We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Been meaning to write this review for a while but I can't recommend it enough. We stayed for my parents wedding and it was all sublime. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the feel of the place was great. We'll be going for many years to come now.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was our second year at Sands. The food is great, the entertainment is well thought out to keep the kids amused & especially to wear them out an hour before bedtime. The staff are exemplary, the icing on the cake and it's so good to see the same staff from last year. Early kids tea and baby listening in the rooms means a holiday for us too! The locations is perfect as surrounded by beautiful beaches.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed two nights with our two year old and found it to be the most relaxing stay of the holiday. We booked her in for a day care session and then were able to hit the Spa for some needed relaxation and a catch up. The nursery was as good as any high end preschool with dressing up, wendy house, kitchen, train tracks, painting and messy play etc.. she was in her element and the staff were great. There was also a soft play room so we were quite easily able to tire her out indoors on the day that the weather wasn't so great. The only thing was that the room was quite far from the restaurant, but the food and service were excellent.
I'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I spent two nights at Sands with my daughters aged 13, 10 and 7. The room was perfect for our needs- the main bedroom with its huge bed was extremely comfortable and with a lovely sea view. The weather was foul, but we had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend without feeling the need to go out! We lounged in the pool, I lounged in the steam room. We thoroughly enjoyed the great selection of breakfast options, the lunchtime burgers were delicious and the kids tea time was so stress free it was untrue. Myself and my eldest indulged in having our three course dinner delivered by room service. The food was absolutely delicious, and piping hot. My girls were thrilled by the games room. We truly wanted to stay for a week and would absolutely recommend Sands to families.

Room Tip: Our second floor room was extremely quite, even with a wedding disco downstairs. The view was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireblundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We got a package over Easter holidays for our family (2 adults/2 kids aged 11) which included breakfast and dinner. I thought that was worthwhile especially the dinner part since it would get chilly or rain at night and it would be hard to find a restaurant/ parking and drive in the dark in unfamiliar territory. So we were happy that we were just at the hotel for dinner enjoying the sunsets. They had a different menu every night complete with 3 courses. The food was good and the service excellent. The only time I felt that the service was lousy was on Easter breakfast and dinner since they were working on a skeleton force, understandably.
The receptionists were great too. Service was impeccable. When I called to say my night light was busted, it was quickly changed.
The rooms were spacious with great views.
I really think though that families with younger kids will benefit most from this resort. My kids are already 11 so they did enjoy the zipline and playing football in the field (footballs are provided).
But there's so much more for younger kids.
Also, when I called the hotel to ask for restaurant recommendations for Easter Sunday lunch prior to arrival, they suggested Lewinnick Lodge Restaurant and it was fabulous!!
Thumbs up for this hotel! Won't hesitate to recommend it since it perfect for families with young kids.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Penciltoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I only stayed one night. I was with my teenage daughter. Had a room on the first floor with a fantastic sea view. There was a seperate room for my daughter with a TV, though she didn't use it, and a cot (didnt need that!) I had a king size double bed. The room was so big! Big French windows looking out to sea. I could even see it from the bed. Got locked out of the room as the key card would not work. Staff were great and got me back in. Turned out it was probably my fault as I'm not used to key cards.

The food was lovely and all the waiting staff were so polite and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggiewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Best part of our stay:
- The maze in the hotel grounds. Kids spent ages in it!
- The bouldering wall. Dad spent ages on it :-)
- The evening meals. Fantastic quality and good variety. Before we arrived we wondered if we made a good choice going full board but were glad we did.

Room for improvement:
- TVs in rooms are quite small.
- We had to leave the hotel at 3AM in our PJs one night due to a fire alarm going off. Fire service arrived. After about 30 minutes people started to drift back inside. Turned out to be a false alarm. We were not upset about that (these things happen) but did feel that someone from the hotel should have apologized and also it should have been someone from the hotel very clearly and loudly telling everyone they could return to their rooms rather than just finding out from the mumbling (tired) person next to us!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiverMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £68 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing