We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We went with high expectations. To keep it brief there wer several good things about the place. Certainly the restaurant is very child friendly as pretty much every one eats together and whilst noisy, you can't expect anything else. And the food is consistently good. Play areas outside were good, well maintained, high standard and excellent views out the back. Bar etc in hotel although we didn't use looked very pleasant . Down sides were the room was disappointing (Pool Suite), bit drab. No windows apart from sliding doors out to balcony - little or no air and very warm. Beds were awful. Location of hotel was good if you like walking along cliff top to the beaches which we did on several occasions. Coastline really nice although beaches not fantastic. Grat fior younger shildren especially if you have 2 or more as everyone is in the same boat.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichTetbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    182
    59
    20
    5
See reviews for
697
85
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2008

I dont often express my views, but I wanted to let people know that we found the Sands resort (Cornwall) a great place to spend a summer holiday with a 2 year old. Ok, so the weather was lousy (it is England after all!!) and my son got ill, so we had to abort the holiday early.....but, despite all of that, the hotel was great! The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough to help - and the facilities were wonderful for little ones...and the baby listenting service was robust and trustworthy, so we managed to have 4 civilised evening meals.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone with young children. We certainly hope to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Londonmum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2008

I have been staying at Sands Resort for many years with my family. My eldest children (who are now 19 & 22) adored going there from the age of two onwards. My younger children (aged 5 & 9) will not hear of going any where else.
Sands is totally child friendly. There are plenty of activities for them to do on and around the site and the beaches are a stone's throw away. Children are welcomed at adult meal times and no one gets upset if they spill something or throw a tantrum. However, if you wish to relax as a couple there are adult eating areas and a bar. I have a demanding job and going to Sands offers complete relaxation.
I recommend Sands as an ideal base for a family holiday in Cornwall.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank SEWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed at the Sands Resort on a last minute booking (receiving a good discount on our three nights dbb rate). Not having stayed here before I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality of hotel and staff. The outside areas are extremely well kept with plenty to keep children amused (fantastic play areas, pool, golf with good variation for all ages) and the hotel itself is in very good order with modern decor. We travelled with 2 young children (4 and 7yrs) and used the childrens club twice a day (thereby giving us time as a couple in the morning and also an unheard of dinner for two in the evenings!). They are run to the highest standard with friendly, genuinely caring staff. Our children had no hesitation in running into club every morning and we also really appreciated the personal service and friendly, professional manner in which they were run. Not having used kids clubs before in any hotel, these are certainly a standard by which I will be measuring others! We stayed in room 67 and 68 (which provides a triple room - queen double bed, bunk beds for children and a single bed in another area). Very impressed, great views, fridge, microwave, TV and games console - if that's your thing. The staff in the whole hotel couldn't be friendlier - lots of young kiwis and aussies - relaxed but very competant. I also noticed just how many staff there were - you are never left not knowing where to turn and always someone to help you. Food and timings is very good. Great breakfasts, plenty of healthy variety and the childrens' tea at 4.45pm is a godsend. The only minor complaint I would have is with the adult dinner menu - I think a simpler menu with more emphasis on local food would be worth considering. The food was good, though a bit overcomplicated and a mix of tastes and styles. Bearing in mind where the hotel is located, they have amazing local produce - especially fish! I did have the local fish once and it was great but otherwise, maybe they should focus on a simpler fare. I have worked in hospitality for many years, mainly in 4 and 5 star hotels abroad and I have to say that the Sands offers exceptional value for money given its 3 star rating. Friendliness of staff, cleanliness and quality of hotel mean we will be recommending to everyone! Go and enjoy.

  • Liked — excellent standard and facilities
  • Disliked — nothing - it was all great
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dixiecanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Sands Resort. We booked a contemporary suite which had recently been upgraded. You couldnt ask for a more child friendly hotel, everything is geared towards families and our son loved mixing with the other children there. Our suite was very big with a separate room for our son.

That aside i thought the food was average quality. On our first day we tried the restaurant for lunch and after waiting a hour for the food to arrive we were served a frozen supermarket type burger and a horrible sandwich which we couldnt eat despite being starving !!

we were then worried about the evening meal - whilst good value as it was included in our half board package i would definitely consider going bed and breakfast next time. There were about 6 choices of starters (including orange juice..!) and mains which ranged from ok to very poor over the week. The service was also a bit haphazard with our starter always arriving before the drinks.

breakfast was also average with everything mostly self service, including tea and coffee. food was generally poor quality (cheap yoghurts, lack of fresh juice., lack of fruit apart from watermelon..)

Other niggles would be the lack of welcome from the reception staff when we arrived, there was no offer to show us the facilities and we were asked to settle the bill even before we had seen the room !!

overall the hotel will suit a lot of families looking for a cheapish break with lots of children's activities. If you like decent food and good service you will come away disappointed.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0lidayaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We stayed at the Sands Resort with my husband,my son, who is 14months and my brother for 3 nights and we absolutely loved the whole experience.

The rooms are spacious which gave my son lots of area to run around, we didn't expect this for a 3star hotel.

The food was excellent. All the staff were pleasant. Thank you for making our stay worthwhile, we shall be back soon.

  • Liked — The space and decor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pheith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We have just returned from our second stay at Sands Resort Hotel and cannot praise it highly enough. We visited for the first time last Summer and did not really appreciate how fantastic it was until we had to think about a holiday for this year. Having tried an alternative - a well known family 'parc' earlier this year, we could not bear the thought of going anywhere else! The ability to stay in this country thus avoiding painful travel experiences, be in a beautiful part of the UK nearby many lovely beaches, have an extremely good evening meal provided and easy access to childcare made it impossible for us to go anywhere else in the end.

It is a brilliant place to stay for anyone with little children, the staff are amazing throughout the hotel - at reception, in the restaurant and in the childcare clubs. Nothing is too much trouble. The baby listening in the evenings makes life very easy, the entertainment after dinner is classy, the meals in the evening are of restaurant quality and we love the fact that on both our visits a professional photographer has visited the hotel and taken some really good photographs of us all together.

The play facilities are excellent inside and out, there are lovely views and we will definitely return again. For people with young children you will not find anywhere better!

  • Liked — Very child friendly
  • Disliked — The fact that we don't live nearer!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myndd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing