We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having just left after an 8 night stay, our children wanted an immediate return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The staff are conscientious, extremely courteous and professional! It was our 4th time and it's super to see ongoing improvements, the bedrooms having been upgraded since our last trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergusonLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

We have just spent one of the most relaxing, enjoyable holidays we have ever had The children loved all the activities provided in this really happy, homely environment. It was a joy to see them so happy every day.
The adults were equally well provided for and well looked after.
The food was delicious and always beautifully presented. The rooms very comfortable and spacious.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank Christol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Just had to add, we've been to the Sands Resort 4 or 5 times, it is such an amazing place, the family suites are amazing and the kids are so well catered for.
If you get a chance chat to the people who work there, they are so nice and friendly and will advise you on the best local attractions, pubs and restaurants.

http://www.sandsresort.co.uk

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlofnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The sands resort was a perfect getaway, the rooms were neat and well appointed with ample space for my 1 yr old to run riot. The views from our contemporary room were beautiful and added that little bit extra to the whole experience. The staff were all excellent I did not encounter one person who was not happy to help with any queries we had. Our room was immaculate when we got back each afternoon and a lot of time was spent arranging the children's toys- which as a mum was very satisfying!! Food was wonderful too, with bags of choice and a great system of eating with or without the children- with the help of a great listening service. The pools were lovely and the sandpit was perfect for my little one. And if the hotel is not enough to keep you entertained then the location and surrounding beaches will- the beach opposite the hotel is beautiful and empty as the access is a flight of steep steps but well worth it. Also the lovely Watergate bay is only 10 mins down the road or a half hour coastal walk. A massive plus point is the free hire of wetsuits body boards and all things beach from the hotel- a really great service which we used daily. This was the perfect summer holiday, even on the one day it rained!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jochicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed for a week and after our initial slight disappointment at the location of the hotel right on the main road, we checked in to our room which was fabulously spacious and looked newly done. From then on, what can I say - the staff were fantastic, the food was excellent, the childcare was amazing, the grounds were lovely, sea views stunning.....I could go on. Basically any initial concerns we had were quickly dispelled - we will definitely be back, Our 3 year old and 8 month old had an absolute ball - with two truly exhausted children at the end of the day we took full advantage of the baby listening and settled down to a great dinner every evening. Our 3 year old cried when it was time to leave and I have to say I wanted to join her.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank immyalexmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Just returned from a four night stay at Sands Resort with our two young daughters. Where to start...when we arrived it was two and a half hours before check in but we wanted to see where it was and my little one needed the loo so i explained at reception and they said our room was ready so we could check in now! We booked a comfort room but when we arrived although the rooms(master linking to the kids room) were clean and modern i was put off that the master room had no view but a frosted glass window on to the hallway. I went downstairs to see if there was any avaliability for the contemporary suites and the bloke on reception went out his way to make that happen...so a BIG thank you. In fact thank you to the lady who showed us the suite before changing it...she got the porter to carry our bags over...this wouldnt happen in a normal three star.
Kids club great all of the ladies friendly and extremely approachable. This was the first time my baby daughter been left in any creche etc and they managed to settle her each night within minutes...and shes going through a very clingy stage so it can be a hard task!
We will defiantly be returning but also we would like to try the sister hotel bedruthan steps four star although i hear that sands resort is just as good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetter312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResort, Owner at Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

A BIG thanks for the lovely review. We do have great staff here, partly because we all muck in to help each other. The "bloke" who helped you was the Managing Director and the guy who moved your luggage was the Finance Director. They both say thanks, especially the MD who is thankful you didnt call him an "OLD bloke"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Modern hotel, great rooms and facilities, superb food and happy kids. We returned after our first visit last September as, altohugh a 6 hour drive, you can't go wrong. From playing tennis, football or golf, to getting lost in the maze or taking a dip in one of the pools - and that's just for the kids. Sensible family rooms and eating arrangements which just make things so simple - kids eat and, when they are in bed, parents eat and not self serve 'chips with everything' but choices from a proper menu. The hotel is right on the beach and, although that beach is 120+ steps down from the cliff top, its brilliant and one of many to choose from. All this and plenty of family activities in and around Newquay, with Dairyland and Lappa Valley well worth visiting. We will be back :O)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BensMumDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £73 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing