We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have recently come back from a wonderful week at the Sands with our two kids aged 3 and almost 6.We originally booked for 6 nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed 1 more.

Our room, 66 (includes 65 & 64) was an apartment suite and was very comfortable with a superking bed for us and a decent size twin room for the kids plus 2 ensuites and a living room with room enough to sit/play. The room was actually nicer than the photos and was spotlessly clean and had a lovely sea view.

From our arrival to our departure the service we received was fantastic - all the staff were friendly and helpful especially the staff at front desk who were always ready to help with a smile. We were very impressed.

The play room is a little dark but is very clean and the kids loved the toys and soft play. They also really enjoyed the evening activities in particular circus skills which we all enjoyed. The pool was clean and warm - my only complaint is it would be great to have 2 more more shower heads in the communal showers (big space but only 1 shower). We also enjoyed the outdoor play areas - the sandpit, maze etc.

Food was also good. Breakfast was fine - a good selection, not exceptional but decent - but the adults evening meals were delicious and amazing value (we were DB&B but even at £22 it was good value). My husband and I like our food and have high standards and we were so surprised by the quality of the food - it really was a highlight of the trip. Since we got back we went to a Michelin starred pub and thought the food wasn't any better than the Sands despite one course costing the same as 3. It really is that good and there wasn't a canteen feel at night. We could have done with some variation in background music though! The service at dinner was very good too and so friendly (thank you Sue, Chloe and Lilly). The kids food wasn't quite the same standard but fresh and tasty and my kids were very happy (the turkey pie was delicious).

We did use the baby listening (after checking it out first) and felt comfortable with it. It is all one building and all but the main door are locked after 7pm (and always someone on reception).

We did go on a quiet week so I don't know what it would be like high season but we would not hesitate to go back. A very relaxing stay - it is hard to find a holiday that feels like a holiday when you have small kids but this did and we loved it. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quietest. We loved the apartment suite as we had more space and it meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    180
    59
    20
    5
See reviews for
688
84
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a lovely hotel that offers a warm and friendly welcome. We were using the hotel for business over 2 days and although we were not staying there the staff made sure we had everything we needed. Food and drinks were to a high standard and very enjoyable. Special mention has to go to Martin on Reception, outstanding customer service. Will definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill352510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
544 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Sands Resort last September with my husband, in-laws and two young step-children (4 &6).

The thing that I loved most about the Sands was how it is truly a hotel for everyone. They have a wonderful dining room that has multi-course dinners, with different seating times and areas for kids, kids dining with their parents and adults without kids. It keeps everyone happy. The food was fantastic and although they have special menus for kids, the kids are treated like little adults, with their own proper place settings and multiple courses. It really makes kids rise to the occasion and behave at the dinner table. It was great to see!

The rooms are spacious and we had an amazing ocean view from our bed, with the kids having their own room in the back. The kids even had their own bathroom sink that was their size. Great touch! It was comfortable and elegantly appointed.

The Sands has a wonderful indoor pool and a huge outdoor play area with zip lines, a garden maze and a bouncy castle.

The resort is just a short drive from the beach and several attractions, including Dairyland, which we loved.

The staff is fantastic. This is the place to vacation in Cornwall and I hope that we will return in the future.

Like my Review? Check out my blog!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for an extended weekend, out of season, very comfortable, excellent pool. Food was superb, well cooked, sensible portions, more local beers on the pump rather than bottled would be a good advert for St Austell Breweries.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinHeal1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband & I stayed at the hotel recently and although we were a little concerned at first that it may be noisy with it being a 'family friendly' hotel it was lovely and peaceful, it will have helped that we were outside of school holidays of course. The staff were wonderful, so helpful at all times, the room was huge and very clean and comfortable with the most wonderful view over the sea. I used the spa while we there and this was also very good. The food was lovely, fresh and well cooked and so much of it! We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We did a 5 day break over the spring half-term. We have 3 energetic boys (5 and under) so trips away can be stressful because we're always worrying that they'll run around too much, break something, wriggle too much during meals etc. etc. and generally just annoy people. It's utter bliss to go somewhere where 1. everyone else seems to have children and doesn't blink an eye at us and 2. the staff not only don't seem to mind our children but positively seem to like children. Everyone from the receptionist to the table staff was unfailing polite, helpful and cheerful

We ended up having 2 days where we didn't really leave the hotel so we got to test the indoor pool (wonderfully warm), the craft activities (good for a change of pace), the soft play room (our children loved it) etc. I even made it to the gym a few times to burn off some of the 3 course evening meals. We love the in-room baby monitoring/listening service.

We stayed in a double room suite. Giant bed for us, 3 singles next door for the kids (and their Lego all over the floor, I'm amazed the housekeeper didn't complain!).

So, if you don't have children, you'll probably find the Sands a bit noisy and energetic. If you have young children then you'll appreciate how rare it is to find somewhere you can really relax with them. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartOfOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel is really well thoguht out for families. We booked as they do an afternoon tea for children which is great. The food was healthy and well cooked. The evening meals for adults was nice and service was quick.
The hotel facilities are good, with soft play and pool, but lots outside too (although a bit cold in feb to really make the most of it!). The entertaiment was pretty good for a hotel for the kids.
The place could do with some paint and some touching up, but in general, the main areas were nice, just someof the corridors etc that were a bit bleak.
The staff were all amazing. From reception, to restaurant to housekeeping..everyone was friendly and helpful. It was very professionally run. I can imagine in the summer, with the outdoor pool up and running, it would be a fab place to come with the kids.

Room Tip: Sea view was great in the contemporay room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ncfckaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
11.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing