We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another happy stay at the wonderful Sands Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We popped down from Bristol on another Gap filler break for fathers day weekend. We've stayed a number of times over the last 4 years and it still feels like a home from home. We've always stayed in the contemporary suites, which provide the separate sleeping area for the children and amazing views for the parents.

We had fabulous weather so enjoyed a day on Watergate bay beach, followed by some fun in Sand's outdoor pool on our return. We also enjoyed the indoor pool a couple of times in our visit.

The kids enjoyed themselves, and we also managed to take advantage of the listening service to enjoy a couple of civilised dinners with wine. The food was incredible value and of its usual high standards.

We can't fault this place as it provides a nice balance of facilities, value and service and of course an amazing location.

Huge thanks to all the team as the hotel, including those behind the scenes. We had an amazing break again thanks. See you soon again.

Room Tip: Contemporary suites are wonderful. Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just recently returned from another fantastic trip at Sands and are already planning our next visit.
As always the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was excellent, the kids club awesome and generally fantastic time was had by all.
The only criticism is that we run our own business and need to pick up emails during the day and the wifi is very intermittent. They do have facilities to hard wire in the reception but this means us taking time away from the kids for us to sit in reception but this would not stop us from returning here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was a last minute super find for 5 days away! We have two children aged 8 and 11 and have never gone down the family hotel route, but we were attracted by the room layout - a superking sized bed for us, just like at home and a connected room in the suite for our girls. We weren't disappointed, the main bedroom furnishings were nice too, with excellent blackout curtains in both rooms. We opted for the meal plan because it was good value and thought we could always bob out if we didn't like it. But, it's been so delicious and varied, we have looked excitedly to see what was for dinner when leaving from the super help yourself breakfast.

Here's what's great:
Free loan of wet suits, buckets and spades and some body boards.
Helpful and friendly attitude of staff.
Room layout.
The pitch and put, playground, including zip wire.
Excellent landscaping.
Outdoor pool and slide.
Indoor pool, lovely steam room and clean changing facilities, lots of fresh free towels (unlike my own gym!)
Food and wine choice.
Indoor play areas! Our two are too old, but it's better than centre parcs!
The spa - best facial ever, lovely salon, my oldest enjoyed her teen facial too.
Haircuts - great when you don't have time at home.
Location - great for exploration. Newquay is ok, but main town is a bit shabby round the edges, and this hotel is a distance away.
We stayed over our witsuntide school holidays, so it was quiet. I can imagine it being very busy over summer, but good for families, especially young ones.

In short, we will be sad to leave tomorrow! Lovely break, for a family who don't do 'family style' holidays!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed here for 4 nights B&B. We had one of the contempory suites which we had stayed in previously. We had our 2 boys with us (3.5 and 2) and the room was perfect. The boys had their own llittle room with a cot, bunk and a single (we used the cot and bottom bunk), then there is a little area with the bathroom coming off, and then into 'the adults' room, nice king size bed. This area also had the TV and a small lounge type setup.
The breakfast was excellent, brilliant selection of food for all, and as much as we wanted, we all know how picky kids can get!! Soft Play for the kids (although not open until 11am which is a bit late in the day for kids as they want to run around before any attractions open), pool excellent for a splash about. We'll be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A perfect set up for families with younger children. Kids clubs, 2 play areas, indoor and outdoor pool, golf, kids entertainment, free use of wet suit/board/buckets/spades/wind breaks and various dining options for children - it is very easy for parents. The rooms are fine, many with sea views although the road out the front is fairly relentless in terms of traffic. The staff are really accommodating and do whatever they can to help (especially if you have a fussy eater like we do). The location is fabulous with easy access to so many wonderful local beaches. This was our second trip and we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AColl_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Sands the nicest friendly staff of any hotel I have visited, the grand children had an amazing time, only criticism 7pm was a little late for us and the Children to eat all together, but hey just a small thing would def return .

Room Tip: We staysd in room 40 in the main hotel which has a sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband, son (9) and I enjoyed our 5 night stay at Sands during the May half term week. Our room was spacious and our son enjoyed having his own room within the family suite. We all enjoyed the pitch and putt, tennis, croquet, games room, indoor and outdoor pools. We loved body boarding at Watergate Bay and Fristal Beach, the hotel lent us body boards, wind break, bucket and spade, all free of charge. We had our own wetsuits but you can borrow those too. We walked to Watergate Bay on one day, fabulous views and great lunch at Jamie Oliver's Fifteen restaurant. We had lovely meals at Sands and relaxing treatments at the Spa. A fabulous 5 days, enjoyed by all three of us. We will be back - thanks a lot.

Room Tip: Lovely sunsets over the sea so book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,046 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £67 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing