We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very child friendly but disappointing food....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very child friendly but disappointing food....”
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Sands Resort. We booked a contemporary suite which had recently been upgraded. You couldnt ask for a more child friendly hotel, everything is geared towards families and our son loved mixing with the other children there. Our suite was very big with a separate room for our son.

That aside i thought the food was average quality. On our first day we tried the restaurant for lunch and after waiting a hour for the food to arrive we were served a frozen supermarket type burger and a horrible sandwich which we couldnt eat despite being starving !!

we were then worried about the evening meal - whilst good value as it was included in our half board package i would definitely consider going bed and breakfast next time. There were about 6 choices of starters (including orange juice..!) and mains which ranged from ok to very poor over the week. The service was also a bit haphazard with our starter always arriving before the drinks.

breakfast was also average with everything mostly self service, including tea and coffee. food was generally poor quality (cheap yoghurts, lack of fresh juice., lack of fruit apart from watermelon..)

Other niggles would be the lack of welcome from the reception staff when we arrived, there was no offer to show us the facilities and we were asked to settle the bill even before we had seen the room !!

overall the hotel will suit a lot of families looking for a cheapish break with lots of children's activities. If you like decent food and good service you will come away disappointed.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0lidayaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    182
    59
    20
    5
See reviews for
697
85
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We stayed at the Sands Resort with my husband,my son, who is 14months and my brother for 3 nights and we absolutely loved the whole experience.

The rooms are spacious which gave my son lots of area to run around, we didn't expect this for a 3star hotel.

The food was excellent. All the staff were pleasant. Thank you for making our stay worthwhile, we shall be back soon.

  • Liked — The space and decor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pheith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We have just returned from our second stay at Sands Resort Hotel and cannot praise it highly enough. We visited for the first time last Summer and did not really appreciate how fantastic it was until we had to think about a holiday for this year. Having tried an alternative - a well known family 'parc' earlier this year, we could not bear the thought of going anywhere else! The ability to stay in this country thus avoiding painful travel experiences, be in a beautiful part of the UK nearby many lovely beaches, have an extremely good evening meal provided and easy access to childcare made it impossible for us to go anywhere else in the end.

It is a brilliant place to stay for anyone with little children, the staff are amazing throughout the hotel - at reception, in the restaurant and in the childcare clubs. Nothing is too much trouble. The baby listening in the evenings makes life very easy, the entertainment after dinner is classy, the meals in the evening are of restaurant quality and we love the fact that on both our visits a professional photographer has visited the hotel and taken some really good photographs of us all together.

The play facilities are excellent inside and out, there are lovely views and we will definitely return again. For people with young children you will not find anywhere better!

  • Liked — Very child friendly
  • Disliked — The fact that we don't live nearer!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myndd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We would like to say a big thank you to all of the staff at the Sands for making Saturday 26th April 2008, our Wedding Day, so special not only for us but for our guests as well.

The kitchen staff did an amazing job in getting all 150 meals out on time, all of our guests commented on how efficient and helpful the staff at the Sands were and how well presented and tasty the food was at the Wedding Breakfast and the evening Buffet. It was certainly no small task cooking and serving 150 individually chosen meals for each guest, but James and the team in the Kitchen made it seem effortless!

Our special thanks must go to Leeanne, for all of the pre wedding meetings, planning and just for generally keeping us sane on the lead up to our wedding and ensuring everything ran smoothly on the day. Leeanne's attention to detail and managerial skills are exemplary, such a wonderfully kind person and nothing is ever too much trouble for her.

....What a day, thankyou!

  • Liked — cleanliness, attention to detail but most of all the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing..it was perfect!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CrisChelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing