absolutely marvellous for families with so much attention to detail, we really enjoyed staying there as a couple. It was out of the school holidays and although there were families there we didn't feel 'swamped' by them. Our bedroom was actually a family suite on
the second floor overlooking the sea. Our bed was a comfortable super kingsize and the room was very spacious with a part vaulted ceiling and lounge area. There is a road directly outside
but it wasn't really noisy and at night we didn't hear anything and slept really well.
There is a separate restaurant for adults and although the menu is table d'hote with three choices for each course and a special for the mains it had been well thought through and the choice was very good. The food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious - complements to the chef. The breakfasts had plenty of choice and were cooked to order. The waiters and waitresses were very friendly and efficient, I know one was called Lilly but didn't
get the others names but you know who you are.
The housekeeping staff do a great job and everywhere was very clean. We were so busy out and
about that we didn't have time to sample the spa or the indoor pool or any games such as table tennis but they are there if you want them.
This hotel is in a great location on the outskirts of Newquay and makes a great base, we can
honestly say there weren't any negatives to our stay and we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 600DeniseD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at the Sands for a week in August. Even though it was peak school holiday season, there was plenty of space and it never felt too crowded. We stayed in a pool view suite as we booked very late and this was the best available. We did find that the double bed in the pool suite was a bit too small and soft but that is more personal liking than the fault of the hotel.

Our children aged 5 and 2 loved everything. Particular highlights were both swimming pools, the bouncy castles, golf, zip wire, maze and the kids club.

The food was spot on. On our first night, we tried family dining at 7pm but it was a bit too late for our youngest. So we switched to the kids high tea, followed by kids entertainment, last swim and then we booked the children into evening kids club. This was pretty perfect for us as my husband and I could then have a quiet dinner, we would pick up kids from club, straight to bed for them and then no early rising the next day.

Breakfast could be quite busy but there were always plenty of tables available. Breakfast buffet very good with plenty of choice for cooked food, cereals, fruit and a very nice porridge.

The borrowing of wet suits and body boards make the trips to the beach much easier. There is a very good attention to detail across the board.

Staff are lovely. Very friendly without being in your face. We enjoyed our stay at the Sands so much that we have done something we have never done before - we have booked a return visit. Next year, May half term to celebrate my 40th birthday! That's how lovely the place is.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinolaandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just perfect for a holiday with small children. We first experienced Sands for a week in May '13 following a recommendation from a friend, returned in September because it was so good. Following our May holiday, our 3 year old, totally unprompted, thanked me for taking him there and asked when we could go back.
The hotel has so many plus points that I can't list them all, but highlights for us are: the soft play room; the numerous indoor and outdoor play areas; the pool; beach kit available to borrow; location - easy access to beaches and attractions; exceptionally friendly and helpful staff; food quality and choice; kids club (some free time for mummy and daddy!!); seaview from rooms and, last but definitely not least, the listening service that enabled us to enjoy an excellent dinner as a couple every night, watching the sunset.
Highly recommended for families with small children. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a lovely week at the hotel early September with our 2yr old. Really loved the facilities for both kids & adults. Great location for exploring Cornwall. Booked half board thinking we could always look elsewhere for evening meal if not very appealing, but the food was so delicious that we ate in every night whilst using the convenient baby listening service. Loved the kids high tea, and not once felt that children were not welcome. This is a family hotel and wonderful at that. Can't wait to come again in 2013 with our new baby. Only recommendations would be to serve dinner until slightly later in the evening, would be nice to offer cook to order adult breakfasts as option, and could have been a slightly more comfortable bed, but only minor points / suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on the location which suited us. We only had one night and were offered an up-grade to a sea view suite which we thought was good value and we also booked the evening meal which was very good value if booked in advance, it was £13 each for 3 courses and the food was very good. The dining room was adults only and had a lovely view. We were a couple and as it was out of school holidays we thought it was fine but I would say this hotel is entirely focused on families with children. The room was very large, clean and comfortable although the tv was the smallest I have ever seen given the size of the room. The bathroom was functional. Nothing was very luxurious and had obviously been designed with kids in mind. There was a fridge which was useful and a very large shelving area between the two bedrooms which was very handy. There some confusion when we checked in which was sorted out but I did not think the young lady was very professional. All the staff were young and very pleasant. The breakfast was buffet which was good and again we used the restaurant for adults only. There was a large car park. I would say this hotel is great for families which is their main market. I would stay there again but would not go in school holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our party ages were 4, 6, 36, 40, 72, and 75. All of us had an excellent time at this deligtful familly run hotel. Breakfast was a very good buffet. The evening meall has varrius times so that all could enjoy the evening. We ate as a familly at 7.30 but by 8 parents who had put their young children to bed with a listening service were coming down to eat away from children in another part of the restaurant.
The grounds have many facilities for children. A maze, zip wire, swings,crazy golf and much more.
For older folk there is a very good 9 hole pitch and putt.
The out door swimming pool is closed at the end of September but the indoor pool is a good size.
There is a pool table, air hockey and bar football plus a couple of video machines those these all have to be paid for.
Considering it was end of the season the rooms were in very good condition.
It position, on the cliffs, about half a mile from Newquay.
Ideal spot for a familly holliday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
11.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing